Fiction logo

The Midnight House of Commons Chapter 1

Under Purple Clouds Challenge

By Judah LoVatoPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
The Midnight House of Commons Chapter 1
Photo by Amber Kipp on Unsplash

Every night at Midnight, the Purple Clouds came out to dance with the blushing Sky.

A gaunt man kicked at a charred piece of table, then looked at the ruins of the stage as he wrote the article in his head,

The house lights would fade to black, leaving just a dim blue glow on the stage and Sky would stand center stage, face painted with her blushing rouge and wearing that dress the color of peach blossoms. She’d sing that quiet tune, while her twelve Purple Clouds moved in careful stride in time to the chiming of a distant church bell...

He shook his head as he made his way through the rubble.

Maybe not quite the right tone. The Midnight House of Commons has been THE liminal space for well over century. Maybe I’m too close to it. Especially since I’ve lost a good source of contacts. Why’d I bother taking the assignment?

His foot broke some glass, looks like one of the stage lights. The humans certainly know how to destroy what they don’t like. Assuming it was the humans. There are many of the shadow that don’t think we should use the humans for fodder… as though it’s just humans we use.

“You there!” A gruff voice sounded behind him as he stood, and the clomping of heavy boots following close behind.

He pulled a press badge from his coat and showed it as a surly-looking reptilian approached. He wore a uniform, designating him a member of the Fire Brigade, a salamander. Suitable for the brigade.

“Ah,” said the reptile, taking the badge, “Tobias, is it? Reporting on the fire. Eh?”

“Yes sir,” said Tobias, “This is an important location you know- Fire Marshall Mander, yes?”

“Deputy. We haven’t cleared the area yet. You shouldn’t be in the debris no matter your affiliation.”

“I’m careful- and hard to harm; it’s what makes me a good reporter.”

“Hah! Well, suit yourself. My job is to warn you.”

Tobias pulled a notebook and pen from his pocket, “Any information on the cause of the fire?”

“Pah! You're worse than the Gaki with corpses. I think you know the answer: ‘The investigation is underway and more details will be released to the suitable publics as information manifests.’. Pity it’s a liminal building, we could use OUR ways to fix it. Good day, Tobias.”

“Thank you, sir.” Tobias watched the deputy stride off, then turned back to the ruins. Night was starting to fall, and the form of a grieving woman materialize in the rubble.

A human spirit, I think.

He glanced back around the space. The deputy had gone. He approached the grieving spirit.

“Why do you weep?” He asked

“I couldn’t sing my song; they never heard me. It’s not fair… not fair- NOT FAIR!”

“You died, child. Pass on.”

“I died? No…no- NO! Not now, how now?!”

He knelt beside her.

Poor lost spirit. A human, I think. The Midnight was a place between the worlds. That liminal lounge you longed for, Sky…

“Pass on, or remain.” He reached into his pocket and held out a smokey crystal. “The choice is yours, child. You may choose to pass on to the next realm and face the judgement, or you may stay here with me and I will be sure to use your talents.”

She smiled, “you’ll let me sing?”

“I can use your voice,”

“And you’ll let me dance?”

“Your legs will not be wasted.”

“And my beauty?”

“Who could resist?”

“But if I go…”

“Who knows?”

“Will I see my mother again?”

“Perhaps.”

“Would I see my brother again?”

“Who can say?” ‘

“Have I been damned?”

“Is there such a thing?”

“Will God forgive me?”

“Is there anything to forgive you for?”

“I’m afraid to leave.”

“Then will you stay with me?”

“Yes, I will stay with you.”

He held out his hand with the crystal and she placed her hand in his.

“What?! No, it hurts! Ah!” and the crystal pulled her in.

Ah, you wouldn't like this Sky, he thought as the crystal glowed, you'd say God frowned on it. Perhaps this article will be worth writing after all. For your sake, Sky... Confiteor deo; mea culpa.

MysteryAdventure

About the Creator

Judah LoVato

Dear Reader,

I hope you enjoy perusing my collection of works, and I would love to hear your thoughts on anything you read: what you liked, what you disliked, and any other feedback you may have.

I look forward to reading with you,

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Judah LoVatoWritten by Judah LoVato

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.