Fiction logo

...THE MARIGOLDS FALL FROM YOUR HAND

Sometimes a bouquet of flowers just isn't enough for forgiveness.

By Travis BerketaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Digital Artwork by Travis Berketa (2021)

I’ve been there all along; right through your journey. Now you stand alone in this cemetery – a gravestone seeking redemption. I guess it never occurred to you that I felt that way. I guess you never wanted to understand what you were doing. It was too much fun – for you anyway. How much fun is it now? I have to smile as I watch you stare into the abyss – hoping that it will take it all away. But I will make sure it never will!

You were always laughing and saying things that amused you and the rest of the group – I joined in so as not to be left out. But you went too far! You stepped over the line and now you need to deal with the consequences of your actions! How will you do this now? You have nothing… just a pitiful wooden box and a handful of marigolds! Do you really think these favoured flowers will cast you in a golden light? They may be called "the flower of the dead", but now all they symbolise is you – you are dead to me – you are dead to everyone.

Why did you have to be like that? Why did we feel we had to go along with you? Whenever you weren’t around, we talked about what an idiot we thought you were. We’d never say it to your face, just in case we were next on your radar – deep down, we always knew what you were like. I guess that made us as ridiculous as you at times. But we had the common sense to change it at the end… you wouldn’t follow! You just wouldn’t listen! You had to continue taking it that one step further each time… and now you close your eyes, hoping that it’ll hide away what you’ve done. It won’t! I won’t let it!

It doesn’t matter what happens next. Everyone in our inner circle knows what you did. Everyone in our inner circle feels responsible in some way. Everyone in our inner circle knows that you were in the wrong. We’ve all turned from you – even though it was probably too late. I will never forgive you… I can’t say how the others feel about this, but they probably feel the same. No amounts of marigolds are going to sweeten your foul actions – you can keep them and be buried with them for all I care! They mean nothing to me anymore… you mean nothing to me anymore… other than a figure of anguish and pain.

You shouldn’t even be here. Not where you are now, anyway. You should swap places with me… that way you can live through the torment that I had to go through again and again. But you’ll eventually hide it away in the back of your mind – the marigolds are meant to be your penance. They’re not enough! No amount of marigolds will add up to forgiveness – I hope you rot in hell for what you’ve done!

This will be the last time I see your face… well, that’s what you think as you shed a few silent tears. I’ll make sure I torment you forever. I know I won’t see you in this cemetery again. It’ll be the way you hide those memories. The marigolds should be enough to conceal the deed… you’ve had enough… enough of me being in your head… enough of the reminders…

I watch you and your bouquet turn away from the grave. Maybe you have decided that the marigolds will never be enough? You turn back – your tear-streaked face begging for forgiveness. I promised that I would never do that… you’ll have to live with it. One more sob. You’re still unforgiven. There’s nothing more you can do here – so stop wasting your time! Make whatever peace you believe you’re going to get from me and leave!

One last cry for forgiveness…

Just leave…

You turn away…

The marigolds fall from your hand.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Travis Berketa

I am a father. I am a teacher. I am a writer.

I love reading fictional stories and I love writing fictional stories.

I hope you enjoy my contribution to Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.