Fiction logo

The Marigold Relationship

The Story Of Love Cut Short

By Shannon ShererPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 12 min read
Like

Last summer I met this really wonderful person name Melissa Marigold. O I forgot to tell you my name, i'm Alex Windfield. I'm 19 and I love music and dance. They are my whole life. Well they were until I met Melissa Marigold. That's when my whole life had changed

Mornings were pretty normal in the Windfield home. Nothing really that special. Mom cooking breakfast and dad as always on his way to work. In to much of a rush to stop and chat with me and mom for breakfast. For once i wish he'd stop and enjoy life and take a break for once, he has worked hard for it.

After finishing my breakfast and kissing my mom goodbye i was on my way to school for the last day of my senior year. When i got to school i met up with the girls In Miss Wellfords class. My homeroom and math teacher. I was talking to my friends when this beautiful blond came in wearing a red plaid skirt and a tank top that showed just enough stomach to show and how hard she works in the gym. beautiful long slender legs made her stand at a wonderful 5,7 inch or two taller than me. Beautiful Blue eyes at first sight but almost a slight shade of green when the sun shine on them. So as nervous as I was I finally made up my mind to ask her out.

Hello, my name is Alex Windfield and i really think you are the most beautiful girl I've ever came across and i was wondering if after graduation i can take you out this Friday? She sat there for a good while looking at me like i was crazy making me feel so stupid and awkward. Making me feel like i shouldn't have asked her out at all. So to save myself the embarrassment, I started to walk back to my seat but then i saw her lips separate to speak and me still standing and sweating under my armpits. But then the angel spoke.

Hello," My name is Melissa Marigold before i answer your question, how do you know i'm even a lesbian? You just met me which means you don't know what i'm into!

Thinking about what she just said i got embarrassed. I did get up and ask as if i knew what her sexuality was and i knew nothing. When i open my mouth to speak and apologize i started to stutter over my words and started blushing. As i did i was taken back by her reaction cause i thought she would be mad but no she was laughing instead.

" I am sorry i didn't mean to assume anything or even make it look like i knew everything. Hey wait why are you laughing what's so funny?"

" You are"

" Me, What do you me? What did i say?"

" Nothing I was just messing with you! Wow i thought you were someone who'd be able take a joke and laugh about it. I didn't know you would take it that serious. Wow you are very easy to fool. I can't Wait for April Fools Day!"

" Hey, I'm not that easy to fool I can pull off a few jokes of my own and i don't mean to brag or anything but I am pretty good!"

"Really?"

"Really! If you really want to find out you will decide to say yes to a date with me on Friday i promise you'll have one amazing time. To the point where you wouldn't even want to go out with anyone else and our relationship status at the end of our first date will change to in a relationship with this amazing person. Do you want to make a bet out of it?'

" Well someones very very full of them self but sure lets bet on it. I can't wait to see how this turns out and I'm going to laugh if i win this!"

" Well, great than see you Friday after graduation, can't wait!"

Finally Friday came, as happy as I was to graduate i was more happy about my date later tonight after graduation with Melissa. I wonder if she was just as excited as I was and nervous to. When I finally got to school I saw every senior student dressed in their cap and gown and ready to get their diplomas. When the school Gym doors opened it was time to line up and sit in our assigned seats. When i got to my seat I looked around at the bleachers just to see if i could spot my parents, than i saw them just now walking in. I was so happy cause my dad promised he would take the day off for me and my graduation today. He wanted to make sure it was all

about me today.

After the speeches were done they started calling out names for diplomas. All the students before me went up to receive theirs and than would wave to the crowd afterward. Than they finally got to my name and I went up for mine. When I got back to my seat the principal gave one last speech and than all the senior students threw up there caps and started celebrating and hugging each other. I was finally done with High School.

After celebrating with family and friend i was finally able to get ready for my date with Melissa. I put a neat bun in my hair. Than put on a lace bodysuit, with black dress pants and a pair of 6 inch black Louboutin heels and a pair of small silver hoop earrings. After I was done i went to the nearest flower shop and picked up some flowers. Instead of red roses i got marigold flowers to complement her skin tone. Then i drove to her home and knocked on on the door. When the door open the most beautiful girl answered it. She wore her hair down in beautiful loose curl. She had on Red lipstick, a black dress that hugged her body and complemented her figure. And I mean every shape and curve on her looked absolutely stunning. She wore black louboutins as well to go with what she was wearing. And wore a pair of gold hoop earrings. After standing there staring,I finally spoke but my words were a little jumbled.

"You look great!"

" Thank you! You don't look to bad yourself. So where are we going on this date you have planned.

" First dinner, a walk in the park and then a movie if that's okay with you?"

" All that sound's wonderful but what are those you are holding?"

"They're flowers, for you! Their marigolds , I wanted to get flowers that would complement you really well. I hope i did a great job?"

" You did a great job and also marigolds are my favorite flowers and my late grandmothers as well. When she was sick and upset I always bought her some marigolds to make her feel better. And when she was going though her treatments for her Breast Cancer I brought her marigold flowers to put a smile on her face. For my late grandmother and me it symbolizes positive emotions and energy! Marigolds also represent all the good times with my grandmother before she past."

With dinner we had Chinese food. The kind of place that cooks right in front of you. It was wonderful. We spent some time talking and getting to know each other. I learned that she loves to paint. Her favorite colors are red, black, and white. She likes music and dance just like i do. So we have a lot in common. And that's not even half of what we learned about each other. We learned a lot more during the walk in the park. And had a great time laughing till our sides hurt at the movies. Than went back to her place to watch more. After the movie was over she told me she was sick with breast cancer like her grandmother, so she was glad to see that i brought her some marigold flowers. They made her fell a lot better about her situation.

We spent the rest of the night making out for hour until it got late and time for me to leave. Before leaving I asked her since the date went well, what is our dating status and who won the bet.

"Yes, I i remember the bet and you won Alex. You were right. Since the date was great we are making this official. We are in a relationship.

" See I told you I would win but you didn't believe me! Ha ha ha ha! Well anyway shell I set up our second date? Before answering she asked me to go with her to her Cancer treatment so she can have some company. Of course i said yes.

"Yes Alex, I'm looking forward to it and for the record that was my first kiss!"

Days and weeks had gone by and things are going great with me and Melissa. Any and every time we see each other i never forget to bring a marigold flower to give her since they are her favorite also to give off positive emotions, energy, and to create memory. When we felt things were getting a lot more than just serious we decide to go ahead and meet each others family. My family was first. They were excited and over joyed to meet my first girlfriend ever. They even brought out the old baby pictures,even when i told them not to but the visit with her parents went the same way but both of our parents were great and happy for us at the end of the visits.

After the visit with our parents, I decided to get Melissa a promise ring that means I want to marry her in the future and would surprise her with it during our picnic next week.

It is now June 28 time for our picnic in the park. When I first saw Melissa get out of her car I notice that she looked pale and pale as in her sickness is starting to affect her skin tone but i wasn't going to let it mess up her day or mine. I made sure to get her favorite flowers so she can have some positive energy and emotions and remember this great day. When i noticed the sun going down the colors were yellow, orange and red. That's when i found it the perfect time to give her the ring. When she saw the ring she was speechless but excited and tears of joy were rolling down her face. While stuttering her words she said yes.

It was July 14 and 12:00 in the morning when I got a call from her parents saying she was in the hospital. It only took me 10 minute to get there but i didn't forget to get her favorite flowers just in case. When i got to her room and i saw her laying there she looked worse than before at the park a couple weeks ago. Seeing how bad she looked i got worried about the future with her so i went ahead and asked her to marry me right t here in the hospital and she was over joyed about it but promised a real wedding when she got better. In front of only a few family and friends we were married in her hospital room the next day and everyone was overjoyed but she still remained in the hospital. The doctors said she wasn't getting any better and the whole time i didn't leave her side. I kept holding on to her hand the whole time. When she woke up we talked for a while then she went back to sleep when she was to tired to talk anymore. But before she did what she said next really made me tear up with joy.

" Alex"

"Yes, Melissa?

" I Love You More than words can explain. You are my entire world and if tonight is our last night together I just want you to know that and i want you to be able to think of me when ever you look at a marigold flower. Every moment and memory we had together is all attached to those flowers and even though i want physically be with you, i will be with you spiritually. I want you to be able to move on with your life. Get married and have kids. As hard as it might be, please promise me you will!?"

" I Promise!"

After Melissa was done talking to me she fell back to sleep and I kissed her head and slept next to her. When I woke i heard the sound of the heart monitor going off saying that Melissa had no heart beat and she was gone.

It's been three days since Melissa's passing and her funeral is the next day. I haven't really been talking to anyone lately. I just wanted to be left alone after losing my wife. My life felt complete with her in it but now she is gone but i promised her i will always remember the great times we had together and to try and found new love just as great as our was, even though our love was really short.

It"s the day of the funeral, my last time to see her before they bury her. When I walked in the church everyone was seated and ready. Before i sat down i got one last looked at how beautiful she was and still is even in death and than I sat down. It took everything in me to hold back my tears. Lots of people got up and spoke wonderful things about my wife and every wonderful thing she has said and done for them. When they were done talking it was time to take her for her burial. Her burial spot was right next to her grandmother. As they lowered her down in the ground, one by one people dropped dirt and red roses down in her grave as their final good bye. Me i dropped a marigold flower in her grave that stood for till we meet again and so she will remember everything we did together from where she is now.

After the funeral was over i stayed a little longer because i wasn't ready to leave her yet. So I started spending every day at her grave talking to her and i brought many many marigold flowers and spent my days telling her how my day went. I said to her before leaving "it's going to be hard finding someone else as perfect as you my beautiful marigold flower."

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.