Fiction logo

Underneath The Cherry Blossom Tree

Story of Serena June's life growing up with a Cherry Blossom tree!

By Shannon ShererPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Ever since i was growing up there has always been this beautiful cherry blossom tree on a hill not far from my house. My mom said it was there when she was little to. When i asked my great grandmother, Marie June, she said the tree was grown using my great grandfather's ashes when he died of lung cancer at the age of 75. He told my grandmother to use his ashes to plant a cherry blossom because that's how they met,by a cherry blossom tree and he wanted grandmother to still have a piece of him still with her. She also told me that they got married under the same tree where they first met. and they decided to keep that tree in their lives . She went to that tree to read, for picnics,and any time she got mad at grandpa. And now that i understand the story of my favorite tree and whose ashes was used to make it, the tree is even more special to me now then it has ever been.

I was only 3 years old when i first saw the cherry blossom tree. I was very fascinated by it. I would take my toys and have tea parties by it, even a picnic or two with my mother every week while daddy was at work. Sometimes my grandmother would even read to me till the sun went down. I would even sit by it just to watch the sun go down. It was also my favorite place when i was upset and didn't want to talk to anyone and also when my parents were yelling at each other.

When some years past the tree had died and grew back. During that time a lot more in my life had happened. I was 13 years old then, now a teenager, finally! My parents got me a cellphone and i started a new school as well. Making friends was really hard but i did on my second week of my new school. Her name was Stephanie Care. We got a long right away. So we started doing our homework together after school and even having sleep overs at each others homes. We quickly became close sisters and started doing everything together. We started learning how to do makeup and hair together. But three months after we started 9th grade she moved away but we continued to talk over the phone every chance we got.

During my teen years i even got a dog name Alice. She was very energetic, very friendly, playful and loyal. She loved being by the tree just as much as i did. She took her afternoon naps by it. So i decided to tie a swing to it so i can have something to sit on while she took her naps. But most of the rest of our time was spent walking, so we could not only get some exercise in but so we could also spend some time together.

By the time i turned 18 years old,i was in my final years of high school. Yep, I was finally a senior. Which meant senior pictures, prom, class rings and graduation. i had already sent my order for my class ring in and was waiting for that to comeback. Then some weeks later it was time for class pictures so i had to make sure my hair was done and makeup as well. A week later the school told me i was school valedictorian. which meant i would be giving a speech at graduation. By the time graduation rolled around the yearbooks came back and everyone was in the gym going around to have their class mates sign their book and enjoy each other's time before going our own way after we graduated. My speech on graduation day was beautiful and the audience gave it a standing ovation.

Before packing for collage i went to sit by the tree, my favorite spot, so i could write in my diary about the first 19 years of my life. When i was done i went to finish my packing and to say goodbye to my family before i left. Of course my family was over joyed and upset at the same time about me leaving but i told them i would call once or twice ever day just so they can hear from me and know how i'm doing. After hugging them i was driving down the road on my way to collage. It took me five hours to finally get there but i finally made it after being held back by heavy traffic many times. Once i was in my room with some of my stuff i got to meet my room mate for the next four years. Her name was April Yearwood. We didn't have any of the same classes together but we always met up at lunch. She was at collage to study to be an attorney and i was getting my business degree so i could start my own company after collage or later in the future.

My years in collage went by really slow and were sometimes kind of boring. Every once in while there would be a party somewhere around campus and sometimes i would decide to go only just to get out of the room and to take a break from my studies when i knew i needed one. I've had my moments where i was upset and needed to sit by the tree and needed some time to myself but most of those moments i had April to talk to, so i could get through all of those tough times

During my last year of collage i finally had my first date with a great guy name Jeff Greater from the football team. He told me he wanted to go pro after he graduated. He was also my first kiss. After dating for a while we decide to meet the family over the holidays. The visit at his parents home was nice and they were very friendly. After the visit at his home we took a visit to see my family for the Christmas holidays. When we arrived my family was over joyed to see us. My parents showed him old pictures of me when i was very little, which was very embarrassing.After we unpacked i told him a few more things about my family and showed him my most favorite spot in the whole world and told him the tree was grown from my great grandfather's ashes. At least Jeff got to meet him spiritually.

It's been 6 years since i graduated from collage, and great things have happened. I got to open my own business, involving food, wine, and beer and i was looking forward to growing my business even more. My new husband, Jeff Greater went pro with his football career. April my best friend from collage is now one of the best and highest payed attorney's in the country. And to top things off, me and my husband are having our first set of twins, one girl and a boy. When they are born i can't wait to make the tree apart of their life to. Creating a giant string of new life memories with them.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.