Fiction logo

The Magnificent World of the Locket

If you have a secret "locket" up.

By Aaron HoskinsPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
The Magnificent World of the Locket
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Wearily, I stared at the locket in my hand. Grandmother had told me it held a major secret to the past. A secret that many died trying to obtain. My gaze dwindled as I shut my eyes.

I had seen this thing all my life, but until yesterday I had never given much thought to its importance. It used to be just another thing my grandma had collected over the years.

Now, I know the truth. The truth scared me. It created a variable in my story with which I had no idea how to deal with.

'Now what do I do?' I thought.

My mind began to go over what I knew.

Yesterday everything in my life ceased to make much sense. I had lived a pretty peaceful life with my grandmother. We had a small community in the western hemisphere. It was in the middle of nature. We never had any visitors, well, until yesterday that is.

They came with vehicles I had never seen from the ocean, the air, and on land. There were so many it seemed like an army of ants. Endless numbers. They came only for one thing, the locket.

My grandmother had grabbed me and shoved me in a cubby and told me not to come out until it was completely quiet. That had taken forever. There were loud noises and explosions. I heard people scream. I was there all day and night. Today, I had stepped outside and no one was there. The world had completely changed as if no one even had existed.

Once, I had nearly touched the locket and Grandma told me, “No!” Very sternly and with great fear in her eyes. Now, holding it, a pit began to form in my stomach. Where was everyone?

Eagerly, I decided to leave our village which seemed creepy without everyone in it. I grabbed my purse and swung the strap over my shoulder with practiced ease. I shoved a few cans of fruit into it. The memories of grandma and I canning fruit each summer briefly pushed their way into my mind.

Suddenly, I missed her so much. She would’ve known what to do. As I passed the buildings I had known my whole life, I realized little things that had changed. The library was gone. The building hadn’t crumbled nor was there even any proof that it ever existed. Confused, I sprinted to the edge of town.

No! It wasn’t there.

The path that led into our forested community used to have a large sign saying, “All are Welcome in Eden.” It was gone though. I searched the surrounding area. All of it was gone. Longingly, I stared at the entrance to our village… I wish it would all just go back to normal.

As I turned I remembered where grandma had told me to go. Wishing Well, the name of a place she and I used to go. The words echoed in my mind. I knew just where to find it, but what I would find there was a mystery to me. It seemed like an insignificant place.

As I stumbled and rushed through the trees the sun slowly moved across the sky. The heat beat down on my back causing me to sweat. I was panting hard by the time I had reached the well.

Secretly my hope had been to find her there, yet no one was there to greet me. I looked down into the water. Greedily, I dipped my hands in and scooped out mouthful after mouthful of the sweet water.

Finally, cooled off, I sat with my back against the well and stared at the locket. Without realizing it I must have fallen asleep. My eyes felt heavy and I passed from this world into the one in my dreams.

I woke up with a start. Night had fallen and it was chilly out. I wished I had grabbed something warmer. I stood up and glanced around. It was eerily silent. Nothing stirred in the night. No calls from birds or insects. I could only hear my own breathing.

It was then I noticed a faint glow coming from just within the lip of the fountain. A small, blue shaped heart indention caught the gleam from the moonlight. I traced my finger around the spot. It really was in the shape of a heart.

“Wow,” I whispered. Instantly I knew what I had to do. I slipped the locket off of the chain and gently pushed it into the indention. The glowing stopped and then… nothing happened. Disappointed and feeling like I could cry I turned and screamed at the sky.

Suddenly, I felt a rumbling and the sky lit up as the stars all seemed to fall at once and the world began to spin. Everything went black and my body suddenly felt very cold. I realized I couldn’t breathe. My body started to convulse. It was then I felt someone grab me and pull me down or rather up as I found myself drenched. Retching water from my lungs I gasped as my body hungrily sucked in air.

“You are one lucky gal, miss.” A tall dark haired man whispered. As he stood I saw rippling muscle beneath his skin tight shirt. “If I hadn’t seen that blast of light..” He shook his head. He reached out and took my hand and stood me up before I had a chance to even comprehend what was happening.

“I..uh…” I mumbled trying to get my bearings.

“No, it's fine. You know not many people out here left.” He glanced back at me taking the pathetic sight of me in. “You wouldn't happen to know where I can find a woman named Lynn, would you?” His gaze was fierce.

‘Lynn?!?’ That’s my name. I shouted in my head. I started to Panic. Why would he be looking for me. Though he was handsome, I had never met him. I shook my head doing my best to play dumb.

He let out a long sigh and then started to walk away. It was then I noticed a gun holstered on his hip and a shotgun slung around his shoulders hanging on his back.

“Wait!” I shouted. He turned quickly and held his finger firmly to his lips. A scowl adorned his face, almost making him seem far scarier than he had a few moments ago. He stalked back over to me and took out a small box from his pocket. He pulled out a toothpick and started chewing on the end of it.

“Missy, you best keep your voice down. They might hear you.” He rolled the toothpick between his thumb and forefinger.

“If they catch you it will be the end for you.”He stood straighter and this time walked briskly into the night.

‘Who will catch me?’ I thought to myself. Puzzled and scared I stood and looked at the dampness of my clothes. ‘Ugh, great. Now I am cold and wet!’

It was then I noticed the locket was back around my neck tucked underneath my shirt. I wasn’t sure if that man had seen it or not, but if he had he didn't seem to know its importance.

I decided it was now or never. I slowly opened the locket. Nothing. Again disappointment. I dropped the locket against my chest and looked up. I was seated in an old rocking chair and Grandma's face stared back at me.

“AHHHHHH!” I screamed. Grandma’s voice, I had heard it. I glanced around and as I did I noticed Grandma’s face in the mirror move. The dawning horror and realization of what was going on hit me with a ton of bricks. What was going on?

I reopened the locket and it was then that memories flooded into my mind…

I stood in a white gown by a magnificent lake. People stared at me as I said, “I do.” We kissed. There was the birth of my children and building our first house. Welcoming strangers to our village. George built a sign that said, “All are Welcome in Eden”. I remember the children laughing and reading books in the library we built. Having meals with our friends and family. It was then George walked up and handed me our grandbaby, Lynn. I looked at her in wonder.

***********************************************************************************************************

“Hey, Jake, take a look at this!” Sam called. Jake ran over and both of them stared down into the depths of the heart shaped locket. A world beyond theirs. One that retold the same story over and over.

“Dude, its different this time. It was Lynn that experienced the loop. What would happen if we dropped a piece of salt in there this time?” Jake exclaimed.

I hope you all enjoyed this tale. I will be doing more with it in the future but for right now this is an odd and spectacular tale.

Sci Fi

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AHWritten by Aaron Hoskins

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.