Fiction logo

The Magic Train

What dimension am I in?

By Isis Lyons Published 2 years ago 9 min read
2
The Magic Train
Photo by Balazs Busznyak on Unsplash

I’m not strange, I’m not mentally disturbed and I’m not magic so why in the world am I on this train? I’m getting ahead of myself; hi my name is Jonathan and I’m stuck, confused and scared. My day started normally, I walked down the stairs of my yellow townhouse. I kissed my mom on the cheek and I ate waffles, eggs and bacon; she was nagging me about doing my homework. I ignored her like always, I finished my food and left out the door. I walked down the street to wait for my school bus, my friend Luise was waiting for me as always; most people call her Loowe. “Hey, LOOWE!” I cheered; I ran towards her and gave her a tight hug. “I feel like I haven’t seen you in forever.” Luise stands there with her arms to her side, “Yeah it’s been a long weekend.” She teased. I let go of her torso, “It was for me, I didn’t get to see any of my friends because my mom and I went on this long trip to Duxtonville. We had to take a train and I absolutely hate trains.” I groaned; “You’re such a drama king.” She jeered; “Do you ever have anything nice to say?” I rolled my eyes, “Rarely.” She giggled, I stared at her violently; “I’m just joking, come here.” She opened her arms, waiting for me to crash into her. The bus finally came, so instead I went in to make sure there was a seat in the very back. There was, so I glided my way to the very back of the bus. I sat down with my leg up on the seat as I laid back against the window.

As I laid the back of my head against the window I closed my eyes and I fell right into a dream. I was back on that miserable and stupid train my mom made me go on. Only this time I was by myself with no one in sight. I stood up from the seat I was sitting in and I began to walk on the aisle. I opened the platform screen door and a bright light shined in my face, I opened my eyes and I’m leaning against a train window. I look around me and I see human sized fairies, gigantic creatures that are made of brick and talking animals. I decided to pinch myself to make sure I’m awake. “OOW!” I shout, something’s wrong with my voice, it’s deeper. “What’s happening to me?” I look at my hands and they’re huge, “AHHHH!” I screech to myself; “What’s going on with you?” A cheetah prowls towards me; I jump on the chair and I squeeze my whole body against the window. “Who are you?” I squeal, the cheetah gives me a merciless grin. “My name is Unice, what’s yours?” My body shivered with fear, “Jo..Jo…Jonathan.” I quiver, “What’s wrong darlin’? You’ve never seen a talking cheetah before?” She giggles and the creature next to her begins to chuckle with her. “N..No. I’m not from here.. As.. As a matter of fact I don’t even know how I got here.” I stutter with every missed heart beat; I can’t stand to be in front of this huge and deadly creature any longer. “Don’t worry, I won’t hurt you; I’m a visitor just like you.” What does she mean? “Huh?” She chuckles, “We’re all just passing through, we had a dream just like you that led us here.” At least I’m not alone, “Have you been here before?” I ask, “Plenty of times, I’m actually not a cheetah, this is just my spirit animal.” So, my spirit animal is a grown man? That can’t be right. “Why am I older than I really am here?” I question, “Probably because you’re an old soul.” Unice guesses; “Okay, whatever that means.. How can I get off this train and back to my reality?” I ask, “You would have to make your way to the front of the train.” Unice informs, “Easy enough.” I get up from the chair and I walk towards the platform screen door, all of a sudden I hear “WAIT!” I turn around and it’s one of the brick creatures speaking to me. “She didn’t tell you everything. In each door there’s a different dimension. You have to figure your way out of each obstacle; good luck.” My heart began to race, I have no clue what these doors hold. I finally make it to the door, I close my eyes and swing the door open and I jolt inside.

I open one of my eyes and I notice a beautiful, clean concrete floor. I open both of my eyes and I realize I’m inside of a beautiful small town. I look to my right and I see plants sitting outside someone's small apartment, I look to my left and I see café tables and chairs. I continue to walk on the straight path; I then realize I still feel the movement of the train. I begin to feel nauseous as I feel the motion of the train going forward. I kneel down and I throw up into a vase, “Hey! What the hell do you think you’re doing?” I look up, vomit drips down my lip and onto my chin. “I’m sorry I’m getting motion sickness.” I continue to throw up in the vase, the guy goes back into his simulated apartment. Thank God that’s over, I get up from the ground and I continue to walk on the straight path. “Hey! Don’t you dare run! I’m going to cut your head off!” I look back and all I see is the guy running after me with a machete in his hand. I begin to sprint as fast as I possibly can, I look around to see if there are any allies I can turn into, but it was just building after building. I look behind me and I see him getting closer, I begin to take giant leaps. Finally I run into a blue, wide door; I twist the door knob, swing the door open and I run inside. I lock the door behind me only it's not the same door I ran into. This door is rusty and wooden; I look forward and I’m inside someone's cottage house. “Hello? Is anyone there?” I shout; I look around and there’s chairs laid down on the floor. Seems as if they were smashed, I see an old fireplace with a picture of a beautiful woman on top. I walk closer to the front door, and all of a sudden I hear the bedroom door swing open. I look to my left and it’s the woman from the picture; her full lips, beady, hazel eyes and her beautiful curly, brown hair. “You’re beautiful.” I gaze into her eyes and I become hypnotized; “Why thank you, love.” She cheers, she comes closer and she begins to caress my cheek. I smile so hard that my face begins to hurt, “So what’s your name?” She comes even closer to my face and says “Val.” Her face begins to stretch out, her beautiful brown skin is ripping. “AHHHH! WHAT THE HELL IS HAPPENING!” I try removing myself from her grip but it’s too tight; her mouth becomes huge and I can see her sharp fangs ready to devour my head. “PLEASE! I’M ONLY A KID!” Somehow, someway that made her stop. “Oh, you’re a kid huh. Then why do you look like this?” She investigates, “I don’t know. One minute I was sleeping on my school bus, the next I’m on a train with a whole bunch of different species that I’ve never seen before.” I explain, she finally lets me go. She begins to pace back and forth; “So you’re telling me you’re one of the visitors?” I begin to shiver throughout my whole body. “I guess that’s what you call it.” I begin to step backwards towards the front door. Val begins to laugh, “Why didn’t you just say that?” She goes back into her human form; “What was that you just turned into?” I quiver, “You really scared me.” She chuckles, “My apologies, I’m a siren; that’s my natural form. I lure men with my beauty and then I eat them.” My eyes begin to tear up; “I hope I’m not next.” She rolls her eyes; “Don’t be such a baby. You’re a kid so I wouldn’t dare eat you. I’ll let you grow up first.” She cackles, I begin to quietly touch the doorknob. “You’re leaving already?” She pouts, “Don’t you want to stay for dinner?” I swing open the door and I run out of there as fast as I can. I lock the door behind me. This door is golden, I look in front of me and I’m standing in a mansion. All of a sudden I feel like I’m turning; “Oh yeah. I’m still on a train.” I walk towards the beautiful living room, but I can’t get comfortable because I have a feeling I’d fall out of the train if I go any further. *BOOM* *BOOM* *BOOM*

I hear heavy footsteps coming down the long, steep stairs. “WHO GOES THERE.” A loud, deep voice shouts. I cover my ears and they begin to ring; I look up and it’s a gigantic green blob. “My name is Jonathan and I’m a visitor! I’m just trying to get back to my school bus!” I shout; “Well there’s the door to enter the front of the train.” I begin to walk towards the door and all of a sudden he drops in front of me, “If you can get to it.” My heart jumps inside of my chest, “Why are you doing this?” I nag; the blob just continues to stand in front of the door. I try going into his kitchen to get something to make him move. As I walk into the kitchen I can feel myself going to fall. I start to get frustrated, so I punch the blob in its jello stomach; “MOVE!” I wail; “Nope, not going to work. Try something different.” I look around the beautiful, fancy mansion and that’s when I realized he’s jello. I begin to bite his skin, “AHH WHAT ARE YOU DOING, SICKO” The blob shouts. I don’t say anything though, I continue to eat through his stomach. “Alright, alright! I’ll move. All you had to do was go through me, psychopath.” I chuckle, “You taste delicious.” I swing open the front door; this time a flash of bright light shines in my face.

I feel my body rocking back and forth, “JON! WAKE UP WE’RE AT SCHOOL!” Luise shouts in my ear. My eyes begin to open, “Ugh, why are you screaming in my ear.” I groan; “You wouldn’t wake up for the past fifteen minutes. You okay?” She investigates. “Kind of, I had the craziest dream.”

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Isis Lyons

I am extremely passionate about all things writing. If you enjoy any of my stories please stay tuned and subscribe. I would really appreciate it.

Instagram; @isisthepoeticgod

@_isisthewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.