Fiction logo

The lost dragon of Kattalhi

Prologue

By Lauren TurnerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

There weren't always dragons in the Valley.

But if there's one thing you need to know about the Valley of Kattalhi, it's this. Although it has always been a haven for outcasts, the disowned and the forgotten - it is also a place of wonder.

Beautiful shops line the streets with treasures spilling onto the pavements outside. Cafes offering the most delightful delicacies sit tangled amongst never-ending alleyways. When the wind blows in the right direction, you can even catch the scent of the sea, intermingling with the sage and citrus that wafts throughout the town. It was, and still is, a creaky, bustling, mystical town filled with healers, psychics, sorcerers and eccentrics. Yet, no one had ever seen a dragon before.

We had heard stories, of course. History tells us that Kattalhi Valley only exists because the fiery breath of a dragon separated the Wockadoh Mountain in two. Still, they had died out generations ago in a deadly plague. But the warnings remained. We all knew what would happen if they ever reappeared.

I grew up on tales of ferocious battles which left the men that went to fight broken. Warriors often came back with fewer limbs and those that were lucky to escape with nothing but singed eyebrows and ashen hair never spoke of what they saw. In school, we learnt how to avoid dragons at all costs, the best way to leave them bewildered and how not to be torn limb from limb. I believed I knew everything there was to know about dragons. At least I did until the night this all began.

The moon was full and bright as I walked home. The stars lit up the sky, and I guzzled it in. I could hear wind chimes swaying gently in the breeze and the gravel beneath my feet crunching as the stones moved under my weight. I made it to the top of Terrazalo street before I heard it.

It sounded like a baby or a small dog. I crooked my head to one side listening intently. One step. Two-step. I made my way through several crooked alleyways, following the whimpering as it grew louder and louder.

Then I saw it. Under the Valleys monument to Gaia; The Tree of Light, was something bundled up in a Moses basket. Slowly I approached, hoping it wasn't a human baby that had been left to fend for itself.

My hand hovered over the blanket as I drew a deep breath from the heavy summer air. Pulling the blanket back slowly, I didn't understand what I was looking at. Its eyes were huge. They were coloured the deepest blue that you’d ever seen. Its face was lilac and somewhat scaly. It’s body, also lilac in colour, looked like that of a dog that had lost all of its fur.

Soon the creature realised it wasn’t alone, and the whimpering turned into curiosity. Its arms reached out towards me, as if asking for my protection, for love, for me not to abandon it once more. It was in this moment that I knew that this odd little… thing, needed my help.

Of course it crossed my mind that this animal might be dangerous, but there was nothing linking it to the dragons in my books. It didn't have a tail. Or wings. It was completely helpless.

I held it in my arms as I looked for a note, a name, a clue. Nothing. “What's your name little one?”

I paused as if expecting it to answer. “How about... Cedric?”. Its eyes gazed at me, and before I knew it, the little bundle was licking my face like an excited puppy. I let out a giggle which only made it do it more.

Gently, I returned Cedric to the little basket and looked around. I needed to get him inside where he was safe. It had been quite the detour. I set off home with the basket in my arms. Within about five minutes Cedric had fallen fast asleep. I trod lightly.

Once home I went straight to my room. I lay Cedric at the side of my bed, still in his basket so as not to wake him. I stared at him a while in wonder. It must be a new creature that's been abandoned here from the outside, I thought as I rolled over. I couldn't stop thinking of all the cool adventures we’d get up to together. Whatever Cedric was, he trusted me, and I wasn't going to let him down.

You see, I'd always assumed dragons were ferocious beasts. Yet, I was never once warned that they could be so cute.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Turner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Lauren Turner is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.