Fiction logo

The Lost But Found Wallet

The Good heart of a woman

By David E. EsemePublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Like

Sam was on his way to the airport, ready to board his flight to London. He had been saving up for this trip for months, and he was looking forward to exploring the city and meeting new people. He had packed his bags carefully, making sure he had everything he needed: his passport, his tickets, his phone, his charger, and his wallet.

He hailed a taxi and loaded his luggage in the trunk. He told the driver his destination and settled in the back seat. He checked his phone for any messages from his friends or family, but there was nothing new. He decided to relax and enjoy the ride, watching the scenery pass by.

He arrived at the airport with plenty of time to spare. He paid the driver and thanked him, then grabbed his bags and headed to the check-in counter. He showed his passport and tickets to the agent, who scanned them and printed his boarding pass. She handed it back to him with a smile.

"Have a nice flight, sir," she said.

"Thank you," Sam replied.

He walked towards the security checkpoint, feeling excited and nervous at the same time. He had never traveled abroad before, and he wondered what it would be like. He hoped everything would go smoothly and that he would have a great time.

He reached the security line and waited for his turn. He placed his bags on the conveyor belt and took off his shoes and belt. He emptied his pockets and put everything in a plastic tray. He walked through the metal detector and waited for his bags to come out on the other side.

He picked up his shoes and belt and put them back on. He looked for his tray, but he couldn't find it. He scanned the area, but there was no sign of it. He felt a surge of panic in his chest.

"Excuse me," he said to a security officer nearby. "I can't find my tray. It had my phone, my charger, and my wallet in it."

The officer looked at him with a frown.

"Are you sure you put it on the belt?" he asked.

"Yes, I'm sure," Sam said.

"Well, maybe someone took it by mistake," the officer said. "You should check with the lost and found desk over there."

He pointed to a small booth at the end of the hall.

"Thank you," Sam said.

He ran to the lost and found desk, hoping that someone had returned his tray. He approached the clerk and explained his situation.

"I'm sorry to hear that," the clerk said sympathetically. "We haven't received any trays like that today. Maybe you should check with your airline. They might have it."

"Okay, thank you," Sam said.

He ran back to the check-in counter, feeling desperate. He asked another agent if they had seen his tray or if anyone had reported finding it.

"I'm sorry, sir, we don't have anything like that here," the agent said. "Maybe you left it in the taxi?"

Sam felt a wave of despair wash over him. He realized that he had no way of contacting the taxi driver or finding out which company he worked for. He had no idea how he was going to get his belongings back or how he was going to travel without them.

He felt tears sting his eyes as he realized that his trip was ruined before it even began. He sat down on a bench and buried his face in his hands.

He didn't notice when someone tapped him on the shoulder.

"Excuse me, are you Sam?" a voice asked.

Sam looked up and saw a young woman standing in front of him. She had long brown hair and green eyes, and she was holding a plastic tray in her hands.

"Yes, I am," Sam said, confused.

"I think this is yours," she said, handing him the tray.

Sam couldn't believe his eyes. It was his tray, with his phone, his charger, and his wallet in it. He felt a surge of relief and joy as he took it from her.

"Thank you so much!" he exclaimed. "How did you find this?"

"Well, I was in line behind you at security," she said. "I saw you put your tray on the belt, but then I saw someone else grab it when it came out. I thought it was weird, so I followed him. He went to a bathroom and locked himself in a stall. I waited outside until he came out, then I confronted him."

She paused and smiled sheepishly.

"I may have used some physical persuasion to get him to give it back," she said.

Sam was amazed by her courage and determination.

"You did that for me?" he asked.

She nodded.

"I don't like seeing people get robbed," she said. "Especially when they're about to go on a trip."

She looked at her watch and frowned.

"Oh no, I'm late for my flight," she said. "I have to go. I'm glad I could help you."

She turned to leave, but Sam stopped her.

"Wait, what's your name?" he asked.

She smiled and said, "I'm Lily."

She gave him a piece of paper with her phone number on it.

"Call me when you get to London," she said. "Maybe we can meet up."

She winked at him and ran away, leaving Sam speechless.

He looked at the paper in his hand, then at his tray, then at the direction she had gone. He felt a warm feeling in his heart.

He realized that he had just met the kindest stranger in the world. And maybe, just maybe, the start of something more.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.