Fiction logo

The Lonely Christmas Street

Short Story

By Hazel ParadisePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Lonely Christmas Street
Photo by Boxed Water Is Better on Unsplash

This Christmas has become unbearable for me. This has never happened to me before. I mean look at those couples on the street! How happy they look, unlike me.

I could see Mrs. Thompson is about to close her coffee shop. It's getting late and she is going to have Christmas dinner with her mother-in-law. I see Lily has already closed her bookstore. She had a new collection of books for sale today. I bought a whole new box set of Christmas Novels. It had two Christmas novels and 3 short Christmas romance stories. This is the best thing I could do to pass this lonely night as someone has forgotten to take me out and is busy with his stupid business meeting even this Christmas.

Why do some people work so hard? Carl promised me that he is going to be Celebrating this Christmas with me. This Christmas with me!

It's going to be midnight soon. The Christmas mood is going to end and now I am getting tired of waiting for him. One hour back he said, "Just five minutes and I will be there, Jessica!"

One hour before.

This is the same way my brother makes me wait. But Carl turns out to be more irritating and impossible to handle than my brother. Why is he doing this? Is he busy with any meetings? ?

I am not a person who would sneak into my boyfriend's private life but I feel like taking a cab and just dashing to his office. I mean, he is the boss of the company! Why the hell is he working when he gave his employees one month holiday? I asked him politely that I'll join him and help him with the meeting but I suddenly met with a reply, "Nope, no need. Everything is already cared for."

The weird thing is that, I am his secretary for the past one year and even I do not know about this meeting.

I walked around my room, nervously. Is Carl going back to the Carl he once was? The notorious Carl who would go out with women every night?

I shook my head. Idiot! He is not like that! Before I go mad due to my overthinking, I think I should calm my nerves.

Only coffee can calm me.

I walked to the kitchen and switched on the lights. I packed everything thinking that I would be going out with him. I didn't eat. I canceled the girls' meetup too! I could be celebrating this holiday with my family!

I opened my cabinet and pulled out a Christmas mug. I ordered it online three weeks back. I kept it in the Cabinet, away from Carl's eyes. If he finds out about my love for mugs, he is gonna be buying a bunch of Christmas mugs from The Phoenix mall that I always talked about. And I hate when he overly spends money on me.

I poured the boiling hot water into the mug.

"This time I need more coffee," I said to myself as I put in two spoonful of coffee. "This is for me and my lonely life." I poured some cream and now I am done. I sipped and could feel my tensed nerves calming down to a certain degree.

Looking out of the Kitchen window, I thought about Carl when I first met him. He was a loner. He doesn't have parents. They died long ago when he was a kid. I couldn't imagine living without my family but he did survive. He never told me much about where he lived or what he did to survive. Whenever I ask, he would simply say, "Now you are with me angel, I don't need anything."

I took out a sharp breath. I think I should eat something. I think he must have forgotten about our Christmas dinner.

When I was about to open my fridge, my phone beeped. It had a message with a photo of him and the meeting.

He was holding a sorry card. I could read his eyes. He was sorry for it.

Below was a message that made me smile.

"Don't think I have forgotten about our dinner. The meeting is going to end in 10 minutes. I'll reach your place at 11:27 pm sharp. Be ready. I have a surprise for you."

http://www.hazelparadise.com/

http://www.hazelparadise.com/

ClassicalHumorMysterySatireScriptShort StoryYoung AdultSeries
Like

About the Creator

Hazel Paradise

I am a non-fiction author. I believe every author to be their own boss and have multiple sources of income. Consistency is all you need!

https://www.patreon.com/hazelparadise

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.