Fiction logo

The Little Mermaid Review

Remember the remake that everyone went into a raging rant over?

By Janay EaleyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
The Little Mermaid, 2023

On June 2nd, I went to the movies with my mother and little sister to see the Little Mermaid. I should have written this review on that same day, but I was distracted. I was listening to the soundtrack on Spotify as soon as we got back home. My first thought after watching the movie was the ridiculous complaints and unnecessary outrage when I first heard about it. There were naysayers making it seem like this remake was going to be bad.

Conservatives were proclaiming that the Little Mermaid was a woke agenda by the radical left and Hollywood. Silly memes that people created to white-wash POC characters in black films which I thought was comical. When it comes to the premise of this movie, I never agreed with any of that. The Little Mermaid is not about wokeness. It is about being woken to who you are and what you want to be.

It is about realizing that there is more to life than staying where you are. This is about a girl and a boy who are in different worlds that they were forbidden from and at the end, those worlds came together. Many girls auditioned for Ariel, but Halle Bailey was the chosen one. Her performance told me this one sentence: I could’ve half-assed this role and not gave a damn about what others think but I understood the legacy and importance of this character. My mom was shocked in the theater and whispered: Is this heifer really singing this?

I had to explain to her that 90% of the movie are her vocals. The casting director must have said that everyone in this film will not be a POC so let us mix and match the characters. The actress who played Vanessa, the human girl that Ursula uses to trick Prince Eric did a wonderful job with little screen time. While I was analyzing the scenes in movies, I can see that they were trying to stay true to the original: The tone, most importantly. The naysayers who made a big deal about the remake need to get it through their heads that it was difficult to make.

CGI appears much better on the big screen than looking at the phone or computer. This is a live action vs an animation and that is why I respect the remake because it tried their best to bring back something that children and adults loved. There was more humor in this one than the original. I loved the design of the mermaid costumes on Ariel’s sisters. Melissa McCarthy did her own thing as Ursula.

She was still a villainess with a mixture of humor. They did an excellent job of forgetting the original looks of the sisters and giving them some spice. That is what I can say about her performance. To the reader, trust me on this: The movie was not ugly, bad nor terrible. It was good and there were some things I did not expect to see.

I am still obsessed with the star of this film, that is why I am not talking about the other characters. She was the Little Mermaid, and I could not imagine the voice of another girl but hers. I know the OG Little Mermaid fans still love their queen, Jodie Benson but Halle Bailey won me over. If you do not want to take my word for it, then see the movie for yourself. For me personally, I would not take what those two groups have said about this movie because they were wrong, and they know they were dead wrong.

That is why you do not the negative chatter anymore. Alright, I am heading back to listen to the soundtrack for the tenth time. No, I am kidding...

familyYoung AdultLoveFantasy

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Jordan Flynnabout a year ago

    Haven't seen it yet, though just found it amazing the amount of Little Mermaid purist out there that wanted a “realistic” mermaid -___- Lmbo gtfo.

Janay EaleyWritten by Janay Ealey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.