Fiction logo

The Lion and The Woodsman

The Woodsman

By A Bit From AllPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
The Lion and The Woodsman
Photo by Mika Brandt on Unsplash

While roaming in a jungle, looking for a prey to satisfy its hunger, a lion heard some kind of noise coming from everywhere. Trying to find the noise source, the lion saw a big number of hunters. Seeing that multitude, the lion thought that the best way to keep itself safe was fleeing; it ran as fast and far as possible. Unfortunately, it fell in a woodsman’s trap. The woodsman had the trap set and was gone to gather the wood needed for his house. When he came back and noticed that it was a lion in his trap, he got closer and said: “What happened to you to fall in my trap!? I have neither the intention nor the passion of hunting lions”. “There is a group of hunters that is after me; would you hide me till they go away, please? explained the lion. The woodsman accepted to offer help.

When the hunters went away, the woodsman released the lion, asking it to leave. But the latter refused to leave and said: “since you are a human being like those who chased me, I am going to devour you”. “Please, don’t. I have a family, leave me alone,” implored the woodsman. “This won’t happen,” said the lion. “Since you are so determined, at least, let us consult some of the animals and seek their opinion regarding our story,” asked the doomed to death woodsman.

On their way, looking for the woodsman’s friends, they came across a wolf. The woodsman told it his story with the lion. “You! human beings deserve nothing but to be killed; kill him uncle lion,” commented the wolf. The woodsman did not like the wolf’s opinion and asked for more council. They walked until they met a mule which, also, was told the same story. “Man exploits me and uses me in their toughest labor without giving a damn about me when I become old and lose my strength; devour him, lion,” was the mule’s answer. After that, they went to the horse whose response was, more or less, similar to the mule’s.

Finally, the woodsman decided to turn to the hedgehog. He told it what happened. “You said that while the lion was being chased, by the hunters, it fell into your trap and you saved it!? queried the hedgehog in a surprised tone. “Yes, that was it,” confirmed the woodsman. “Well, I actually don’t believe that; a lion falls in a woodsman’s trap! I will believe it and express my opinion only if I see an acting performance of what happened,” added the hedgehog. The lion agreed to the performance. Then, while the woodsman was setting his trap once again, the hedgehog winked at him, whispering: “once the lion is caught in the trap, hit it with your axe”. As agreed, the lion, stupidly enough, entered the trap believing that it was a pure performance. However, just after it was trapped, the woodsman hit it in the head and had it killed.

“You are really smart my friend; would you come with me to teach my children some of your tricks? asked the woodsman. Yet, the hedgehog saw in the woodsman’s eyes the signs of evil intention, and said: “yes, but come with me first to bring my children; they may do the job better than me. Besides, they will play with yours”. The woodsman showed no objection. When they approached the hedgehog place, the latter said: “wait for me here I’ll be back soon”. The hedgehog went away, running among woods and let the woodsman waiting.

M0RALS OF THE STORY

-One should not trust the others (enemies) especially dangerous people.

-Man should reconsider their way of treating and using animals. Because human beings EXPLOITS animals in such a cruel and pitiless way, to the point that if animals do have the ability to talk, they would, expectedly complain to humankind, and even revenge themselves.

-Using tricks is sometimes of good outcomes in comparison to keep imploring and begging.

-Intelligence triumphs over physical strength.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ABFAWritten by A Bit From All

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.