Fiction logo

The Lighthouse Sees All

If Walls Could Talk

By Nettie BPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
www.ko-fi.com/nbphotoart

If walls could talk what would they say? Would they tell of our rituals, our secrets, the stealing of cookies from the cookie jar? Or would they remain silent because they were a witness to horrific things abuse, neglect, or even murder? I don't know what other walls would say or do but I will talk only about what I have experienced.

It is often quiet until recently. A new family has arrived, actually, two families. The place is small, and cozy but can get claustrophobic when the weather rolls in. Unlike the previous owner, these people will never be alone, they will have each other and perhaps their fate will be different than the others.

I saw what happened to the last three occupants. The authorities thought accident after the first one but when two more ended up the same way they called me cursed. As if the walls are able to curse those who occupy it, believe me, I'm not cursed it is fear that drove these people to their fate and fear is not a curse.

Months have gone by with the new double owners at times I feel history trying to repeat itself but only in glimpses and then it is gone. The weather has been fair, allowing them to leave and come back when they choose. Although the two who leave are not always the same two who come back. They brace each other against mean with their heavy breathing, I didn't think it was that big of a deal until I saw one of them look into the window and witness them together.

You may not know this but walls can hold their breath. If you've ever walked into a room and it feels like the air has been let out that's when we are holding our breaths. We are afraid of what is about to happen because we know what others do not. I'm holding my breath now as the witness walks in on the other two sitting at the table talking as if what they just did hadn't happened.

A light string of questions is asked but the witness doesn't press it and walks out of the room to their bedroom. I let out my breath full of relief, wonder, and a sense of fear. They know and if not confronted now then when? I will have my answer soon enough.

The weather has shifted and has become stormy, windy, and dangerous. I feel the rain hit me like pellets from a gun, it stings, and it hurts but I soon forget about it when I hear a conversation taking place between the witness and the spouse who isn't fooling around. There is shock, denial, acceptance, and finally anger.

Their words are hard to hear through the storm that is pounding outside but their body says it all, revenge. No sooner is the plan put into place than the two cheaters walk in and nothing more needs to be said as they know their secret has been found and now I hear everyone's voices clear. The words echo throughout as false promises were broken, the lies that were told, and the sting from the confirmation. Both don't deny the affair and say they are in love with each other. Once their job here is done they will file for divorce and let their spouses move on and both are warned not to fight them, they'll be compensated plenty but if they try to fight for more or refuse to sign they will get nothing.

The chairs are turned over, glassware is broken, and the two love birds turn and walk out and for the first time are holding hands. I barely have time to take it all in when the two spouses left go running after them. Through the window, I see it all, the second confrontation, arms flailing all around then the shoving, and the broken couple moving the lovers to the edge by stepping closer and closer to them.

A part of me wants to close my eyes but just like before I can't, I have to see it to the end and the ending is screams as the first lover goes over. The second falls to their knees yelling down to them, the pain in their voice is agony, the broken couple looks at each other for only a moment before they push the lover over the edge to join the one below. It is only then that I close my eyes and don't open them until the police arrive the next day.

It is quick and short as the testimonies are given and taken at face value. I could almost cry at how easily the police believes them. I hear them say there is no evidence of foul play and that the bodies below show signs of falling as the witnesses stated. A horrible accident, one went over and the other tried to help but failed.

As the police leave the spouses to come in and gather their things for the drive back to civilization, back to their homes on the mainland, and away from the lighthouse that sees everything.

Sees that the two lovers really did love each other and that the spouses weren't upset by the affair but by who the affair was with and the shame it would bring to them. You see the affair was between the husbands.

Young AdultShort StoryMysteryHorrorFantasyFan Fiction
1

About the Creator

Nettie B

Welcome! Thanks for stopping by, if you like my posts, show your support with a tip, pledge, or subscribe. Also, check out my website at www.ko-fi.com/nbphotoart for more of my photography.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I like the perspective of a cursed lighthouse, very unique and engaging! Your imagination and use of descriptive language is fun! Such a well written story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.