Fiction logo

The light beyond

by Kevin Slimmer

By Kevin SlimmerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
6
The light beyond
Photo by Marcel Strauß on Unsplash

It was blinding. It was 3 a.m. and a light was shining through my bedroom window. I threw my legs out of the bed while using my right hand to block the blinding green light from my eyes. I opened the curtains to find the source, but the light was too bright. My room looked green. I pulled a pair of jeans on, threw a T-shirt over my head, and I scurried downstairs. After slipping on a pair of sneakers I ran out of my house towards the blinding light emanating from the woods beyond my property.

By Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

As I got closer to the source, I could feel myself becoming lighter. It felt like I was walking on the moon and eventually I was floating. The light pulled me through the trees towards itself. My skin vibrated. All my senses became heightened. I could smell the forest, I could hear the humming of the light, the scurrying of animals, and the light breeze making the leaves dance. With my arms stretched wide, my toes dragging on the leaf-covered ground, and my chest out, I was speeding towards the revelation of the light.

My body stretched in every direction as I moved closer to the light source. My perception of time started to warp, my journey felt like it would never end, and I would die floating towards the light. The farther I traveled the more I became part of the light and light a part of me. Then I stopped floating. I was the light. My body was gone, but my mind was intact. I was aware of all that the light touched. I could feel the trees, the plants, and the animals all at once, all at the same time.

By Jason Leung on Unsplash

I could now see, or sense, the center of the light. It was the brightest white I have ever experienced. With no eyes, it didn't blind me. A rainbow of infinite lights streaked away from the white center in every color imaginable. Next to me, was a purple and a yellow beam. With just a thought I was now inside the purple light. I could see, or maybe a better way to describe it would be, I was everywhere the light shone, all at the same time. I was in another bedroom, not my own. A man and his wife were in bed. I could see, no sense them from every angle. I felt them. The man's eyes opened and I was back being green. The purple repelled me as soon as the man was aware of me.

I now wanted to go to the center, then I was there. Inside the white ball of light, I heard a cacophony of voices. An infinite number of voices all spoke to me at once, until I was absorbed into the waves of sound and light. At this moment, I was aware of everything. Every atom in the universe was vibrating and I could feel them. I could feel everything in concert, or if I chose, I could experience something or someone separately, individually.

My mind and my memories still existed, but I also could access all memories of all those in the light. The best way I could explain it would be like having an infinite number of TVs surrounding you with different shows on. With just a thought, you could watch just one TV or as many as you'd like and still understand what was going on in every show.

By Ajeet Mestry on Unsplash

Time didn't exist anymore. I could transport myself on any colored beam as far back as that beam traveled. The farther the beam traveled the farther back in time I could appear. All I had to do was think, then I was wherever and whenever I wanted to be. My entity was enmeshed into the environment of any place I was. It was like observing a time in history inside a snow globe, except I was the snow globe. No matter how long I stayed, I returned as if I never left the white center.

Eventually, my mind evolved into thinking beyond just my human existence. I could experience the entirety of the universe and its simple complexity. Yes, I could tell you if there were other intelligent beings out there or what the meaning of all this is, but I'm not going to. That isn't my place. Actually, none of what I now can understand and experience is my place to share.

I have come to the end of my story, well the story I can tell you. So what am I now? What did that light do to me? Am I some sort of superhero? No, I'm not a superhero. I have one last part of my story to share to help you understand what I am now. Let's go somewhere and I will let you hear what I hear.

"Hello, this is Sara."

"Ms. Riley, this is Sherriff Putnam. I'm sorry to inform you but your son, Peter, was found dead in his bed this morning. His girlfriend found him."

"What? No! Not my Peter! How?"

"Ma'am, it seems that he died of a heart attack, but we will know more after the autopsy."

"Heart attack? He's only 35 years old! This can't be happening."

By Guillermo Ferla on Unsplash

Ok. That's enough. I have let you hear enough to understand what happened to me. I have a big bang to experience. See you soon, I'll be waiting for you. I don't go by Peter anymore.

The end

Short Story
6

About the Creator

Kevin Slimmer

I have worked in Human Services for over 25 years. I am married with three children, living in New York. I recently finished my first novel, The Shelter, available on Amazon.


https://www.kevinslimmerauthor.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.