Fiction logo

The Light

Little Shop of Magic

By Jay VillinPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Light
Photo by Sander Weeteling on Unsplash

It was the middle of the night, but Lexi found herself awake. She sat up in her bed, the room bathed in a strange, green light. She got the feeling that she wasn’t alone.

“Hello?” She whispered quietly. “Stefan?”

“I’m afraid he isn’t able to reach you here.” The sound came from above her. Indeed, the man was floating above her bed. “Please forgive the intrusion, my lady.”

Was his skin green or was it just the light? “You’re one of them, aren’t you. One of the hoard.”

He nodded slowly. “That is correct. But I’ve kept to the restraints of our banishment. You see, I’m not actually here and I haven’t sent anything. It’s all a part of your dream. My name is Blake.”

I’m going to have so much trouble remembering these names. Stefan, Blake, and what was the other one? Tony? “So why have you come and interrupted my sleep?”

He stammered for a moment. “I’m not actually interrupting your sleep, my lady.”

“Fine, dreaming. I get it. Enough with the ‘my lady.’ My name is Lexi.”

He bowed his head. “An honor, my— Lexi.”

She sighed. A step in the right direction, I guess.

“I am your assigned demon of spirits, hence my ability to communicate with you in this manner. While some of us may be pranksters, I think it would be best if you utilized us to grow your own magic. Your shop is thriving, but there’s so much more to be done.”

“Destroy the world, like a good, little Antichrist?”

Blake sighed. “That is your destiny, but there’s a key piece that you’re missing. You have the ability to change destiny. This is why nothing has happened to change the path of your store. Helping people is a direct violation of prophecy, but you can simply make the prophecy not true.”

Lexi cocked her head at him. “And you, a literal demon, would be okay with that?”

“I didn’t make the prophecy and I’m not mentioned in it. It is not my job to sway your path. I’m here to do your bidding. Whether that is for good or evil is up to you. We can advise you and can certainly teach you at this stage, but we aren’t able to sway your path.”

“But you are. By insisting that I call upon you, you’re changing the path I take.”

He shook his head at her. “I am but giving you options. The choice is yours.”

“And why should I take your option? This feels an awful lot like a trick. A new prank to wreak havoc and chaos yet again.”

“Tristan and Sean, demons of water and air respectively, are the pranksters of the group, but I understand what you mean.”

Tristan! That was his name!

Blake smiled gently, seemingly amused by something. Could he read her thoughts?

“The choice is yours, Lexi. We will be here when you need us.” He began to fade away, a stark difference to the blast of Stefan appearing.

Lexi awoke, surprisingly refreshed considering the realistic dream. Slowly, she made her way out of the bedroom, through the office, and down the stairs to get her daily cup of iced coffee. She savored a moment of silence with just the ice clunking around in the plastic cup.

She took a deep breath. “Stefan.” She could feel him appear behind her. “Why do you always appear out of sight?” She turned on a heel to face him.

“So I don’t startle you.”

“Can you and the others read my mind?”

He shook his head. “Mind reading is more of a spiritual ability. I can catch on to what you’re feeling, but not thinking.”

She took a deep breath, certain she would come to regret her next sentence. “Stefan, summon the hoard.”

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Jay Villin

I write things. Just like life, sometimes those things are good, and sometimes they're bad.

Twitter: @VillinJay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.