Fiction logo

The Last Call

Saving the World Through the Last Call

By RK BhanuPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

It was the last call for everyone at the bar. Last call for drinks, for laughter, and for a night out. Everyone had to go home and get back to their daily routine. But not for me. For me, it was the last call for something else. Something more important than a hangover. It was the last call to save the world.

I had been working on this project for months. I had been running simulations, running tests, and analyzing data. And finally, I had found a solution. A solution that could save the world from an impending doom.

But there was one problem. The solution required a massive amount of energy that could only be obtained from a source that was beyond our reach. It was a long shot, but I had to try. I had to make that last call.

I took a deep breath and dialed the number. It rang twice before someone picked up.

"Hello?" A familiar voice answered.

"Dad, it's me," I said.

"Hey, son. What's up?" he replied.

"I need your help. I need to borrow the satellite."

"The satellite? What for?" he asked, surprised.

"I can't explain it over the phone. It's complicated. But trust me, it's important."

There was a pause on the other end of the line. I could hear my father's breathing on the other end.

"Alright, son. I'll help you. Meet me at the facility tomorrow morning. I'll give you access to the satellite."

"Thanks, dad. I owe you one."

"No problem, son. Just be careful."

I hung up the phone and felt a wave of relief wash over me. I had made the last call.

The next morning, I arrived at the facility and met my father. He led me to the control room where the satellite was stationed. It was an impressive piece of technology, capable of transmitting and receiving data from anywhere on the planet.

I powered up the system and began the procedure. It was a risky maneuver, but I had no other choice. I transmitted the code to the satellite, which then sent it to a receiver located on the other side of the planet. The receiver was an experimental device, capable of harnessing the power of a nearby black hole.

I held my breath as I waited for the signal to come back. And then, it happened. The receiver sent a signal back to the satellite, which then sent it back to us. It was working.

I couldn't contain my excitement. The solution was finally within reach. I uploaded the final code into the system and waited for the results.

It took a few minutes for the data to process, but when it did, the results were astounding. The energy output was enough to power the entire planet for years to come. We had solved the world's energy crisis.

I couldn't believe it. I had done it. I had saved the world.

But as I was celebrating my victory, I noticed something strange on the monitor. The black hole that we had used as a power source had started to expand. It was getting bigger and bigger, and there was nothing we could do to stop it.

I knew what was going to happen. The black hole was going to consume the planet, and there was no way to prevent it. I had made a mistake, and now the world was going to pay for it.

I felt a wave of despair wash over me. I had saved the world, but at what cost? I had doomed it to destruction.

As the black hole grew larger and larger, I closed my eyes and waited for the end to come. But it never did. I opened my eyes and looked at the monitor. The black hole was gone, replaced by a bright light that was emanating from the center of the room.

I turned around to see a figure standing in the center of the light. It was unlike anything I had ever seen before. It was humanoid in shape, but its body was made of pure energy.

"Greetings, human," the figure said in a voice that sounded like a thousand voices speaking at once. "You have done something remarkable. You have harnessed the power of the universe itself."

I was in shock. I couldn't believe what I was seeing.

"But you have also made a grave mistake," the figure continued. "The energy you have unleashed is beyond your understanding. It will consume this planet and all life on it."

I felt a knot form in my stomach. I had doomed the planet.

"But there is still hope," the figure said. "You have one chance to save your planet. You must use the energy you have unleashed to create a portal. A portal that will transport your planet to a safe location."

"How?" I asked, still in shock.

"Use your technology. Your computers. Your knowledge. Together, they can create the portal. But you must act quickly. Time is running out."

I nodded, still unable to speak.

The figure disappeared, and the light began to fade. I knew what I had to do. I ran to the computer and began to work. I programmed the computers to create a portal, using the energy we had harnessed as its power source.

It was a race against time. The energy was expanding rapidly, and the portal had to be created before it consumed everything.

I worked tirelessly, using all the knowledge and technology at my disposal. And finally, it was done. The portal was open.

I looked outside and saw the energy expanding, consuming everything in its path. The end was near.

I ran to the control room and activated the portal. The energy was getting closer, and I knew I had to act fast.

I hit the button, and the portal opened wide. It was a beautiful sight. A bright, shimmering light that seemed to go on forever.

And then, the energy hit. The building shook, and I was thrown to the ground. The portal flickered, and for a moment, I thought it was going to collapse.

But then, the energy was gone. The building was still standing, but the world outside was gone. We had made it through the portal just in time.

I looked out at the new world we had entered. It was beautiful. A lush green planet, with oceans and mountains, and a sky that was a deep shade of blue.

We had done it. We had saved the world. And in doing so, we had created a new one.

The last call had been made, and it had saved us all.

SatireShort StorySci FiMysteryHumorFantasyFan FictionClassicalAdventure
Like

About the Creator

RK Bhanu

As a blogger, I would love to write on various topics Traveling, Health, Food, Fashion, Technology, Marketing, Business, etc. But professionally I'm working as the best web designer and like to write when I feel awesome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.