Fiction logo

The Last Article from a Desperate Writer

I hope someone reads this

By Sam H ArnoldPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Image by StockSnap from Pixabay

I'm not even sure, as I write this, anyone will read it. Still, the best part of my life was as a writer, it seems right my last act is writing. If this is my last act. I'm not even sure of that anymore.

To help you understand I need to start from the beginning, let you know how it all started to go so wrong. I am a true crime blogger. I am fascinated with serial killers and stories of murder. Four days ago I became fascinated with the Elisa Lam story and the Cecil Hotel. Why? Because my girlfriend gave me the idea.

She came down and told me about this strange Korean game in an elevator. If you follow the rules then you can end up in another dimension or world. It was one of the theories for the Elisa Lam disappearance. When I looked into it, the murder and the hotel fascinated me more.

I gave you a weird game to research and you turned it into articles about murder.

She was pissed at me I knew it. So once the original articles published I decided I had to research her article. That was when it went wrong. All those articles had different opinions. To truly research the phenomenon, I knew I had to try it.

So that is how I find myself here. I found an office block near home with more than ten floors, jumped in the elevator and started the game. At first, I rode up and down the floors and nothing strange happened. What a pile of shit I was thinking. I nearly got out laughing at how absurd I was being, then I reached the fifth floor and the woman got in.

The rules are clear, you are not to look at the woman, interact with her or speak to her. So I ignored her, still smiling to myself at what a coincidence it was that she got on there. How ridiculous was this?

Then she moved towards me and started to speak. The sweat started to run down my spine. I ignored her. She came closer leaning into my face. I could feel her breath on my cheek and still, I ignored her. She smelt of nothing I had ever smelt before. A mixture of death and decay. As my resolve started to crumble we got to the tenth floor and I got out. Why the fuck, I have no idea.

When the doors opened I don't know what happened but I stepped out into this. The woman called to me and I ignored her.

I don't know how to describe the office. It's dark, there is no sound like I have noise-cancelling headphones on. Just an empty void where the sound should be. It's cold and lifeless. The offices have no flowers or plants and there is nothing outside the window except that bloody red cross.

I realised I shouldn't be here, one minute after leaving the elevator, but it had gone. Not door closed gone but vanished. I can't find my way back to it and I don't know where I am. Will this post go out from whatever or wherever this place is. The computer is on and silent I have no idea what, where or if it is connected.

I am alone and I am scared. I will try to find the elevator again after this, reverse the game and return home. I'm not even sure if I can remember the sequence to get home. If you are reading this baby, I researched your idea and it's all true.

Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed this article, please follow me, share it and give it a like. As a writer tips mean a great deal to me, so a massive thank you if, you send one.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Sam H Arnold

Writing stories to help, inspire and shock. For all my current writing projects click here - https://linktr.ee/samharnold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.