Fiction logo

The Lake

Together

By Annette FriarPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
The Lake
Photo by Luke Stackpoole on Unsplash

As I pulled my coat tighter around me I could sense the atmosphere was changing. The sun had set hours before and had taken the last remaining warmth from the day. I was determined to sit the night out though. I had thought I had become well prepared but I realised I was never going to be prepared enough.

The night sounds were well established by now and gave some comfort in reality. I shivered and pulled the blanket over my knees in the hope of finding a tiny spot of warmth but I knew the cold wasn't coming from the night air . Every instinct screamed at me to run, pack up the tent and head for home. But I knew that if I did that I couldn't or wouldn't come back and the opportunity would be lost forever. It had to be now, this night and this time.

Branches cracked behind me and I whipped my head around in the direction of the sound. Peering through the darkness I could make out shapes but the moon wasn't bright enough to reveal their source. It took all my strength to sit still and wait it out but as quickly as the sound materialised it had gone and the wood fell silent again.

I turned forward to look over the small lake in front of me, there was little wind so the water appeared like glass, so still.

The lake was by far the eeriest I had seen it normally hosting small rowing boats for the summer visitors and shreaks of laughter as families swam in its shallows, a relief from the August beating sunrays.

As I stared mesmorised at the lakes glassy water I thought I saw something out of the corner of my eye. My heart started to beat faster, and I felt my lips dry in an instant. Surely not? As much as I tried to focus on the spot I couldn't sharpen my gaze enough to see anything.

This was hopeless..... I was scaring myself......she was never going to come.

Mentally I was exhausted concentrating on every little sound or movement only to become disappointed again. I was kidding myself into believing this date, this night and this place would be where she would come back to. Perhaps, she had never left?

Thoughts spun around my head, whirling and crashing into each other. Night time was always the worst time ....I could feel my head tighten as the familiar pain swept across my forehead. I clutched my head hoping to release the pressure frantically stroking the back of my neck. Not now I pleaded it was the wrong time!

Suddenly the thought flashed across my mind, perhaps it was just the right time, perhaps it was her.

I jerked my head up quickly, ignoring the sharp bolt of pain it caused.

"Is that you?" I whispered

The sounds from the woods fell silent.

"Sam? " I clambered to my feet, stumbling as I took a few steps . " Sam?"

It seemed that I was totally alone but for some reason it didn't scare me. If this was her then I was safe, she wouldn't let anything hurt me..... I was sure of it.

I could still feel the pain in my head but it had dulled to an annoying ache.

"Sam?" I took a few steps towards the lake edge. She had to be here it was the only thing that made any sense. I frantically looked around hoping to glimpse a sign, any sign that she was with me.

Ignoring the water lapping at my feet I walked further into the lake. The water was icy cold but I didn't feel anything I just knew she was here...it felt right. My feet suddenly lost the bottom and I started to float or it felt like I was.

"It's ok....just swim" Sams voice whispered " I'm here....I've got you."

For a split second I was reassured. She was here. I was safe.

Too late I remembered I could not swim. She had tricked me.

The water rushed into my lungs as I panicked , my arms frantically moving hoping to feel the sensation of floating.

"See." I could see her eyes playfully light up " I've got you. You're safe now."

Short Story

About the Creator

Annette Friar

I have come late to writing as I've had lots to do and no time to do it!

It's my time now so please be patient as I intend to practise, practise and practise......

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Annette FriarWritten by Annette Friar

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.