Fiction logo

The King and The P.I

Gerard: Scavenging

By Crystal CruzPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1
Reference for Gerard.

Wake up. Scavenge. Eat the little I find. Sleep. Repeat. The same thing day in, day out for the last… I don’t even know how long it’s been since the end of the spewing. I don’t even know how long it had been spewing. It’s been so long since I’ve seen another living soul, not counting the ghost that led me to the vegetable garden four farms ago. It’s been even longer since I’ve seen my family. I hope they’re okay.

I looked up to the ever-grey sky, the star’s rays ever so slightly peeking through the dense ash clouds. I closed my eyes and sighed. Oh, to feel its warmth again. I opened my eyes again and turned back to the ashen road in front of me. Gotta keep moving, Gerard, can’t stop to think of the past. I attempted to scurry forward but with all the thick ash on the ground, I barely made it a few centimeters before sinking further in the ash. I sighed once again. Damn these little legs.

I steadied myself, tapping my front paws in preparation, then jumped. I gained more ground this way, jumping half a meter each time. I jumped and jumped, stopping every meter and a half to see if I could see, smell, or hear any other creature emerge. Every time I’m disappointed. Being isolated for so long while Mount Narroux spewed really made me crave companionship.

As I jumped my way to the next farm, I thought about how much everything has changed since the spewing. These lands used to be lush; the vibrant green grass went on for kilometers enough for the farmers and the wildlife to use. There used to be a kaleidoscopic of color from faeiries, elves, nymphs, pixies, gnomes, so many other creatures that used to roam Vlauplera. Now everything was a dull grey and empty. It’s depressing to see.

I miss seeing the gnomes. They were always friendly and helped us scavengers know where to go to get the best food. They especially liked my brothers and I. Even though we were part kobold, we looked more like the raccoons that crashed in Kaglesh centuries ago, so that put them at ease. I sighed. Just thinking about them brought my mood down. I shook my head, willing the thoughts to go away, and started jumping again.

Kilometers later, I was finally at the next farm. I jumped my way to the barn that seemed like it was halfway burrowed in the ash. I burrowed into the ash and down to the base of the barn. I burrowed from left to right and finally found a hole big enough in the corner that I could squeeze my way through.

After squeezing my way into the barn, I shook my body, getting the ash off and looked around. It was mostly empty save for a few dead or sleeping hippogriffs and unicorns. I took the time while they were asleep to scurry around the front of the barn to look for any food that might have been stored there. I was digging through a pile when I felt a huff of air on my back. I stilled.

“Bold of you to trespass.” Wait, I knew that voice.

“Gadreel?” I asked, whirling around to face him. He looked rough. His coat used to be a glittering, bright white, now a dull light grey. His horn once a shining rainbow of color was now all drab pastel yellow.

“Gerard?” He questioned really looking at me with his darken eyes. They lit up with recognition, “My old companion! Oh, it has been too long!”

“Far too long.” I gave him a hug. He was all bone. “You’ve lost muscle, Gadreel.” I pulled away to look at his face.

“Aye.” He looked down in sadness. “There’s only so much we can do locked in a barn. We’ve eaten all our food. It’s been difficult. I fear there is not much time left.” He turned to look at the rest of his friends, as the ones that were still alive stirred from their slumber.

I slumped as I looked at these once majestic and beautiful beasts now a shell of their former selves. I then cocked my head.

“You don’t know, do you?”

“Know what, Gerard?”

“The spewing stopped. Mount Narroux and the rest, they’ve returned to their slumber.”

Gadreel shook his head, “No if that were true our compatriots would have let us out by now.”

“Most of the windows from what I can see have been boarded. I assume to avoid any of the toxic debris. I crawled in through a hole in the corner there.” I jumped off the barrel and scurried over to the corner I entered. I showed Gadreel the hole and started jumping whinnying.

“This is terrific news Gerard! We can leave the barn and return to our world.” I chittered in excitement as I followed him to the rest of his friends.

“Friends, the eruption has ended!” The unicorns began whinnying, and the hippogriffs screeched all in excitement. With renewed vigor, they ran over to the door. They all pushed into the wooden door, with the little strength they had, trying to budge it against the ash. Gadreel sighed in frustration and shook his body. He trotted over to the closest window and reared up, placing his hooves on the wood. He pushed on the shutter with his nose as hard as he could and it flung open hitting the side of the barn with a loud bang.

Gadreel peered out and sighed heavily. “The ash is blocking the door.” He got back down and I scurried over to him, climbing the barrel.

“I can help Gadreel.” I said quickly, eager to help my old friend. His eyes twinkled, his lighter color returning.

“Thank you, Gerard.” I gave him a small pat to his nose and then scurried out of the barn the same way I entered. As I burrowed my way to the front of the door, I shoved the ash behind me. I had reached the door in no time with renewed energy and excitement as I found my friend. I could hear the impatient hooves stomping behind the door as I burrowed up to the top of the ash.

I hummed as I scooped as much ash as I could in my tiny hands and tossed it behind me. I growled as I quickly realized that was going to take too long. I began digging, and that proved to go by faster. I moved enough ash that it wasn’t so densely packed in front of the barn door.

I knocked on one door. “Okay, try now.” I yelled to the beasts. The unicorns neighed and I could tell they were all using all their strength to open the door. It cracked open a little, and I grabbed it to help them. We pushed and pushed until finally it opened enough that they galloped out into the open. They neighed and screeched happily as they shook their bodies and stretched their wings.

“Gerard, I cannot thank you enough for helping us. If there is anything I can do to help you, please just ask.” Gadreel said, his color slowly returning the longer he is out of confinement.

“No need to thank me. I have spent too long alone. I am more than happy enough to help a friend in need.” I said, “however, a ride to the nearest town would be nice. I take too long to travel on foot.”

Gadreel laughed and whinnied. “Of course, old friend. Please get on.” he bowed on his front knees, leaning his head down. I scurried on to his back and settled down, hands holding on to his hair. He rose back up and turned to face the rest of his friends.

“Friends, go find nourishment, regain your strength. We will return when the terra is fit for cultivation for our compatriots.” Gadreel announced. The hippogriff screeched and took off galloping wings spread in preparation to take flight. The unicorns neighed and in a group began trotting west to the nearest town. I leaned into Gadreel’s head, happy that I wasn’t so alone anymore.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Crystal Cruz

Writer. Mostly fantasy. Reader. Anything really.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    I really enjoyed this story. It has a tinge of melancholy which adds to the overall realistic sense developed. Rather than Magical Realism this is more like "Realistic Magicism" :-) Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.