Fiction logo

The Key to my Heart

You never know what opens love's door.

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
The Key to my Heart
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

It was my eighteenth birthday, and my elderly grandmother held a red wrapped box. Anticipation burned in her eyes as I gingerly unwrapped the perfectly wrapped present. Old stained wood sat in my palms. Strange energy oozed out of every pore of the box. My grandmother’s silvery perm shook with excitement, waiting for me to open it. The rusty hinges squeaked open to reveal a rough iron black key on a leather string. My copper eyes glittered happily at the old necklace.

“What do you think, my dear?” She queried, her blue eyes twinkling youthfully. “It will open many doors.” How come I could sense she was alluding to something else. Mustering up a crooked grin, my arms wrapped around her short body. The silk of her blue floral gown felt soft against my skin. The gentle smell of lilac drifted softly into my nose, relieving my worried mind.

“It is the coolest thing ever.” I exclaimed, feeling the joy in her eyes. “What do you mean that it will open many doors?” Shrugging, she walked over to the worn couch in her stale apartment and collapsed down. The television clicked on to Wheel of Fortune, telling me to hit the road. Sighing I pulled the necklace over my long wavy dark brown hair. It went really well with my black sweater dress that hugged my hourglass figure.

The cool night air nipped at my pale skin, owls hooting in the twisted dead trees. Coyotes howled in the distance, warning me to rush home a lot faster. My black cape stood in front of me with my roommate sitting on the front step. Flushing scarlet, my heart beat faster at the sight of him in his black dress shirt and black jeans. Fresh dirt coated his worn converses.

“How did it go?” He asked, standing up to greet me. “Cool key.” His slender fingers fiddled with the key sitting on my neck. Old Spice wafted up my nose, making my face even redder. A crooked grin danced across his face, his hands sitting on his hips.

“It was fine.” I mumbled, glancing anxiously at the cracked pavement beneath my worn flats. “I have to make myself dinner.” Slender arms grasped my arms, stopping my heart for a moment.

“Don’t you see Raven, I have dinner ready for you.” He gloated, trying to look into my eyes. “Besides you are redder than the side of a freshly painted barn.” Crap he saw my face. Resting my hands in my palms, embarrassment pricked at every part of my mind. Smiling warmly, his hand patted my head. Chuckling to himself, he sauntered into the house, almost dancing.

“Stephen, thank you.” I blurted out awkwardly, covering my mouth. “I really appreciate it.” Shrugging, he continued to walk in and guided my trembling self to a set table with tacos, my favorite meal. The chair scraped against the worn wood floor as he pulled it out. Sheepishly, my gaze just stared at the navy walls.

“Well, are you going to sit down before it gets cold.” He mused, scratching the back of his wild hair. “I worked hard on this meal.” Before I could sit down, a large black door appeared in the orange living room. The old lights flickered on and off. My key yanked me into the other room, flying into the lock. Stephen appeared behind me holding a couple of tacos, a look of wonder ablaze in his eyes. Sighing, my shaking fingers turned the key. Holding my breath, my eyes filled with wonder as the Niagara Falls rushed in front of us. Two slender hands shoved me through the door, he smiled standing next to me with the two tacos. Lights sparkled up and down the street illuminating the happy people strolling up and down the street.

“This is amazing!” I shouted excitedly, watching the door close behind us. He handed me a taco, watching the people mull around us. Couples stood by the metal railings laughing and giggling.

“You really are a hopeless romantic.” He teased brightly. “I really like you know.” The time melted away around us, his lips pressing against my lips hungrily. Pulling back, our faces blushed a deep scarlet. My taco fell to the ground, ground beef and cheese spilling over the pavement. My body relaxed into his, his arm wrapping around my small waist.

“I like you too.” I stuttered, glancing nervously at my dropped taco. “I didn’t want to tell you because I fear rejection.” Laughter erupted from his kissable lips, his hand tossing his taco into the trash can next to him. My heart was about to flutter out of my chest. His hand grazed my cheek ever so lightly, tickling my sensitive skin.

“You want to have a first date at the most romantic place in the world?” He offered, tucking my hair behind my ear. Nodding numbly, he pulled me towards all of the shops on main street. Hopefully this door leads to many more doors. An older man in a strange black suit followed closely behind us. My joy melted to fear as his dress shoes clicked faster behind us.

“Give me your key so I can get back to my love, Serena.” He pleaded, grabbing a hold of my arm. “I made a mistake leaving her that day.” Sadness dimmed his copper eyes, his hands tugging at his blazer anxiously. Anger burned in Stephen’s eyes, but my hand to his chest stopped him. A childish smile illuminated my face, frightening the both of them.

“You are Johan, my grandmother’s lost love.” I said, crossing my arms. “How about we reunite the two of you? She never stopped talking about you. I firmly believe everyone deserves a second chance.” Frowning, Stephen pointed to a door that looked just like my grandmother’s white apartment door. Hope brightened the old man’s eyes, warming up my soul. The key slid in and clicked. The door swung open, my grandmother waiting on the other side. Tears flowed from her eyes the moment Johan met her. He picked her up and swung her around gracefully.

“You found me.” She stammered in disbelief. “Today is supposed to be your birthday not mine.” Her arms wrapped tightly around me, sucking the breath out of me. Johan rubbed her arm in comfort, and she hugged him again as if she were to never see him again.

“Why did you guys get separated in the first place?” I queried, attempting not to have my curiosity eat away at me. “I must know. I don’t mean to pry.” Chuckling to herself, she guided us all to the dated living room. Clearing her throat, her fingers wrapped around his wrinkled fingers. Memories of her telling me stories flashed through my brain and comforted me.

“It was a normal day as any other I suppose. We were walking in the park when a door appeared in front of us.” She explained sadly “It closed before I could go in after him. Unfortunately the key stopped working. I thought I lost him forever.” Just as she said that the key disappeared from around my neck. Wonder lit up Stephen’s eyes, my grandmother just smiling and looking into Johan’s eyes.

“It must disappear when all of its owners are truthfully happy.” I thought out loud, tilting my head in confusion. “Yeah, you gave it to me to find your true love again. You know what, I am happy, especially with you being happy. Stephen, let's leave the love birds alone.” They waved good-bye to us as we left the apartment and entered the starry night. This time the cold didn’t nip at my skin.

“This is the point I would offer you a coat, if I had one.” He joked joyously. “This would be-” My finger pressed against his lips, stopping him from speaking. My hand grazed his cheek, standing on my toes. My lips kissed his lips passionately. His face flushed bright red, as I pulled away.

“I just need you and tacos tonight.” I flirted, grabbing his hand. “Then I want to watch my favorite horror movies. Are you okay with that?” A crooked grin curled at the corner of his lips.

“Tacos and horror.” He teased, wrapping his arms around my waist. “How did you become my perfect girl? Let’s go!” The full moon smiled yellow light over the pavement as we walked home for our first date.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.