Fiction logo

The keeper of the locket

The keeper of the locket

By amanda warwickPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
The keeper of the locket
Photo by Danielle MacInnes on Unsplash

What if I told you that an old locket that is still in a glass case, somewhere in my room, hidden away in an old run-down cupboard brought on by the end of the world, was mine.

It was a cute little golden one with a red heart in its centre, but it wasn’t just a locket, it was one of great power and mystical workings that not even I knew the depths of. I was one of the only few who survived when they brought on the end of the world People didn’t tell you that my family were the ones who were the keepers of the locket and because of that, we were supposed to stop the end from happening when it did, but clearly, we failed.

There were of us and we weren’t exactly family but we’re just really really close and were subconsciously assigned the role of keepers of the locket and that was the beginning of the end.

I was in my living room, reading a book when my phone rang and I was warned that someone was coming to try to steal the locket and try to harness its power.

Which was almost impossible, but that didn’t stop them from attempting to steal it.

The man and women who walked in that day almost killed

My sisters and I left the room without the locket, but we were covered in the bloody energy of the people who tried to steal the powerful piece of jewellery that possessed powers one could only imagine.

That power had the power to drive one mad with the deep need to not only heal those who were sick but murder the name of madness. And we couldn't allow it to fall into the wrong hands.

Once they were dead the energy of the locket went mad and overheated and almost exploded, killing my two sisters within seconds.

Once I was the only one left I made the effort to conceal what reminds me of the locket in a glass case that was covered in protective symbols. Granted, I was putting a lot of my energy into those symbols, so I was pretty weak and tired but that didn’t stop me from travelling day-in-day-out to get food, water and whatever else was needed to survive in a post-appocelipdic world.

As I walked out of my house that looked like something you would never find in a world that was supposed to be dead. It was the kind of place you would find in the movies where the only thing left standing was a very old patch of woodland. The outside of the house was wooden with a concrete outline just to make sure it stayed not only grounded but didn’t just collapse with every storm or bad weather period that came up without warning because someone didn’t know how to warn people and tell them to pack up their stuff and leave.

As I was walking toward the only place where I could gather my thoughts without that stupid locket getting to my head and over-running it with thoughts of what could have happened. Whilst I was meditating and collecting information about the coming week - possibly month.

My mind quickly became a sea of overlapping thoughts and ideas that would probably never see the light of day, if it were up to me, in most cases it wasn’t, and that was okay for now.

My meditation sessions normally lasted for around twenty minutes to an hour, but today was a lot different.

A random person, who I didn’t even know existed, walked right up to me and said, “Hey, sorry to interrupt, but I was wondering if you knew where everyone else was?”

I looked at her with eyes that had a lot of light but were still longing for a deep connection. “I’m sorry, but they don’t exist.”

“What do you mean they don’t exist?” “I mean they are all dead.”

She looked at me with dead, dull eyes, that would have become so hot they were burnt out of her face if this were a movie. But this wasn’t a movie because it was real life. She began screaming and didn’t stop until she screamed herself out. She lay there motionless for a little while and awoke with the same dead eyes as she had when she first found out that every single living being was dead.

It was weird, actually seeing an actual living, breathing person who wasn’t just my imagination running a bit too wild. She was begging to slowly sit up and stare into what was now literally nothing for a good minute before she stood up and started looking around for someone, anyone who could have been out there. Of course, if there was anyone else alive and actively trying to survive with what little we had to live on, I probably would have known. To not even know what happened here, must have been exhausting. I couldn’t imagine what she must be going through, most likely only now just awakening to the truth that nobody is alive, except for me and her.

“So, what even is your name, who are you?” As I stood back from where she was sitting, I asked her to give her some breathing room.

“My name is Bella and I have yet to fully understand what has happened here.”

“Well, Bella, I have been in this realm since a very long time ago, and know why, and how this world went to hell.”

“And how would you know how the world I grew to love, went to hell and died?” Bella asked, once again as if she just couldn’t understand what was going on.

I began telling her what happened by taking a photo I had of the locket, out of my pocket. “You see this locket here? I was one of three people in charge of protecting the outside world from its power.

One day, there were around three to five women who were tasked with stealing the locket and claiming its power or magic for themselves. That was until the locket decided to explode with a single touch from one of the women, it killed everyone in the room, but I somehow made it out unharmed.”

“So, you survived a blast of energy no one should ever have made it out of?”

“Somehow, yeah. I don’t know or understand how it worked out the way it did, but I surpassed it for a really weird reason.” I told her, as I began walking back toward my house.

Once I grabbed what I needed and said my goodbyes and whatnot, I made my way back to my actual place.

***

The air was slightly colder and thicker by the time I had gotten home and unpacked all of the things I brought to the last of at least another few weeks. I turned on the heating and made myself some tea, made a little spot on the lounge so I could read in peace.

Later that night I had a warm shower, did whatever else I needed to do and went to sleep.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.