Fiction logo

The Item

Microfiction

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1
The Item
Photo by Kari Shea on Unsplash

I threw it out today, and it felt like a weight was being lifted off my shoulders.

I stared into the stainless-steel trash can, the sparkly glitter of the object catching my eye.

For years, it sat on a random shelf in my living room, taunting me with its gaudy nature and stupid grin.

It had been a gift from my aunt, and I was sure she had collected it from an antique store during one of her trips.

And up until today, I had always felt too guilty to rid myself of it.

But this morning, something inside me shifted, giving me the strength, will, and courage to do what I wanted.

Maybe it was the spring air or the sun shining down on me, but today felt like a new beginning.

And my aunt would get over it.

I lifted my head, eyeing the empty spot on the shelf. What would I replace it with?

I grinned as the possibilities swarmed around in my mind. I owned much nicer knick-knacks that fit in much better with the theme of my house.

But I would remove the dust before I did anything else

I then scanned around the rest of my living room, searching for items that no longer carried any meaning for me.

Suddenly, I could no longer breathe. Everything I owned; it felt like it was suffocating me. And I wouldn’t be able to escape.

But I managed to regain my breath, inhaling and exhaling slowly until the room no longer spun.

I would not be stopped.

Not today.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it! Subscribe for more content!

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.