Fiction logo

The Invisible Bird...

"Leave this planet?''

By Peter williamsPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

It was a summer day when I first saw the invisible bird. It was perched on the porch of my cabin, watching the sun set into the great beyond. I had been arriving at this lodge for a really long time, however I had never seen anything like it. From the outset, I thought it was a stunt of the light or my creative mind. Yet as I continued to observe, I understood that there was something there that I couldn't fully see.

I rubbed my eyes and looked once more, however the bird was still there, sitting on a part of the old oak tree somewhere far off. Except for the outline of its body, which was visible as it moved, it was absolutely invisible.

For the next few days, I spent my time trying to get a better look at the invisible bird. I would wake up early in the morning and watch it from my porch, and sometimes I would take a walk through the woods to get closer to it. But no matter how close I got, the bird remained invisible.

As the days went by, I became obsessed with the bird. I started to research invisible animals, trying to find out if this was some kind of natural phenomenon. But I couldn't find anything that explained what I was seeing.

One evening, as I was sitting on the porch, I saw a flash of light in the sky. It was followed by a loud explosion, and then a rain of debris fell from the sky. I jumped up from my chair and ran towards the woods, where the debris had landed.

When I arrived at the site, I saw a small, sleek spacecraft that had crashed into the ground. There was smoke and flames coming from the wreckage, and I could see that there was someone inside.

I rushed over to the ship and tried to open the door, but it was stuck. Then, to my surprise, the door opened on its own, and a man stumbled out of the wreckage. He was dressed in a strange silver suit and had a look of panic on his face.

"Are you alright?" I asked.

"I'm fine," he said, brushing himself off. "But I need your help."

"What do you need?" I asked.

"My ship is damaged," he said. "I need to repair it before I can leave this planet."

"Leave this planet?" I repeated.

"Yes," he said. "I'm an alien."

I couldn't believe what I was hearing. I had always believed in the possibility of extraterrestrial life, but I never thought I would actually meet an alien.

"I can help you," I said. "But what about the invisible bird? Do you know anything about that?"

The alien looked at me in surprise. "You can see the invisible bird?" he asked.

"Yes," I said. "I've been trying to figure out what it is for days."

The alien smiled. "That's my ship," he said. "It has a cloaking device that makes it invisible."

I was stunned. "Your ship is a bird?" I asked.

The alien nodded. "It's a bird-like spacecraft," he said. "And it's the only one of its kind in the galaxy."

For the next few days, I helped the alien repair his ship. It was a difficult task, but with his advanced technology and my knowledge of mechanics, we were able to get it done.

As we worked together, the alien told me about his planet and his mission. He was a scientist, sent to explore other planets and gather information about their ecosystems. He had been on Earth for months, observing the flora and fauna and learning about the planet's unique characteristics.

"I've never seen anything like the invisible bird," he said. "It's a rare and special creature

As we worked together, repairing the alien's bird-like spacecraft, strange things began to happen. I started hearing strange noises at night, footsteps outside my cabin, and the feeling of being watched even when I was alone. It was as if the forest had become alive with an ominous presence.

The alien also started acting strange. He would often stare off into the distance, lost in thought, and would refuse to talk about his planet or his mission. It was as if he was hiding something from me.

One night, as we sat around a campfire outside my cabin, the alien suddenly jumped up and ran into the woods. I followed him, trying to keep up, but he was too fast for me. When I finally caught up with him, I found him standing in front of the invisible bird, staring at it intently.

"What are you doing?" I asked.

"I need to capture it," he said. "It's the reason I came to this planet."

I didn't understand what he meant, but I could sense the urgency in his voice. I tried to stop him, but he was determined. He pulled out a small device and pointed it at the bird, which suddenly became visible.

It was then that I saw the horror that the alien had been hiding from me. The bird was not a creature, but a monster. It had razor-sharp teeth, glowing red eyes, and tentacles that extended from its wings. It let out a blood-curdling scream as it attacked the alien.

I tried to run, but the creature was too fast. It chased me through the woods, and I could feel its hot breath on my neck. I finally stumbled and fell, and the creature pounced on me, its teeth inches from my face.

Just as I thought I was done for, there was a blinding flash of light, and the creature was gone. The alien appeared beside me, looking exhausted and injured.

"I'm sorry," he said. "I didn't know it would be so dangerous."

"What was that thing?" I asked.

"It's called a Vaxal," he said. "It's a creature from my planet that was accidentally brought here. I was sent to capture it and bring it back before it caused any harm."

"But you said it was the invisible bird," I said.

"The cloaking device was a side effect of the Vaxal's presence," he explained. "It made it look like a bird to anyone who could see it."

I was stunned. The beautiful bird that had captivated me had been a monster all along.

The rest of our time together was filled with tension and fear. We were constantly on guard, never knowing when the Vaxal would attack again. The alien finally repaired his ship, and I helped him launch it back into space.

As I watched the ship disappear into the night sky, I couldn't help but wonder what other horrors were out there, lurking in the darkness, waiting to be discovered

MysteryFantasyFan FictionAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.