Fiction logo

THE INHERITANCE - part twenty-two

Welcome Home

By Margaret BrennanPublished 10 days ago Updated 4 days ago 4 min read

THE INHERITANCE – part twenty-two ………

Welcome home

++++++++++

Kate felt the pull, a subtle but urgent force that seemed to want her to walk in a certain direction but there was nothing there but another stone wall. Yet, she was compelled to walk towards it.

“Ryan, I can’t explain it but for some reason, I think my grandmother wants me to push on this wall.” And so, she did!

Kate stood back as she watched a section of the wall move out and slide to the left.

“Holy Moley! Grandmother, you’re just full of surprises! Ryan, look at this!”

“I’m looking, my stor,” he said as the wheels in his brain turned. “It isn’t terribly big, but, big enough to fit a washing machine. I could put in shelves for your cleaning supplies so you wouldn’t need to keep them in the pantry. I could also put in an area in the corner to hang a broom and a mop. And, I can also make that back door you said you wanted. Kate, your grandmother was a genius.”

She turned suddenly and almost rammed her body into Ryan’s. “Oh, good grief! Ryan, you scared the daylights out of me. I didn’t realize you were so close.” She laughed as he stepped aside to let her pass.

“Ryan, let’s amend my list and add the things you just mentioned. I’m really going to enjoy living here, more than I already do. Especially since I don’t know what I’ll discover next.”

Looking upward, she said, “Thank you Grandmother, for trusting me with your home.”

The little cross around her next vibrated.

++++++++++

As promised, Mo knocked on Kate’s door approximately two hours later and between the three of them, on hand and knees, scrubbed all the old stone floors until Mo finally said, “Kate, I believe they’re clean enough to eat off. I’m making tea.”

Kate agreed and said, “Well, that’s enough for today. We’re all exhausted, and we’ll be truly sore tomorrow.” She slumped down with her back against the wall and looked around. Her eyes sparkled with an idea. “Ryan, I have a thought buzzing in my brain and want to run it by you.”

“Shoot, I’m all ears.”

“I love the stone floors but scrubbing them clean like this isn’t going to be a thing I want to do on an on-going basis. Is there a way resin or some other clear non-skid liquid could be poured over them? This way I could keep the warming look of the stones but have a solid floor to walk on and clean?”

“Kate, you finally have me stumped. Flooring isn’t my expertise, but I know someone who does flooring. I’m sure he can answer any questions you may have. If you don’t mind, I’ll give him a call.”

“Yes, please do.”

The kettle whistled and she and Ryan stood as Mo put out the cups. As she poured the hot water in the teapot, there was a soft knock on the door. Kate’s little cross felt warm against her skin and instinctively, she knew whoever was there would be friend, not foe.

Kate opened to door, and there stood a thin, noticeably young man whose sandy colored hair looked like it had been through a hurricane, and he didn’t bother to comb it. There was a large box at his feet.

“Miss Kate? I’ve a box for you. ‘Twas delivered to our postal service about an hour ago. Would you like me to carry in for you?”

Ryan heard the young man’s voice and walked to the door. “Tom? Thomas Byrne, well I’ll be damned if you haven’t grown a foot since I saw you last. What did you do? Step in Molly’s manure?” He laughed as he ruffled Tom’s hair and made it even messier than it had been.

“Yes, Mr. Ryan, ‘tis me. Mam said I had a growth spurt, whatever that is but it made my bones ache so bad. Mam laughed and called the aches growing pains.”

Kate asked, “Are you still in pain? I have Tylenol that will help with that. How old are you? And yes, please bring the box inside.”

“Miss Kate, I’m fourteen. Why?”

“Because Tylenol has restrictions depending on your age. Being fourteen, you can handle two tablets. That’ll take the pain away. I’ll give you a bottle to take home with you to give to your mother. I don’t want her to think I’m interfering with her upbringing, but I just don’t like to see people in pain.”

As he carried in the box, she indicated he should put it on the floor in the corner, then she heard a familiar sound and turned to Mo. “Sounds like Shaun’s truck.”

“Aye, it is. He said he’d bring back your belongings after he and the boys were finished with work. Guess they finished a bit earlier than expected.”

Kate whispered to Ryan, “What’s an acceptable tip for Tom? I’d like to give him something.”

Ryan placed a hand on her arm and whispered back. “No, Kate. If you hand him money, you’ll only insult him. It would seem as though you think you’re better than he is. Offer him a teacake or two. That would be more proper.”

She nodded her head and took the tin from her pantry. Laying the tin on the table, she said, “Tom, I’ve a variety of teacakes in here. Help yourself. I couldn’t possibly eat them all by myself, so please, take whatever you want.”

Tom’s eyes lit up in appreciation. “Thank you, Miss Kate. Thank you so much.” He grabbed two cakes, shoved one in his mouth, and carried the other out with him. She watched as he hopped on his bike with the cart attached to the back and pedaled away.

She looked at the shipping label on the box. It was from her mother.

Short Story

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatár10 days ago

    I like how she talked with the 14 year old. I have to go back and read the previous chapters. I feel I will get hooked easily.

  • Mark Graham10 days ago

    Good work. I really liked the ending to this chapter with the kid and the teacakes. That is how I got paid for mowing lawns and weeding at times from 12 to about 14 years old then I got paid the regular way.

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.