Fiction logo

THE INHERITANCE - part nineteen

Welcome Home

By Margaret BrennanPublished 10 days ago Updated about 10 hours ago 5 min read

THE INHERITANCE – part nineteen………

Welcome home

++++++++++

Kate was quiet as Mo drove her back to the B&B. Her husband, Shaun had fallen asleep in his easy chair. Mo said that rather than wake him, she'd drive Kate back to town.

“Cat got your tongue, mo chara?” asked Mo. “You’re awfully quiet.”

Kate explained. “Mo, While I’m almost giddy with happiness that she’s left my grandmother’s cottage, I can’t help but wonder why the sudden change of heart. Also, while we knew she had a temper, what we saw tonight wasn’t temper. It was, Mo, this is going to sound crazy, but she looked terrified.”

“Aye, that she did,” Mo replied. “She tried to mask it with her temper, but it was there nonetheless, as real as we are. I agree. There’s more to her story than we know.”

Kate’s slouch quickly disappeared as she almost jumped in her seat. “Mo, while I don’t know exactly what happened, I think it’s a safe bet my grandmother had a lot to do with it.”

“Well, it’s too late to go to your home tonight. I’ll drop you at Martha’s and first thing in the morning, we’ll speak with Terry, then head to the cottage.”

“Sounds good to, oops, there’s my cell phone.” Looking at the caller ID, she saw Terry’s name. She answered, “Hi, Terry. I have a bit of news for you. Oh. Okay, then you, first. Can I put you on speaker? Mo’s with me.”

She pressed the speaker icon. “Okay, Terry. We’ll both be able to hear you now. What’s going on?”

“Bridget just called. It appears she’s had a change of heart and doesn’t want your home any longer. In fact, she was quite adamant about it. Said something about throwing your key at your ugly mug. Her words, not mine. She also gave me a fax number where I should send whatever papers are necessary to eradicate any claims whatsoever she might have on the house and surrounding property. Said she’s left Aughacasla and won’t be coming back. Do you have any idea what happened?”

Kate began to chuckle. “Oh Terry, you’re talking to Kathleen’s great-granddaughter. While I have no definite facts to share, I do have my own idea. I was going to stop by your office in the mornring but I, now have another suggestion, if you’re interested. “

“I’m all ears, Kate. What do you have in mind?”

“First, before we do anything about Bridget, I would very much like to see what if anything she’s done to mo abhaile. I’ll be staying at the B&B tonight but intend to call Paddy’s Pub and ask if I can order breakfast to go in the morning. Do you think they can handle breakfast for three to go?”

Terry laughed, “Mo stor, Paddy can handle anything. Stop there first, tonight and ask for his breakfast menu. He’ll be delighted.”

++++++++++

The following morning, Kate stopped at Paddy’s Pub and was greeted by Patrick Doyle, the owner.

“Well, if isn’t my favorite customer. Kate, how are you this beautiful mornin’?”

“Very well, Mr. Doyle, I “

“Stop righ there, mo stor,” he said shaking his finger at her. “I told you last night to please call me Paddy. Mr. Doyle is for people I don’t like. Now, then, I’ve got your meals in the kitchen, warming. I’ll be back.”

Kate shook her head and laughed to herself as she thought, “Definitely not at all like New York.”

“Ah, here it tis, Kate. So, word gets around quick here. Has the old biddy truly left, then?”

Kate was surprised that word could spread that quickly. “Paddy, how on earth did you hear that already? She only threw my key at my head about seven last night!”

“When a stranger comes to Aughacasla and starts causin’ trouble, we keep an eye out and an ear to the ground. We heard what she was tryin’ to do. None of us were happy about it. The buzz here in the pub was, ‘what would Kathleen do?’ One of my regulars saw a blue Bently almost flyin’ down the road. He recognized her car and came runnin’ sayin’ it looked like she couldn’t get out of town fast enough. So, it’s true, then?”

“Yes, Paddy. It appears so. I was having supper with Mo and her family when Bridget arrived and threw my key at my head.” She shook her head in wonder, “Paddy, honestly, I have no idea what happened but knowing what I’ve learned about my great grandmother, I’m sure she had something to do with it. That’s why I wanted these meals. I’m meeting Terry and Mo at mo abhaile to see what if anything Bridget did to it. Maybe it will help us understand.”

“Well, good luck to you, then, Kate. Oh, here’s another breakfast pick up. Ryan, my boy! Have you met Kate, yet?”

Ryan Kelly walked to where Kate stood and smiled broadly. “Yes, as a matter of fact, we met yesterday. It’s nice to see you again, Ms. Sullivan.”

She extended her hand and said, “Ryan, yesterday you suggested I call you by your first name. The pleasure is reciprocol. Please call me Kate.”

He reached for her hand and held it longer than he intended as he looked a bit too long into her eyes and said, “Kate it is then.”

Paddy noticed the slight blush on Kate’s cheeks and the delight at seeing Kate in Ryan’s eyes.

Paddy coughed loudly. “Uh, Kate, can I get you anything else to go?”

“Oh, sorry, Paddy. This is all we need. Providing the she-devil didn’t burn my cottage down, I can still make tea and we can enjoy our delicious breakfast. Thank you so much.”

She paid him, picked up the box with the breakfasts and walked through the doorway.

Paddy looked at Ryan who watched Kate leave.

“She’s a real looker, isn’t she, Ryan?”

Ryan tried to hide his reddening face. “She is more than that, my friend. I think I’ll take a ride to Kathleen’s cottage and see if she needs help with anything.”

Paddy laughed vigorously and almost choked as he said, “Ryan, I would have expected nothing less from you. She’s meetin’ Mo O’Reilly and Terry O’Malley there now. If you hurry, you can enjoy your meal with them. I sincerely don’t think Kate will mind.”

Ryan picked up the bag with his breakfast and headed to the door.

“Paddy, thank you for calling me last night.”

After Ryan left the pub, Paddy smiled to himself and said, “And what are friends for, anyway but to steer to lonely hearts in the right direction.”

Short Story

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mark Graham10 days ago

    Still think you should send this to a traditional publisher. To me this is great.

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.