Fiction logo

The Ideal

The Ideal

By Emily TaylorPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like

Family members gathered around a 6-year-old boy and asked him about his dreams.

The little boy said he wanted to become a doctor.

Grandma said being a doctor is good because it comes with high social status.

Grandpa said the remuneration is also good.

Grandfather said apart from the salary, there are other sources of income too!

Grandpa said the most important thing is that it will be easier for him to find a partner in the future.

Upon hearing this, the boy's father, satisfied, asked why the boy wanted to become a doctor.

The little boy replied, "Isn't it said that doctors can heal and save people?"

We have come too far that we have forgotten why we set out in the first place.

Reflection on "The Ideal"

"The Ideal" left me with profound contemplation. In the story, the 6-year-old boy expresses his dream of becoming a doctor, and his family members respond positively to his choice. Grandma mentions the high social status of doctors, Grandma talks about the good remuneration, Grandpa adds that there are additional sources of income, and Grandfather believes it will make it easier for him to find a partner in the future. However, the boy's true reason for wanting to become a doctor is because he believes doctors can heal and save people.

This story made me reflect on why our original intentions for pursuing a certain career or ideal are often overshadowed by other factors. In the reality of society, we are often influenced by money, social status, and the opinions of others, pursuing things that we believe will give us a sense of fulfillment and success. However, in the pursuit of these superficial achievements, do we still remember the initial motivation to pursue something that we truly love and identify with deep inside?

The little boy's understanding and motivation for becoming a doctor in the story gave me great insight. His reasons were pure and selfless, driven by his care and desire to help others. This made me reflect on my own dreams and goals, whether they truly align with my inner desires. While I am busy pursuing fame and material wealth, can I still maintain care and assistance towards others, and can I remember why I chose this path?

The last sentence of the story, "We have come too far that we have forgotten why we set out in the first place," deeply resonated with me. We often get caught up in the pursuit of external success and material wealth, losing sight of our initial intentions. After reading this story, I have decided to constantly remind myself to never forget my original aspirations and to uphold my inner ideals. Whether in the pursuit of career success or personal growth, I will always ask myself: Why did I choose this direction? What is it that I truly want to pursue?

This story, though short, carries profound meaning and has prompted me to contemplate and reflect deeply. It reminds us to pursue things that we truly love from our hearts and to always remember why we set out on our journey.

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Emily Taylor

Provide an interesting novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.