Fiction logo

LOVE

love

By Emily TaylorPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like

That year I was in the ninth grade.

One day, a new English teacher arrived in our class, and she was very beautiful. The moment I saw her, I fell in love with her.

That night, bathed in moonlight, I found myself standing alone at the door of the English teacher's dormitory.

I was eager to confess my feelings. So, I picked up a half-brick from the ground and wrote, "I love you for ten thousand years" on it. Then I threw it inside and ran away as fast as I could. It didn't even take twenty-four hours.

To be precise, it was the next morning.

There was a school-wide assembly. The principal had a bandage wrapped around his head, and he publicly announced: "Li Wannian, the school security guard, is expelled from this school!... Don't ask why..."

No one asked why... 77

Even Li Wannian himself didn't know why.

No one knew the reason for Li Wannian's expulsion, except for me.

Reflection:

"LOVE" is a story that is both touching and thought-provoking. The story unfolds from the perspective of a ninth-grade student, recounting his infatuation with an English teacher and the unexpected events that follow.

The protagonist's affection for the English teacher is filled with the innocence and enthusiasm of youth. He writes a confession one night, filled with hope, and throws it into the teacher's dormitory. However, his actions lead to a bewildering outcome—security guard Li Wannian is expelled. This twist is shocking and prompted me to contemplate the consequences of our actions.

The principal in the story does not explain the reason for Li Wannian's expulsion, and others do not inquire either. This lack of transparency and communication left me feeling helpless and unjust. It sparked my thoughts on the abuse of power and information asymmetry in society. Sometimes, we lack understanding of the truth behind an event or action, yet the impact it creates can be enormous and irreversible.

The protagonist becomes the sole person aware of the truth, which bestows upon him a sense of responsibility. It made me realize the importance of knowing the truth and understanding the stories behind situations. Sometimes, we need to bravely question and explore, not easily believe surface appearances, to avoid misunderstandings and injustices.

"LOVE" presents a young love and coming-of-age story with humor and irony, while also providing me with many insights. This story tells me that relationships and communication between people are crucial, and we should courageously seek the truth to avoid unnecessary confusion and misunderstandings on the path of pursuing love and dreams.

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Emily Taylor

Provide an interesting novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.