Fiction logo

The Hunter

A Short Tale

By Atomic HistorianPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
The Hunter
Photo by Moriah Wolfe on Unsplash

Lying here, in silver twisted twilight’s fate. Face staring up at the sky. The world froze to my face. The pain, inescapable.

How did I get here?

Do I want to be here?

Do I want to be anywhere?

Oh, right. It was the fear that brought me here.

Driven out into this hellish landscape. Devoid of all visible life. But it is there. Frozen under the tundra. Awaiting springs dawn. When everything has thawn. When the world has returned to a fluid state, and we can move about again. From the earth to heaven.

But now I must survive. For one more moment with them.

Clouds crumple beneath my feet, as I drift through the sleet. Looking for something to eat. Oh how the cold makes my bones ache. Shaking and quivering, looking for a morsel to keep me awake.

Why have I forsaken myself to this place?

I was mistaken to believe I could conquer it all. I was poor, but I should have stayed in my ancestors’ halls. Now in the wilderness, I fear all that I hear. All I can only see in my mind’s eye.

Thought I’d strike it rich. But here I lie in this ditch of despair. Flakes driven like nails into my hair. Here I lie. Awoken to death’s calling. Crawling its way towards me. They said we would conquer the land and savages. Yet, I cannot even conquer my own death. Just another man breathing his last breath in the wilderness.

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

Young AdultthrillerStream of ConsciousnessShort StorySeriesScriptSci FiSatirePsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionLoveHumorHorrorHolidayHistoricalFantasyFan FictionfamilyFableExcerptClassicalAdventure

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Oh. This is wonderful. Well done, Will.

  • But what a way to go, pursuing your dreams, fading away in the falling snow.

Atomic HistorianWritten by Atomic Historian

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.