Fiction logo

The Hungry Mouse

Is it fair for the mouse to judge the owl?

By Alexandra ZellerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Hungry Mouse
Photo by Glen Hooper on Unsplash

The mouse scurried about in the underbrush. It was hungry, desperate for some food. The mouse had been driven out of his home by some Barn Owls. They had taken to the rafters and the poor mouse could no longer live in his home for fear of being eaten!

As he moved about the long grass, his old neighbor Barn Swallow was dancing overhead.

"Mouse! It's been so long my friend. I have no one to take care of the leftover seeds. The ground below my nest is filthy," she chided.

"Ms. Swallow! I do apologize. It's been far too long. However, since Owl moved in, I have no choice. I needed to leave. It's not safe for me," He squeaked meekly.

"That's no way to talk about Ms. Owl, Mouse. You know she would never hurt you on purpose. He's not just a predator you know," with a chastizing cluck of her beak she flew off in a huff.

Still hungry, Mouse was forced to continue his hunt for food. Even a few spare seeds would at least satiate the burning in his stomach. As he foraged through the reeds, another small mammal approached. It was Squirrel!

"Mouse! It has been a long time. Ever since you moved into the barn, I rarely see you out and about. How is life?"

Mouse paused his scavenging to look sadly upon the barn in the distance.

"Hello, Squirrel. It has been such a long time. I was living safely in the barn, Swallow would allow me to eat her leftovers, but since then, Owl has moved in. Although she hasn't said anything cruel, her presence left me feeling unsafe. I had to leave for my safety."

Squirrel rushed over and offered a small nuzzle of encouragement.

"I know how that feels. Before you moved in, we had an old hawk that like to hang out in the barn rafters. It's why I had to move so far into the treeline. Please be safe, you never know what those predators can get up to."

Mouse nodded solemnly in agreement. He couldn't help but think back to what Swallow had said.

"Swallow was upset though, she said I should give Owl a chance, that Owl wasn't just a predator. I know that, but she still makes me incredibly uncomfortable. The way she eyes me down and watches my every move... I felt so scared living there!"

Mouse's voice had increased a few octaves, and Squirrel hurriedly shushed him while trying to offer comfort.

"I understand Mouse... but there is nothing we can do. We are so small. They have all the power."

A rustling from the nearby pond caught the attention of the duo. It was Turtle.

"You two are being dramatic. Owl doesn't bother me. Nor does she bother you. You two should be grateful, she could eat you but she doesn't. Instead, she goes elsewhere. Such a shame you two are blaming nature for this. You can find food elsewhere. Just go deeper into the forests, or move entirely if you are that desperate. Do not talk so poorly of Owl for just living her life."

Turtle finished his words, before slowly meandering past them. Squirrel looked to Mouse, who was now huddled over, tears starting to collect in his eyes.

"Squirrel I don't know what to do. I've lost everything... but Turtle is right! Owl hasn't hurt me, and never did when I lived in the barn. It's my fault I do not trust her. I just want my home back! I just want my food!"

Mouse was crying profusely now, Squirrel wiping away Mouse's tears with her bushy tail.

"Mouse, we can only do what is best for us. We have seen what they are capable of. It doesn't matter what Swallow or Turtle think- they live their lives, and we live ours. We need to do what's good for us- what is good for you. Only you know what is good for you. Do not feel guilty for that."

Squirrel ushered Mouse towards her stash in the treeline.

"Live under my tree Mouse. I will do my best to help you. We can get through this together."

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra Zeller

A young adult still trying to find her place in this world.

You can follow me on all my socials!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.