Fiction logo

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

Finding Beauty in the Unexpected: The House on Mango Street as a Work of Art

By leon felixPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
Photo by Luke Stackpoole on Unsplash

The sun was setting on a quiet street in a small neighborhood in Chicago. It was the end of summer, and the air was still warm and humid. As I walked down the street, I couldn't help but notice a small, rundown house on the corner. It looked like it had been abandoned for years, with peeling paint and a broken fence.

As I walked closer, I noticed a young girl sitting on the front porch, drawing in a notebook. She looked up as I approached, and I smiled at her.

"Hi there," I said. "What are you drawing?"

The girl looked shyly at me before showing me her notebook. Inside were sketches of the neighborhood - the houses, the trees, the people. And in the middle of the page, there was a drawing of the very house we were sitting in front of.

"That's a really nice drawing," I said, impressed. "Do you live here?"

The girl shook her head. "No, but I like to come here and draw. It's a really interesting house."

I nodded, curious. "Why do you say that?"

The girl looked around before leaning in and whispering. "They say this house is cursed. That anyone who lives here is doomed to a life of sadness and misfortune."

I looked at her, surprised. "Who says that?"

"Everyone in the neighborhood," she replied. "But especially the people who used to live here. They say that bad things happened to them because of this house."

I was intrigued. "What kind of bad things?"

The girl shrugged. "I don't know. They never really say. But it's why nobody wants to live here anymore."

As we sat there, talking about the house and its mysterious past, I couldn't help but feel a sense of unease. The girl's words had gotten under my skin, and I couldn't shake the feeling that something was off.

But as the days went by, I found myself drawn back to the house on Mango Street. I would walk by on my way home from work, or take a detour on my morning jog to see if the girl was there. And every time, I felt a sense of curiosity and wonder that I couldn't explain.

One day, I decided to go up to the house and take a closer look. As I walked up the front steps, I noticed a small plaque on the door. It read:

The House on Mango Street

By Sandra Cisneros

I paused, confused. Was this some kind of art installation? A literary reference? I had never heard of this before.

Curious, I pushed open the door and stepped inside. The house was dusty and dimly lit, but there was something familiar about it. As I walked through the rooms, I noticed small details - a faded floral wallpaper, a creaky staircase, a stained glass window. And as I looked closer, I realized that these were the same details the girl had included in her drawings.

Suddenly, everything clicked. The house on Mango Street wasn't cursed or haunted - it was a work of art. A creation of Sandra Cisneros, a writer who had grown up in the neighborhood and used this house as the inspiration for her novel of the same name.

As I walked back out onto the porch, I couldn't help but feel a sense of wonder and appreciation. This house, once a source of fear and superstition, had become a piece of literature. A symbol of the power of art to transform the ordinary into the extraordinary.

And as I walked away, I knew that I would always look at the world with new eyes. Because even in the most mundane of places, there was always the potential for magic and wonder.

The house on Mango Street had

Excerpt
Like

About the Creator

leon felix

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.