Fiction logo

The green light of love

A romance story

By Hannah LovellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

It was a normal Monday morning in the heart of America - Ohio. The birds were chirping, the sky was blue, and the trees were turning a slight color of auburn as it was an october day. I was a young girl just out of college on her way to her first day at her brand new job.I started driving down the highway and I made it to your typical street light which was red at the time. Five minutes had passed and it seemed like we might be here for a while as it looked like they were doing stop and checks and there were like 50 cars ahead of me. First thing I did was pull out my phone and call my boss to let her know what was going on and she said just get here when you can. After that call was made I started to relax as I now knew I would'nt be getting in trouble for being late on my first day. I kept looking in front of me as the cars slowly started to diminish in front of me. What I saw in front of me I couldn't believe. Fabian Lee. My old best friend from high school who I hadn't seen in years as he had moved away in junior year and we had lost touch. I pulled up to the light as it was finally my turn, rolled down my window and looked at the police officer and he looked at me. OMG isabel is that you?

I looked forward at him, the boy who stole my heart back in high school and said yes I can't believe it's you. Fabian you have no idea how good it is to see you.

We ended up not only exchanging information - protocol, but we exchanged personal information and we promised we would meet up soon. As soon as we finished everything the green light showed and that was when everything changed. I went to work came home and messaged him and we discussed going on a date/meet up. We decided that we would go out this weekend and we made plans to go to a haunted house. The day came and it was the most fun ever. we ended up going through the haunted house drinking apple cider and eating popcorn. As we left we both bought candy apples for the road it was an extremely fun night.

Months pass and than years and we continued to see each other. Like any couple we had few fights but nothing two serious. Than one december night we were sitting by the fire drinking hot cocoa, watching christmas movies when all of a sudden he bent down on one knee and proposed. The ring was beautiful. We planned the wedding and decided to have an october wedding and we ended up getting married on october 21. We had a farm house wedding and it was decorated beautifully. Also we decided that our cat would be in the wedding and he was the cutest thing.

After the wedding we went on our wedding which was a week in italy. That week we spent the week going to attractions such as the colloseum, taking a gondola ride in the grand canal, and visiting the pantheon. We also spent the week eating delicious italian food and munching on gelato. Than we went back to the hotel and relaxed in the jacuzzi.

We got back to ohio shortly after and that was when the chaos would ensue. Good chaos as we would be newly moving into our brand new home. It is beautiful with a gardenfront view and a pool in the back.

A couple of months pass and I start to not feel the best had been feeling nauseaus for about a week so I did what any woman would do and I took a pregnancy test and.... it was positive. I couldn't believe it. Couple months go by and I go to get and ultrasound and I found out that we were having a little baby girl. Finally after 9 long months I go into labor and shes the most beautiful baby out their and we decided to name her elliana.

20 years pass and our family continues to grow happy. Elliana ended up growing up and going off to college. Than One rainy day I hear a knock at the door and what was before me was something I hoped I would never see. Fabian had been shot in the field and had died. It took time to heal but one day I was sitting down looking at pictures of us and our family when I realized something. All of this beautiful past happened because of meeting someone before a green light. That light was the green light of love.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Lovell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.