Fiction logo

The Golden Rule

By Kelly Schmitt

By DarkRandallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

There are two main rules in life: stay in your bubble, and don’t look past the screen. Its something your elders tell you, but you don't really know what it means. Most people shrug it off, and are content to live in the day-to-day fluctuations. They don't want to look past their own microscopic lives, past their televisions and their phone screens. Others, like me, know better. There's more to this life than we think.

There’s a book that claims God created the Earth, and all of Creation. Before that, there was nothing... nothing but darkness.

That book was wrong.

Well… at least partially. The darkness is known to us as the Abyss. The Abyss was all there was before, and all that will be when whatever this existence is, inevitably ends. It is from the Abyss all of creation is made, and to it we return to its unyielding depths when we become no more.

The conspiracy theory is that Space isn’t Space at all, but an illusion to the never-ending Abyss on the other side of the screen. It’s too large for our frail minds to comprehend. That’s why we only send the drones out now. Even then, the screens on the drones don’t show us what’s truly out there. We once decided to visit the moon just outside our bubble, and we deliberately crossed the screen. The ones who left, never came back. The beings that came back instead were reborn copies. Ask any one of them what they saw while they were out there, and they’ll tell you its classified information. Its classified because the memories are non-existent.

Sometimes when I dream, I sense the Abyss on the other side. Its dark of course, and I can feel that there are monsters unseen, large demons and other nameless monstrosities that swim through the murkiness. I've tried to get the dreams to stop. It's only been sporadic peace at best when trying to sleep. They always come back. They're repetitive, like I'm supposed to be doing something and I'm not doing it. Sometimes I get glimpses of the sheer infinite size of it, but I never try to take a second look. I follow the golden rule: I don’t look past the screen.

The glimpses flash between these screened dreams... like memories. Like I should remember these places, people, and events. Sometimes they're my own, but most of the time they aren't familiar to me. The majority of these places I've never actually been to in this reality. Then I'll pass somewhere new on my day-to-day driving, or I'll see a place or person and get this odd sense of deja vu, like I've been there or seen them before, even though I know I haven't. But I don't know why. I need answers, as we all do. What is the Abyss trying to tell me? Why me instead of someone else? Questions about our general existence continue to go unanswered. By God or any other deity we pray to. Nothing on the other side of the screen responds to our continued attempts at initiating communication. Are we alone, or is this only one tiny bubble in a million?

A friend told me once that if I was going to look, I shouldn't do it until after my firstborn is 25-years-old. She wouldn't tell me why. If I waited that long, it would be another 17 years. I'm not sure I can wait that long, but I'm terrified of what will happen to me if I look before she said I could. But I have to know. I may be one of the only ones who can look. I don't know for sure, its just a feeling. Who would believe what I saw? There's no proof, only my word. I also get a sense of trepidation though, because what if I do look and I end up like one of the astronaut auto-pilots that came back from that moon visit? Worse: what if I die, or dissolve into the nothingness that makes up the Abyss? I think it's a chance I'll have to take.

Tonight, when I dream, I’m going to look into the Abyss.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

DarkRandall

Hi, my name is Kelly and I’m a writer and reader of horror, suspense, and all things dark. Working on a mid-fantasy/sci-Fi novel, among other writing projects. Please read and leave some love!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.