Fiction logo

The Golden Egg

Why was Kitty so special?

By Rosy GeePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Yousef Espanioly on Unsplash

Miranda watched proudly as her seven-year-old daughter, Kitty, rummaged among the bushes in search of an Easter egg that she had hidden earlier for the hunt. Kitty’s twin cousins, Lily and Leo, were scampering around the garden searching for the other eggs.

It was a warm, spring day in Brighton, the coastal town in the south of England, and Miranda hugged herself as she watched the children darting around in their hunt for the hidden treasures.

“Tea?” Bev stepped out onto the patio through the bi-fold doors which led into Miranda’s amazing kitchen. She handed a porcelain mug to her sister containing camomile tea.

Miranda took it, smiling, “Thanks.”

The sisters sat down on the swing chair overlooking the garden.

“The house looks fantastic!” Bev enthused. “You’ve done a great job.”

“Oh, the architects and interior designers should take all the credit. I just told them what I wanted and they did all the rest.”

“Well, hats off to you, Sis. It’s turned out better than I could ever have imagined. It looks so modern and spacious and lovely and light, bright and airy. I’m envious.” She stopped short and took a sip of her coffee.

“All in good time, Bev. Rome wasn’t built in a day.”

Bev sighed. “I know, but Ray is always so busy at work, he’s never got time to do anything around the house and we can’t afford to get people in. Especially now.” She rubbed her rounded belly absent-mindedly.

Miranda looked away. “Who’s ready for the next clue?” she called out.

The twins were squealing with delight as they had found another egg hidden in a flower pot next to the potting shed.

Kitty looked crestfallen and as she did a little skip, her green tartan skirt flapped in the breeze. Her cream woollen tights and matching cardigan made her look like a little pixie and Miranda’s heart melted.

“OK. Listen up! I stand in rivers on one leg and wait for my supper to swim by.”

Kitty got it straight away and made a beeline for the life-sized heron sculpture that her dad had given her mum for her birthday last year. With the twins hot on her heels, Kitty rummaged around the base among the herbaceous plants and eventually jumped up with a bright pink foil-wrapped egg.

“I found it!” she squealed, popping it into the tiny basket Miranda had given to each of the children before the hunt.

“One last clue, then. Whoever solves this will win the Easter bunny!”

By this time, all three children were sifting through the vegetation looking for more hidden treasures. Auntie Miranda always hid loads of eggs and Kitty knew that there was always plenty of chocolates to go round.

“Are you and Michael going to try again?” Bev asked tentatively, feeling guilty at how quickly she had fallen pregnant after deciding to have another child.

Miranda’s face went taut. “No. I don’t think I can cope with another miscarriage. Besides, Kitty will be eight in July, and…” her voice trailed off as she looked wistfully at her sister’s swollen tummy.

“Kitty will have to be an only child, I’m afraid. It’s not what Michael and I wanted, but that’s just the way things have turned out. Besides, look at her. Isn’t she beautiful?”

Bev smiled. Kitty was a real character and a delightful little girl.

“Come on, gather round!” Lily, Leo, and Kitty ran towards Miranda and grouped around excitedly at her feet, wide-eyed with anticipation. “We need these in the winter to keep us warm, but they have all gone.”

The children conferred and Leo piped up, “I know! The log store!” The children scampered off down to the wood store where Miranda had lovingly hidden the end prize.

The sisters watched on as the three little ones each found a beautiful fluffy Easter bunny, exquisitely gift-wrapped holding a gigantic golden Easter egg in its paws.

“You spoil them,” Bev chided.

Miranda smiled. “You watch the children. I’ll go and start prepping for the barbecue for when the guys get back. I’ll expect they’ll be hungry after their round of golf.”

“Yes. Thirsty, too, I expect.”

“I’ve put plenty of beers in the fridge.”

* * *

This story was first published on Medium, where you can find more of my work. Why not get a weekly update from my village in England by signing up to Rosy's Ramblings?

If you would like to show your support by buying me a digital cuppa, please feel free to contribute. Thank you in advance if you are kind enough to support me through this link.

family
Like

About the Creator

Rosy Gee

I write short stories and poetry. FeedMyReads gave my book a sparkling review here. I have a weekly blog: Rosy's Ramblings where I serialized my first novel, The Mysterious Disappearance of Marsha Boden. Come join me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.