Fiction logo

The Girl Who Went Missing in 2o19 - A Mystery

There were 3 of them left, and only lightning, the jungle, lantern to keep them company, or was there someone else? Help us find her!

By Brittany BrinPublished 12 months ago 8 min read
1
The Girl Who Went Missing in 2o19 - A Mystery
Photo by Ethan Grey on Unsplash

"Latest News Reporting Shows Girl's Last Known Whereabouts While Visiting Amora, Peru 4 Years Ago, 2019, If You Know Anything At All, Please Contact Peruvian Officials With Information To Help Bring Her Home" - July 20, 2019, Peruvian News.

The following documents are writings discovered to be written in the missing girl Brianna's journal, found next to the Amora lighthouse, which was destroyed in a hurricane back in 1981. These documents are meant to be used for resource only to help find Brianna and bring her back to her family, and are not allowed to be used for absolutely anything else.

______________

Writing 1 of 10: July 9, 2019

"Day 1: my first day in Peru!!

AM: I just arrived to beautiful Peru! It's absolutely wonderful here with lovely people and bright colors everywhere. I'm staying in my friend's grandma's house for the next few days, until I figure out my next destination! This is so exciting! She's going to make me something called 'Chaufa' tonight. Can't wait!

Afternoon: O-K, so I just got to my friend's grandma's house and it is STUNNING! I just love the way they structure their houses with their twirling stairs and gardens! Oh and the best part?! Is my friend's grandma has her daughter and 2 grandkids living with her downstairs as well, and of course her husband! What a beautiful family, my friend is so lucky!! My friend's grandma is making the Chaufa now and I can't wait! I'm playing with their german shepherd right now while I wait and my her granddaughter who is a in her first year of college is telling me about the local shops in the area we have to visit. This is so great.

PM: Super LONG day. I'm waiting for the guest room to be available upstairs. The Chaufa was AMAZING!! Now for dinner they are serving a homemade chicken noodle soup. My friend said I have to try it, so I'm looking forward to letting you know what I think!!

BEDTIME: I cannot TELL you how INCREDIBLE that chicken soup was! AHH I am IN LOVE with this country! I can't wait to see more of it tomorrow. Tomorrow morning me and the granddaughter Ana, are both going to go to the local mall in Lima and then the little shops in the area for some souvenir shopping and I can't wait! She said they have delicious Crepes in the mall we have to see as well. We're also going to see a movie, and I can't wait because I am assuming it is in Spanish and that will help me get better at my Spanish!! Today was incredible and I can't give more of my gratitude to my friend's amazing family! Everything is perfect, but I am a little nervous sleeping tonight because when I walked upstairs to the guest bedroom I swore I saw a brunette woman staring at me, like she was curious or something, but when I took a double look, no one was there. YIKES!! It's obviously my vision from all the travel, haha! Goodnight and I will update you tomorrow!!

______________

Writing 2 of 10: July 10, 2019

"Day 2: We're going shopping for shoes!!"

AM: Good morning! It's 8AM and we are off to the local shopping mall! The mall is HUGE and filled with amazing colors and designs. I actually just bought my first traveling Peruvian backpack that an older man gave me, for FREE! He said I could have it because I reminded him of one of his granddaughters. I love it! It's blue, purple, and yellow, and with a small picture of a lighthouse on it in the jungle. Now, we're going to look for some crepes, then shoes! I'm looking for a pair that's trending online right now called the Amora shoes, designed by a local tribe in the Amazon Jungle here, so when I get them I can support a local tribe AND where these gorgeous designs, all handmade. It's a win-win in my eyes!

Afternoon: So we're at the crepe restaurant right now and I already got my shoes! It's already 12:30PM, oh fast time flies here!! Ana got me these shoes and they match the backpack the older man gave me earlier today! What's strange though is it seems like the older man has been following us today, but I told Ana it didn't look like him and we should just stay around the locals and in the public to be safe! It worked; because we haven't seen him in about an hour or so! After trying out these crepes, Ana and me are going to go to the local shops downtown where people set up stands to sell all kinds of stuff, from more shoes to keychains, to clothes, etc!

2PM Update: Hey! It's 2PM here! The crepes were AMAZING just like Ana said! 10/10 stars. If you're ever in Peru I definitely recommend trying out a great crepe here! Soo, now we are here in the local area shopping and I'll update you later about how it goes!!

PM: It's dinner time and me and Ana are having dinner with a local shop owner who sells vintage products for her family. She's sitting in front of us now and she's really nice, but something seems off about her. She's looking at me with a funny look in her eyes every time.. But it's fine because she's been telling us about her stories about being a shop owner and they're pretty wild! She's even mentioned she had a pet MONKEY growing up! How cool is that?!

Later:

5PM: The woman just read my tarot reading and palms and I was so nervous! She had an old tarot card mix with palm tress on the front. She told me all about my life, and WOW I can't WAIT for my future. It's so exciting! She pulled 3 cards for me in the reading, one was a lighthouse, the other was an image of a jungle, and the last one was a lantern. Before she could tell me what they meant she said she had to go and she would catch up with us later. She seemed kind of nervous but I'm sure it's fine! Ah, my dessert is coming now, be right back!

______________

Writing 5 of 10: July 11, 2019

"Day 5: We're in the jungle!!"

AM: - - -

Afternoon: Good Afternoon! I haven't updated in AWHILE! I've been SO busy! I've been meeting so many incredible people! I even met this incredible handsome man, held an adorable Monkey and got to feed her too, and also met 3 new girlfriends to be friends with and shop and cook with too! So Ana had to stay home with her grandma because she had work to do in her office, but told me where to go and which tour guide to ask for when I got here. So, I'm with Pablo right now and he's letting me stay in the living room for the evening, before he shows me the Hostel to stay in and everything else! Sergio is supposed to meet with me tonight and bring me to see the Amora Lighthouse! I can't wait!

PM: 4PM: It's 4PM in the jungle and we're on our way to see the Amora Lighthouse! Sergio speaks some english and I also speak some spanish, so our conversations are actually flowing really well while we're speaking a mix of english and spanish! I like him a lot! I get butterflies just talking to him, and he's very respectful, which I love!! - We're leaving at 4PM because he said you don't want to be outside at night in the jungle, so we're going to try to get there before it gets super dark around 8PM.

Later:

5PM: We're here at the Lighthouse! The beauty of the Lighthouse is UNEXPLAINABLE! It's white and red and rusted all over, but still carries with it the ancient art carved in the side of lighthouse. The pieces are falling apart, but the most incredible thing is walking up the stares to go to the top! The sun is still up so you can see everything and have a beautiful view of the city! Oh and he grabbed us some ceviche to enjoy while we watch the movement of nature and the city!

6PM: We're starting to head back to Pablo's so we can get back before it's dark out! The truck just broke down though and we're stuck in about 100 cars of traffic. The officers stopped us at the entrance and Sergio didn't have his license with him, so the officer told him to get out, and that we'd have to walk back.

7PM: It's getting darker out and we're in the same spot but we've been saved! A woman who knows Sergio came by and gave us a lantern since it's all she had and said to "Go North" in spanish, telling us there was a hurricane coming but if we left now we should be fine to get back before the hurricane; but it will be dark, so she said to walk fast, run if we could, but it is still very far...

8PM: We're half way back but we can't go any further because it's the evening, so we put the lantern down and took off our shoes and now we're in a random person's hut. The random person invited us in once it became to0 dark and said to stay dry since it just started raining now. What a long day! Definitely going to bed early tonight!

______________

Writing 6 of 10: July 12, 2019

"Day 6: Completely Flooded In The Jungle!"

AM: Good morning! So, my backpack is completely soaked, and everything is completely flooded. I didn't get any sleep!! It was pouring and thundering and lightening all night! It sounded like it was right above the hut we were in! It's calm now, but the lantern is broken as well. It got submerged in the flood as well. Time to get some rest. It's me, the lighthouse, the jungle and the lantern and the two men, Sergio and Pablo, and the massive flood, but I know we're not the only ones here, because I can see an older man staring at me from the hut 10 feet away.

PM: It's pouring again! We're going to be stuck here longer than I thought, the 3 of us. Me, 2 of them, and the lightning, the jungle, and this broken lantern.

______________

"Brianna Has Been Missing For 3 Years Now, Since 2019. Peruvian Officials Are Asking With All Information You May Have To Help Bring Her Home Finally To Her Family." - July 20, 2022, Peruvian News (555)-555-****.

Short StoryMysteryHorrorAdventure
1

About the Creator

Brittany Brin

An extreme creative writing enthusiast who loves to write spooky supernatural stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.