Fiction logo

The Girl in the Converses

A boy becomes intrigued by a girl.

By Hunter MachaylaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
The Girl in the Converses
Photo by Dhaya Eddine Bentaleb on Unsplash

There wasn't much to do in the sleepy town of Baylor. A weird name, I know. We were known for our sandy white beaches and the crazy senior week parties. The police presence was virtually nonexistent, and Ryan down at the liquor store would sell to anyone as long as you made it worth the trouble. My point is, this was a typical town. Nothing exciting happened, and I was counting the days until August 14th.

August 14th is the day I move into my room at Towson University. I'll be in a new city, around new people, and I'll be able to completely reinvent myself. Nothing was keeping me here, and I couldn't wait to say goodbye to this boring town.

"What time is your shift today?" My mom asked as she poked her head into my room. Her nose wrinkled at the pile of dirty laundry that found a temporary home at the foot of my bed.

"Uh, six 'til close," I mumbled making sure to keep my eyes on the screen in front of me.

She sighed and ran a hand through her brown hair. "You know I don't like you out that late,"

I rolled my eyes. We had the same argument earlier this week. It was my first time working the night shift, and she isn't too thrilled. "Ma, I'm eighteen and can take care of myself. Besides, if I'm not there, then Misses Jamison's daughter has to close up by herself. We talked about this," My tone was evidence enough to prove how tired I was of having this conversation.

"I just don't understand why a diner has to close at midnight,"

"Me neither, but she pays extra for the night shift, so I don't have much to complain about,"

"Fine. Just please be careful and text me when you get there,"

I nodded before she was done talking. I heard this speech whenever I left the house.

"Alexander!"

My eyes snapped to meet hers. "I'll text you when I get there. I promise."

After a simple meal of mac-n-cheese and meatloaf, I hopped into my car and made the ten minutes drive to Suzy's Diner. This place has been run by the Jamison's almost as long as this town has been around. It still had black and white checkered floors, red booths, and a fully functioning jukebox. During the school year, this place would be packed every Friday night.

I stroll into the restaurant, the bell rings to signal my arrival. I shoot a grin at the family of four as I make my way behind the counter. The next four hours are spent taking orders, wiping down tables, and making small talk with Abigail.

"So where are you headed this fall?"

"This small school that's about two hours away. I'm going to major in business, then come back and take over the restaurant,"

"You don't want to branch out and maybe start your own business?"

She shrugs and offers me a small smile. "I'm okay with coming back here. I happen to love this sleepy town," she teases.

I let out a laugh. It wasn't a secret that most of our senior class was itching to get out of here. I open my mouth to share my future plans when the ringing of the bell distracts me. My eyebrows furrow in confusion. I pull out my phone to get a peek at the time. 10:30 pm. Who comes to a diner this late? I turn my questioning gaze to Abby, but she doesn't seem surprised.

"Oh, she comes here every night. She always orders a slice of chocolate cake, but never eats it," she says with a shrug and turns to head into the kitchen. I stumble behind her like a lost puppy.

"What's her name? Did she go to our school?"

Abby ignores my questions as she pulls out a single slice of chocolate cake that had been stashed in the fridge. She turns to me with a small grin, cake in one hand and fork in the other. "Why don't you give this to her and go ask her?"

Now I bet you're thinking that I and that mystery girl hit it off. I bet you're expecting me to say that I'll be taking her out this Friday or that we've been texting nonstop. The truth is...I couldn't even get her name. I couldn't form a sentence without saying 'um' and when she looked at me with those beautiful brown eyes, I blushed like a freshman. It was embarrassing and Abby got a kick out of it for the rest of the night.

The truth is that I couldn't stop thinking about her. Her curls fell lightly over her shoulder, highlighting her cheekbones and her full pink lips rested in a natural pout. God, she was effortlessly beautiful. It amazed me that someone I haven't had a conversation with had this power over me. Even my mother has begun to realize that I space out more due to my thoughts being consumed by her. I wonder if she knows the impact she has on me? If she knows just how captivating she is?

"Alex!"

My head snapped to my mom, I blinked to clear the fog out of my head. I cleared my throat and sat up a little straighter. "Yeah?"

"I've been calling you from the kitchen for almost five minutes now..." She cocks her head at me and takes a seat across from me. "Is everything ok? You've been kind of out it these last couple of days?"

I shook my head. "Everything is fine, I just..."

"You just..." she gestured for me to continue.

I let out a small sigh. "There was this girl, a customer, at the diner the other night,"

My mom perks up, a smile gracing her face. "What's her name?"

I huff and shake my head. "That's the problem, I don't her name. All I know is that was wearing a pair of all-black converses, and she ordered a slice of chocolate cake."

Love

About the Creator

Hunter Machayla

I'm a college student just trying to turn my passion into a career. I love photography and creative writing!

Instagram: @huntermchay

Twitter: @huntermchay

SIte: huntermchay.mypixieset.com

Print shop: Huntermchay.pixieset.com/printshop

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Hunter MachaylaWritten by Hunter Machayla

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.