Fiction logo

The Gift I Needed

Fireworks shine bright at night

By Dalila FuentesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 10 min read
1
The Gift I Needed
Photo by Brett Carey on Unsplash

I awake to the chirping sounds of the birds, their singing in the high summer morning. I can hear the faint laughter outside, children playing a game early. It is summertime; there is no need to stay inside, I suppose. I desire to sleep in; however, I can say the sounds are a nice difference from my phone alarm. My chubby little tabby walks on top of my chest and sits down. She purrs, looking down at my face with her paw on top of my mouth. It's almost as if she's trying to kill me in my sleep. I smile at her taking my little feline down to the floor.

“Good morning Misty, as always, you wake me up at the right time.'' She waits by my feet as I sit up and take a moment to recollect myself. I feel a daze but soon shake it off by getting myself ready for the day. Typically mundane activities, there is no work during the summers, all of the kids are on vacation. Therefore I am on vacation. Still, I have to make it work while I await their return.

Walking to the kitchen, I filled Misty’s bowl with her food, and she began to gobble down everything. I go through my emails while listening to music. Getting lost in the slow rhythmic melody of merry-like music that relaxes me, my thoughts wandering to a place where I think of myself somewhere different. I hear a knock on my door that startles me from my thoughts. Misty even jumps from the sudden intrusion; she is usually highly perceptive. I open my door to find a brown box with a simple bow made of twine and a letter attached. My name on the letter catches my attention, so I take the mysterious item inside my home. The title is unnerving, to say the least; there is no indication of a name. It was sent to me, but there is no name. I think for a moment that maybe it isn’t wise to open a box that someone left it behind. I didn’t even see the mailman.

June 21, 2008

Fireworks shine the brightest at night.

You do not know me, but I know you. Who I am, does not matter, I haven't had many people in my life since I took my last breath. I figured I would take the time to bestow wisdom where I wished someone would have done for me. Don’t be alarmed, there is nothing dangerous inside. It is a choice, take it, don’t take it but hear an old person's voice of reason before choosing yet.

Just reading the first part already feels creepy, they know me but I don’t know them. What does that even mean?

Right now, you are only sitting in your room like a lonely sloth. You are letting the day go by you, living vicariously through your cat. Darling, it is pitiful.

Did this person just call me out on my shit?

Inside the box is a chance for something better, something that—

Okay, no, no way, why am I going to keep reading this. Whoever the writer is, well… they have no idea who they’re talking to. They’re calling me boring! Hah! I say not! I’ll show them how boring I’m not!

“Misty, we’re going out today!” My cat looks at me as if I’ve grown two heads and lays on the floor ignoring me. Okay, I’m going out today, so much for support Misty.

I am not boring, so what if I want to stay in my home, with my cat and wait for work to return. Why should that make me any less? Maybe I enjoy the slow, quiet lifestyle? Not everyone needs to have this high enigmatic adventure, and not be lonely! Well… I have people. Sort of, it doesn’t matter, I’ll show this person that I have a life.

I dress in my sunny dress that is colored in white and small pink flowers that stop below my knees. Misty sees I’m ready to leave this house and purrs near my legs wanting to go with me. If that’s the case, I should take my bike, with that in mind, I grab her leash and walk her towards my bike in the garage after locking my door. It’s an old beach cruiser bike, I’ve had it since I was a teen.

No matter, my cat hops into the basket waiting for me to take us wherever I intend to go. I take off with my cat as my companion. The day is really nice out today, everyone seems so surprised to see me out of my house that isn’t work or errands. I feel bold, excited even, I don’t know what I’ll do but I’m going to figure it out myself.

I ride into town where many folks are filling the space with cheer and glee. I look up towards the banner and today is the cherry blossom parade. I don’t think I’ve ever joined in all my life I’ve lived in my town. Everyone is dressed in red, white, and pink themes. Some of the children wear fox masks, the adults give their significant others a bouquet of blossoms, I don’t think I ever expected something so amazing to happen in my town.

“Ms. Hira?” I recognized the small voice, it was one of my students, Mai. She walks up to and smiles with her mask dangling on her hip.

“I didn’t know you like parades?” She asks me, I have been such a recluse that people assume I don’t live?

“I do, I just never knew about this specifically,” I say, I park my bike near a pole that is decorated in cherry blossom with pink and red ribbons. Taking my cat down with me while she’s on a leash.

“Will you stay for the fireworks?”

“Yes!” She smiles at me excitedly, I smile back.

“Where are your family?”

“They're showing my uncle, who’s visiting, the stands with food. He’s hungry and I got bored so I wandered off.”

“Let’s take you back to your uncle then.” I smiled back, holding her hand while Misty was on my left taking in the scenery. Lifting her small nose to inhale the new scents.

The streets were bustling with vendors, families, couples, a few animals, everyone was having a grand time. They were celebrating, eating and having fun. Most of the conversation is about the fireworks that are going to be displayed tonight. As Mai takes me to her family, she tells her parents I’m here alone.

“Momma! My teacher is here! Can we have her join us?” She asks politely, as the sweet, courteous student she is. Her parents smile nodding in agreement that I should join them. There’s a small flint in the mothers' eyes. It felt odd but I ignored it for the most part.

“Aneki, come meet Mai’s teacher. This is her first time celebrating with us.” A man, who seems young, handsome steps into my view with a plate full of fried tofu and sweet buns shaped as blossoms. He gives me a crooked smile, his eyes the color of the ocean compared to Mais families who have earthy tones in their irises.

“What is your name?” An American accent, he must not be local.

“Hira.” He gives me his hand for a shake and I grab only to feel a small shock. It’s not something I used to, human contact that is. Have I really been so lonely I forgot what it’s like to simply shake someone’s hand?

“Nice to meet you, and who’s this little fella?” Misty twists herself between Aneki’s legs. I have never seen her this friendly towards anyone, not even to males.

“Her name is Misty,” I say, I look and notice my student and her family have left us alone. Where could they have gone?

“There’s a carousel here for the parade, care to join me?” Remembering what the note says, I take his hand and he leads me towards the carousel, Misty behind me is curious where we’re going. The carousel is bright with light and pretty horses, it’s big enough for many riders to join. Some have a couple seats, Misty is curious and she joins us into the ride, sitting between us in the seats. We strap in and Aneki holds onto my cat so she doesn’t fall off. I watch in awe at the way he responds to my pet.

“It seems my family is trying to set us up somehow?”

“Oh, is that bad?”

“It can be quite annoying.”

“Oh.” That stung a little, maybe I’m not such a great company after all. Rejection hurts and I feel like crawling back into my perfect seclusion away from everyone. I wasn’t cut out for this.

“But I’m glad they allowed me to meet you Ms, Hira.” He gives me his crooked smile showing teeth, this made me blush and I can see his niece waiting in line watching us go round and round.

The rest of the night was wonderful, we played games, ate food, talked all day until night fell. Everyone was gathering in the middle of town and finding spots to sit and some rather stand. We found Mai’s family but Aneki pulls me to the side and whispered in my ear.

“Come, I know a spot with a nice view.” He takes my hand away from the crowd and I go through the back alleys. On top of the hills just a few miles away. He takes me to a place where a stone bench is placed near a tall cherry blossom tree in full bloom. We sit near each other and wait.

The sky filled with an over of yellows, and orange, the sun setting down and up comes the moon. The blue sky turns a deep coloring with flickering stars. A moment of silence between us, I can’t even hear the town, it felt as if time had frozen between us. I didn’t realize I was holding my breath when Aneki looked into my eyes. Then, silence explodes by the sounds of fireworks erupting in the sky with a cascade of lights falling in bright patterns.

Everyone, myself included gasps at the sight. I felt like I was in a trance looking at the fireworks. At this moment, it feels like summer may exist forever. Aneki holds my hand close to his lips and kisses it softly. Looking at me, I felt shy but it soon dissipates when he speaks.

“May I kiss you?” I hesitate, it’s been so long since I have ever kissed. Would I even remember how to? I nod my head, yes, placing his hand on my face. He leans in closer softly pecking me and then turning it deeper. I felt butterflies fluttering in my stomach, I feel my cheeks heated and I know I can’t get rid of this grin.

Neither can he.

The night ends with me going home, Misty even licking Aneki goodbye. He asks to see me again a mad I agree, I say goodbye to Mai and her family and return home. Once I’m back inside, I remember the box and run towards it to open it. But to my surprise, there was nothing inside. I grab the letter again a nod my mouth falls open.

I knew you wouldn’t finish the letter when someone calls you out. There’s nothing inside, I figured this would give you a little nudge. But knowing us, we forget things when challenged.

Us?

Please be kind to yourself, live your life, fall in love, Aneki is the one. Oh, don’t forget to give extra treats to Misty, we should spoil her once in a while.

Goodbye to myself.

The letter makes no sense to me, I’m confused, but as I take a look at the handwriting I take a piece of paper and copy a sentence. I feel odd, it’s my handwriting. I question how it’s possible for a letter written by me sent to me? But as I remember today and about Aneki and enjoying myself for the first time. Some mysteries are better left alone than discovered.

Love
1

About the Creator

Dalila Fuentes

Writer, artist, and creative overall.I write from fictional to romance to horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.