Fiction logo

The Ghost I'm Not

Short 3-8

By Devin Published 10 months ago 6 min read
Like
The Ghost I'm Not
Photo by Jan Huber on Unsplash

I started roaming the hospital in my wheelchair, looking for Ariannah. What my doctor told me made sense. It was still rude for me to come off really aggro towards her, even though I have no memory of spending time with her. Personally, I think this girl is crazy and delusional for even saying that we've spent time together. Because again, I'm a 3 on a good day and she's a solid 10. There's no way in hell that a girl like her is gonna go for a guy like me. But despite all of that, I still have to make amends with Ariannah.

I roamed the halls for what seemed like hours to look for her, but still no signs of her. After a while, I gave up looking for her and began heading back to my hospital room. I enter my room and there she is sitting on the bed. Judging from her body language, Ariannah seems pretty upset. I start getting closer.

"Hey." I said.

Ariannah looks up. Looking at her pretty face, I can tell she was crying. Her body language shown me that she was really happy to see me. But her face shown disappointment, not in me but within herself. Ariannah scooted to the edge of the bed as I got to her.

"Need help?" Ariannah asked.

I didn't expect her to offer to help me at all. I felt bad for everything, the yelling and the cold shoulder. I realized that she was being genuine. That everything she was saying may have been true regardless if I remember or not. She's still shown me that she's been there for me. So, I allowed her to help me on the bed. She sat on the edge of the bed by my legs. We sat in silence for a little while. We started looking at each other and looking away. It was almost as if we were both trying to anticipate each other's thoughts.

"I need to tell you something!" we both said in unison.

"You first." I said.

Ariannah nodded.

"I understand." she starts off.

"Again, as crazy as everything sounds, I've spent a lot of time with you. You weren't necessarily dead. Beings though you were in a coma, it makes sense that you were in an astral state. You stuck around me all the time. And I did the same, even when you were at your lowest. We shared a lot of things with each other; even the things we never told anyone. It's how I know you had second thoughts on committing suicide. You're extremely misunderstood, but you can understand exactly how others feel without having the experience. You've been done terribly wrong, but you love extremely hard. And I know that you don't remember this at all, but I told you I was going to show you love that you've never seen nor felt before. Even if you don't want me around, I'm still going to love you."

Everything Ariannah just said touched me. It felt genuine and honest and from the heart. I wanted to cry, but I couldn't. I didn't want to be vulnerable in front of somebody who I have no memory of. I bit my tongue for a second. Having a feeling that what I'd say is wrong, I didn't want to say anything. I took a brief moment to take in everything Ariannah had said. I looked Ariannah in her eyes and took a deep breath.

"There's a lot of things that I don't understand. Nothing makes sense to me at all, but everything adds up. For some reason, you know me. And you know me really well at that. But I don't even know who you even are, and that's the scary part. All in all, that's okay for me. Since I've been awake, you've shown me all the right things. You've even been treating me really great, but I haven't been treating you the same. And even now, you're still treating me like an actual person. Like... It's like you've seen me more than anyone else." I explained.

I paused for a second. I looked Ariannah deep in honey brown eyes.

"I don't think that I'll ever understand why someone who's smart, beautiful, and as caring as you would even..."

Ariannah pulls me close to her and kisses me on my lips. Her lips felt familiar for some reason. My lips felt like they've touched Ariannah's before. A moment later, everything hit me. I started remembering everything about Ariannah. From how we met to us having our first kiss, I remembered everything. I wrapped my arms around her, embracing her as well as the kiss. I started making the kiss a little more passionate. Ariannah did everything in her capacity to get me to remember her, and she succeeded. I couldn't be any happier knowing that she didn't give up on me.

Ariannah gently pushes me off of her. We're both looking each other in the eyes. I can see the pain and curiosity in her eyes, wondering if this last move she made was the one or not. I gave her a big smile. I smiled so hard that it had almost turned into a laugh. I pulled her in close to kiss her. It took her a second, but she accepted my kiss and put both hands on my face. Ariannah made this kiss more passionate than the first. After a little while, we stopped. We're looking each other in the eyes again. I grab both of Ariannah's hands while looking deep in her eyes. I make a fart noise.

"Womp womp!" I spoke.

I giggled a little bit. Ariannah lets out a loud laugh. My giggle turns into a laugh, just like the first time we did that inside joke. Ariannah and I couldn't stop laughing.

"What made you say that?" Ariannah asks.

"It's your favorite inside joke we have together!" I answer.

Shortly after, our laughter dies down. I go in to give Ariannah I hug. she didn't expect it, but she still accepted it. I never felt this feeling before; the feeling of being wanted. The feeling of being loved. The feeling that I know someone actually cares and sees me.

"Thank you for being here for me and not giving up." I spoke.

Arianna held me tighter. I could hear her sob a little. Everything she's done up to now, wasn't for her. She's done it for me. She's done it for me to notice myself. And I'm damn proud to have her by my side.

Short StoryLoveExcerpt
Like

About the Creator

Devin

Hey! My name is Devin. I'm 22 years old. I like writing realistic fiction, fantasy fiction, and fiction genre all in the first person perspective so my work will mostly be that. hope you guys like my content!! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.