Fiction logo

The Gentle Beast

The Tribute

By Samantha ShafferPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
The Gentle Beast
Photo by Sherise VD on Unsplash

The Tribute

Lady Alyona sat on a cushioned stool, waiting for her father to speak. They sat in his study, the marble walls were covered in light purple fabric that blew the breeze from the open balcony. She had been called because he had something important to talk to her about. She wasn’t sure what it was but was sure that it wasn’t going to be good for her. Maybe he had tricked some poor man to finally marry her so she was no longer her father’s burden. Lady Alyona did not want to look at her father so she focussed on the shelves behind him. Lower shelves were piled high with scrolls. The upper shelves had pieces of art and small statues. He also had paintings of his new wife and daughter. Looking there you would not know that he was married before or that Alyona even existed. After her mother died, Lady Alyona’s father removed anything that reminded him of his first wife. The only thing left was his disgrace of a daughter.

Lady Alyona barely remembered her mother. SHe had gotten really sick when Lady Alyona was just three. The child had to sneak to see her mother because the doctors and maids thought that she would get whatever her mother had. This didn’t matter to little Alyona. All she knew was that her father was unkind, when he was around. Her mother always liked seeing her little girl, even if that little girl was a little deformed and had trouble walking. Little Alyona would often fall asleep cuddling with her mother, only to be scolded later for even being in the room. Her mother would protest but the doctors would silence her and make little Alyona leave. When Alyona was five she went to see her mother one night, when she was able to slip away, when she entered she thought her mother was just sleeping. She tried to shake her awake but her mother would not open her eyes. Little Alyona got up on the bed and hugged her mother. The woman was cold and Alyona could not hear the labored breaths she had gotten used to from her mother. She yelled for her mother to wake but no response. Her screaming had drawn attention from the staff and surprisingly her father. A large group of people entered the chambers. Little Alyona was quickly rushed from the room, this time she did not get into trouble. She was set in her room and told to stay until someone came to get her.

A tear escaped Lady Alyona’s as she thought about her mother. Her father called out to her and pulled her from her thoughts. “Did you hear me?” he demanded. “I am sorry father. I did not hear. What did you say?” she questioned. “I said that the time has come for the Tributes to travel to Crete. I have decided that you shall represent the house of Moniades.” He repeated. It was worse than she thought.He wasn’t going to marry her off, he was sending her to her death. She just stared at him with tears streaming down her face. “Come now, don’t look at me like that. This is an honor. You will be among those protecting the people of Athens.You will be a hero.” he urged. “That’s not not why you chose me.” she whispered. “What?” he questioned. Alyona never spoke out but since she had nothing left to lose she decided now was the time to be heard. “You aren’t sending me for a noble cause. You wanted rid of me since I was born. I am a disgrace in your eyes. You hated Mamma because she wouldn’t let you leave on a mountainside to die. You blamed her because I was born deformed. Then you married that woman and she had done everything possible to get you to send me away. Now you both have your wish. You have one perfect child and your family name can be restored. You can finally erase every trace of Mamma from your life, I am just the last piece.” She spat. “I loved your mother. You are right, I should have left you to die. You are worthless and a burden on my finances and reputation.” he countered. “When did you love Mamma? If you loved her you should have loved the only child she left behind!” she yelled and stood up. She started to limp towards the door. “Come back here, I did not give you permission to leave!” he became angry. She stopped and turned to face him. “I do not care. You have already signed my death warrant. I am no longer your concern. Since I am going to die I will do as I please.” She countered. Then she turned again and left the study without another word.

Lady Alyona limped down the corridor towards her chambers. Her younger sister rounded the corner and saw her. She passed briefly then stopped and turned around. She rushed back to the other woman. "Aly, what's wrong?" she asked. Lady Alyona wiped her face and composed herself. "Nothing, I'm fine." She lied. "No you're not. I know you better. What happened? I thought you were meeting with father. What did he say?" questioned the younger sister. Lady Alyona sighed, "Father is sending me as tribute to Crete." she admitted. The younger sister gasped."What? He can't do that! How will I live without you?" Lady Clarina protested. "You will get married, make beautiful babies and live a long happy life. I have no use." Lady Alyona retorted. "Not without you. I promised when I married you would come with me." Lady Clarina stated. "No husband would want your cripple sister to follow you into your marital home. Don't worry about me, little sister. This is the only thing I can be good for. With a hero sister you will have your pick of the best bachelors out hter." Lady Alyona assured. "I promised to find you a good husband who will love you no matter what deformities you may have. Besides, any man who does not want my sister can't have me." Lady Clarina protested. Lady Alyona shook her head. "Clara, you have a bright future. I cannot hope for such a thing. Let me do one thing to give you a chance at real love and a real life." Lady Alyona urged. Lady Clarina threw her arms around her sister, "I won't let them take you away from me." she cried.

Hearing the commotion, Lady Alyona stepmother comes rushing down the corridor. “What is going on out here?” Lady Lycina asked. Lady Alyona released her sister and turned to her stepmother with a glare. “You speak as if you do not know what is happening.You know you pushed this. You have been trying to get rid of me since you stepped foot in this house.” Lady Alyona stated. Lady Clarina looked at her mother in shock, "You did this? You are sending my sister and best friend away. How could you, Mother?" Lady Clarina asked. Lady Lycina looked at her daughter. "My darling, This is for you. Your sister is a cripple. She is a disgrace to the family. This will make her a hero to the people. She will benefit from all the attention she will have." she explained. "How, by getting you and father more money for selling me to the highest bidder? She is my sister, the only person who doesn't see me as anything but a way to better their own position. I will not let you do this to her." she cried. "It is already done. Now I do believe your father would like to speak with you. Do not keep him waiting."Lady Lycina became stern. "As for you, Alyona. You should prepare yourself, you will be leaving this house in the morning" and with that Lady Lycina turned on her heel and directed her daughter towards her father's study.

Historical
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.