Fiction logo

The Frontier

Won and Lost

By Ash TaylorPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
10
The Frontier
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

My mother loved shows about space when I was young. The final frontier they called it then, where people boldly went. I dreamt of stepping foot on that frontier too, of bathing in the light of an alien sun.

We built ships to carry us to other stars - one last giant leap for mankind. I prepared to meet others like me, who dreamt of distant worlds.

We didn't know we were the last to arrive. The frontier had been won, and we found only the bones of those who came before us.

Sci Fi
10

About the Creator

Ash Taylor

Lover of fantasy and all things whimsical. Currently studying Writing and Publishing at UNE in Armidale, Australia. Living on Anaiwan land.

he/him

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read11 months ago

    A great cliffhanger to end on. You have me invested and wondering what's next. Awesome job!

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    I'm with Donna, I want to know more! 😁 Brilliant bit of storytelling, thank you 😁

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Ash that was a great read! I love the unexpected twist at the end! This felt very much like a nice set up for a bigger story!

  • Lacey Dearie12 months ago

    Ooh, that gave me a shiver!

  • Nikki Torino Wagner12 months ago

    I really enjoyed the twist at the end.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.