Fiction logo

The fragrance of life

The smell of the sun, and the satisfaction of life.

By wuzenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Living in the same building as me, there is an old man who makes a living by pulling a cart. He is a uprooted household. His original old house is in the north of the city, which was torn down. Even this small house, if he were to buy it now, he might not be able to afford it. Fifteen hundred and one yuan, at least, would be worth a hundred thousand yuan.

I often saw him on his way to and from work, parking his old scooter on the side of the road and sitting quietly by it, waiting for someone to come and pull his goods. The noise of demolition is everywhere in my town, which brings a lot of business to old men pulling carts that I doubt anyone would use nowadays. Occasionally I would see him dozing by the side of his cart with his eyes closed, resting like that when he was out of business, the warm sun shining on his head, on his body, and I could feel his peace and contentment.

I do not know how old the old man is, although he is very warm, every time in the corridor will take the initiative to greet me. His dark face has a warm taste of the sun, his eyes are kind, although he is in the bottom of the social class, but all day long happy, not resentful. One rainy day I met him downstairs to make small talk. Speaking of his income, he replied with a smile: "Enough to live on." Then he said, "Our standard of living is low. We only need more than 10 yuan a day." Once, I saw his appetite for flatbread, as if he were back in the 1970s. Only then, it seems, do people express their food happiness as strongly.

During the summer vacation, I saw him and his wife and two young children walking together, I was confused, he took the initiative to come and greet me, pointing to the two children said to me, "This is my daughter and son, daughter has graduated from the university, now Changshu a middle school teaching, the son in Harbin Institute of Technology to read military school. My brother spends all his money on his sister." I was surprised that this seemingly old man was actually less than 50 years old. It was time that gave him an old face. When we talked about his son and daughter, the old man was even happier. He proudly told me that he and his wife did not worry much about their children. Every day after work, the children had finished their homework, and they would help their parents clean and boil water every day, which made them feel very comfortable.

When I was racking my brains for how to educate children, but the old man in another way to me to make a revelation, perhaps life is the best teacher, many times, good conditions, environment can not play a satisfactory educational effect, but life can teach a child how to grow up slowly.

Life is to be enjoyed. If we remove all kinds of desires in life, keep a sincere, perhaps happiness will come unexpectedly; If we chase too many desires, then we put the cart before the horse. Instead of enjoying life, the good life torments us. That way, even if we live in all kinds of modern materials, we will not smell the fragrance of life. I understand the happiness of the old man who often sits in the sun with his eyes closed. It is the fragrance of the sun that he is breathing, and the satisfaction of life.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.