Fiction logo

The Fourth of July

when everything changed in under a minute.

By Natasha CollazoPublished 18 days ago Updated 18 days ago 3 min read
8
The Fourth of July
Photo by Jacob Bentzinger on Unsplash

On July 4th 2033, it was a sunny, warm summer day in Richmond,Virginia. I was sitting in my living room having a cup of my homegrown tea spiked with a tad of mountain whiskey with my former beloved husband Joe. Watching the news because at this point in time things were constantly changing in the political world. We wouldn’t go out much anymore. Not since the global attacks that had been occurring unanimously. I think all we did was drink to stay sane, or unperturbed. We were somewhat calm and collected most days. What used to be Independence Day or the the Fourth of July hadn’t been allowed to be celebrated for a few years now since new foreign leadership took over the White House. The time on the television was around 6:05 when suddenly, the power went out. We heard what sounded like screams and explosions on every corner. I ran outside to see what was happening, my husband followed after. A mother ran straight up to me screaming “My baby! My baby! …..My baby is MISSING!!”

As she began to pull me down to the ground in utter distraught, I held her arms and glanced around the neighborhood and saw others in complete irrational panic.

“My kids! My kids are gone!”

“My husband! My wife! My child…”

“They’re missing!”

I looked down at the woman crying and said “Ma’am, it’s gonna be okay, we’ll find your child”

She looked up at me stone-faced, expression-less, water filled eyes, and confused in disbelief at even the next words she was about to murmur…..

“I was breastfeeding when she disappeared.”

My husband and I immediately got in the car and started to drive before we realized we couldn’t get very far. There were about seven cars on fire just outside of the intersection of where we would pull out of the neighborhood, in flames, while stand-byers were pulling bodies out of cars.

Joe and I didn’t know if we should get out and help or what we should do but we decided to attempt to get to the nearest place of safety. We turned on the radio looking for some sort of explanation and breaking through we had heard about hundreds of air planes that had gone down. Into the sea, into buildings, into people’s homes. Hundreds! Not just here in the U.S. but Malaysia, Honduras, France and Bulgaria, one after another reports were coming in.

I looked over to Joe and said “Is this a terrorist attack?”

Joe responded, “It’s something bigger”

Seconds before he was pulled out of the car and assassinated before my very eyes, I’ll never forget his last words, “It was real, it was all real.”

I didn’t know what he meant until I saw the old heirloom in his hands that was passed down from his great grandmother, a gold cross pendant that he held tight the whole time we had left the house, until now, as I watched it fall to the ground in a pool of my dead husbands own blood. Hands on the steering wheel, I noticed the grim time change on the car dash, blurred numbers glitching from 6:05 to a fuzzy 6:66 then fading back in to 6:06 p.m.

thrillerStream of ConsciousnessSci FiSatirePsychologicalMysteryHorrorCONTENT WARNING
8

About the Creator

Natasha Collazo

**Studying Modern Journalism @ NYU**

Werewolf Writer

I get inspired at the mid of night

Stock market by day, howler by night

✍🏽

Inquiries: [email protected]

Instagram: @sunnycollazo

Do all things in love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.15 days ago

    Well done Natasha! I thought it was an actual story for a second, and I had to do a double-take on that date!

  • Shirley Belk18 days ago

    The Rapture....soon every knee shall bow and every tongue confess....

  • whoa, this had me gripped!

  • Whoaaaa!!! Like what the hell was that? Gosh it was so intense! And that 666 at the end, that was so brilliant! Loved your story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.