Fiction logo

Cam

As The Crow Flies

By lucyjbPublished 12 days ago 3 min read
1
Cam
Photo by Thomas Lardeau on Unsplash

just a lil mini series about some frens (pt 4/5)

honestly not my greatest plotting/working etc but a fun lil series to write :)

xxxxxxx

zuli-1/5

tyler-2/5

evan-3/5

xxxxxxx

Tyler is sitting in the car when we return and we all pile in with him, dumping candy and drinks and snacks on the floor and seats around us.

When I lean back I find Evan, Alma and Zuli throwing plastic candy bags at each other; I sigh, they are so predictable.

“One simple instruction you fools!”

Alma drops a candy bar to the floor. I say, “Pick everything up. If its not yours give it to me.”

They each throw a few items at me and I hold them up one by one until Alma munches on chex and Evan catches gummy bears in his mouth.

Zuli takes a handful from the salt and vinegar bag, then gives it to me, but I throw everything to the floor at my feet and connect my phone to the dashboard so Tyler can see the directions. I try not to let my eyes linger as he taps his fingers on the steering wheel like he does when he's bored.

Finally, we pull away from the pump and out of the parking lot.

Tyler’s eyes flash from me to the road and back again. “Cheetos?” He asks and I smile.

“So sorry, we grabbed chips instead.”

“Very funny,” He says, glancing from me to the road, “Too bad I saw them already.”

I smirk, “I wouldn't be so sassy with the person handing you food.”

“You're too cute to be scary, Cam.” He says, and I can see he has surprised even himself with the words, but he turns back to the road with heavy eyes and I look away, reaching for something at my feet so he can't see me smiling.

I go for the cheetos and pull the bag open, holding it out to him then snatching it back when he reaches for it.

“Why would you do that?” He says; his voice is mournful but I can see him trying not to smile.

I say, “ ‘Oh thanks so much Cam, for helping so I don't starve to death.’”

“Starve to death is a bit of an exaggeration.”

He glances at me again and I glare softly. He sighs through a smile.

“Oh, thanks so much, Cam for helping so I don't starve to death.”

“Wasn't so hard was it?”

I tilt the bag toward him and he reaches blindly over the middle console. In a heartbeat decision I take his hand and guide it to the bag.

“Cameron?” Zuli chirps smugly, and I almost jump; when I look at her Alma and Evan they all wear the same expression. I scowl at them.

“How much further is it?” Alma says, leaning up from the backseat. “We’ve been driving for ages.”

“It’s been maybe 30 minutes—” Zuli says, rolling her eyes. “Including gas, and were barely out of the city.”

“Ages and ages.” Alma says dramatically, putting her hand over her forehead like a damsel in distress and fainting into Evan’s lap.

He pats her shoulder with one hand. “Little Alma just has no patience.”

“I have patience!” Alma snaps.

“Look out the window or something, Al, lots of cool things to see.” Tyler says.

She sighs, “But how far could it have possibly gone?”

Zuli presses her lips together. “Did we ever consider that it might be long gone?”

“No no,” I say, “Positive attitudes only.”

She sighs. “If you say so.”

I take song requests and Alma and I belt out lyrics until Zuli threatens to throw us out of the car at full speed.

“You guys are gonna give me a headache.” She says, but Alma just sticks her tongue out and Zuli closes her eyes. We’re all quiet for a long time after that.

SeriesHumorfamilyAdventure
1

About the Creator

lucyjb

writer of words

spotify//insta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 12 days ago

    Well, for something that “isn’t your best,” this is really well written! Can’t wait to read more!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.