Fiction logo

The Football Star Fell for Me

Chapter 2

By Shauna Published 2 years ago 15 min read
Like

Previously on The Football Star Fell for Me?: Skyla laid her head down on the desk still embarrassed about what Chris said during his introduction.

Soon enough the school day came to an end.

“I didn’t know you changed my schedule?” Skyla asked Lily in a confusing manner as the two walked out of their last class for today.

“Yeah, I have a few connections through the school and had it changed so we can be in all the same classes!” Lily chirped happily.

‘She’s super popular, how come I never knew this?’ Skyla thought to herself as Lily wrapped her arm around Skyla’s shoulder’s gently since she was shorter as they walked down the hallway.

Skyla looked at Lily as she sang. “Best friends til the end of time! Forever in sync! Forever in line!”

She couldn’t help but giggle at her best friend’s silliness. “Did you come up with that?” Skyla inquires.

“I sure did! It’s our new theme song!” Lily said in a sing-like tone.

“What’s our new theme song?” Issac inquired coming up behind the two girls, wrapping arms around both of their shoulders making them stop in their tracks.

“Issac, where did you come from?” Lily asked him in a joking manner.

“Heaven, obviously.” He rolled his eyes, chuckling.

Skyla looked up at Isaac and when she did, she felt her heart skip a beat as they stared at each other, making Issac fall silent. ‘What the- why do I always freeze up when he’s around?’ Skyla thought to herself her cheeks burning a bright red. Lily glanced at the two of them as they were having a moment and a small smirk tugged at her lips.

Suddenly she breaks away from Issac’s grip causing the two of them to lose their balance and Skyla ends up on the floor; on top of Isaac.

“Well hello there.” he spoke out, looking up at Skyla with a smirk across his lips.

“G-Gah!” She squealed out, blushing shyly while scrambling to her knees. “I’m sorry!” She bowed her head in embarrassment.

Isaac sat up, looking at Skyla with a soft gaze. “Are you okay?” he inquired, scooting closer to her.

She nodded almost instantly in response. “What about you?”

He stood up, dusting his clothes off before reaching his hand out to her. “I’m fine, there’s nothing I can’t handle.” he jokingly said as Skyla grabbed his hand, standing up with his help. They both felt a spark when their hands touched.

“Thank you.” Skyla mumbled out shyly before looking over at Lily who stood there watching the whole thing. “You did that on purpose didn’t you?” Skyla frames Lily, pointing her finger at her.

“Who? Little ol’ me? No never!” Lily jokingly protests, grabbing Skyla’s finger.

While the two of them bicker at one another, one of the girls from this morning came waltzing over with her nose stuck up in the air. She purposely bumped into Skyla causing Skyla to fall once again. Skyla and Lily glared at her.

“Oops.” She spoke out, smiling evilly before turning to Isaac, her expression changing quickly to a sweet innocent look. “Hey baby!”

Isaac looked at her in disgust. “Hey Brit.” He rolled his eyes before pushing past her.

“Honey boo! What’s wrong?” She clings to his arm making him stop in his tracks.

“You’re my problem. Now, let me go.” He shakes her off before walking over to Skyla, crouching down to her level.

“Are you okay? I’m so sorry about her.”

Skyla nodded her head as a sad smile spread across her lips. “Yes I’m okay. Who is that?” She asks while peaking over at the girl called ‘Brit’.

Isaac sighed while helping Skyla up. “That’s Britney, my girlfriend's so-called ‘best friend’.” He huffed out as Skyla fixed her skirt that got ruffled up from the fall.

“Oh, I see. It seems like she doesn't like me very much.” Skyla spoke out sadly as Lily walked over to her, hugging onto her arm gently.

“Brit-Bitch don’t like anyone who gets too close to loverboy over there.'' Lily spoke up, glaring at Britney with a cold stare while gesturing over to Isaac.

Britney scoffed at them rolling her eyes in response. “Lillian, honey. I get stingy with Issy-baby because he’s meant to be with me.”

“You mean you are meant to become my stalker?” Isaac budded in, glaring down at her.

Britney gasped at his statement before forcing tears in her eyes. “Why would you say such a thing to me?” she cried, fanning her face with her hands.

Isaac huffed at her, crossing his arms across his chest. “Because it’s the truth.” He spoke out while getting ready to walk away however he felt arms wrap around his waist.

As he turned his head to get a glimpse at who it was he saw his girlfriend, Emily.

“Issy-Bear! There you are!” she squeaked out happily. “Where were you? I looked for you at the gym where you normally are but I couldn’t find you.” she pouted and let go of Isaac’s waist to stand in front of him.

“I’m sorry, Emmy. I was talking to some of my friends before my workout.” He smiled down at her, laying his hand onto her head as he ruffled her hair.

“Oh?” She turned to look at Skyla, Lily and Britney.

“Britney! What’s wrong? Why are you crying?” Emily walked over to comfort her friend.

“It was her!” Britney wailed, pointing to Skyla who had been standing next to Isaac the whole time.

“Us?” Skyla inquired in confusion.

“Yes you! You’ve been nothing but nasty towards me even though I wanted to be your friend. It’s because of Isaac isn't it? You want him all to yourself.” Britney accused her while Skyla stood there dumb-founded by what she just said.

She couldn’t find the words to say until Emily walked over to Skyla. Before she knew it she felt her hand hit her skin causing it to sting and Emily’s long nails grazed her skin. Skyla put her hand over her cheek as tears welled up from the stinging pain.

Lily let go of Skyla’s arm to get a better look at her friend. “Skyla! Are you okay?”

Skyla stayed quiet, processing what just happened.

“Emily! Why would you do that?!” Lily screamed at her, furrowing her eyebrows in anger.

“She deserves it! Especially since she thinks Isaac will ever be with a slut like her.” Emily huffed out in annoyance before turning to Isaac to grab his hand.

He pulled his hand away while looking at her in disgust. “Emily, you’re an idiot.”

She looked at him shocked. “What?”

“You heard me, an idiot. You listened to one person’s story without hearing the other and reacted with jealousy. I thought you were better than that.” He walked over to Skyla who was wiping her tears away to try and stop from crying.

“Issy-bear! Britney’s my best friend! Why would she lie to me?” Emily protested.

Isaac scoffed. “Some best friend you got. All she does when you’re not around is flirt with me and tell me that I belong with her instead of you and she lies all the time to get you to believe her.”

He carefully lifted Skyla's hand up from her cheek to look at the cut. Lily grabbed a bandage and a tissue from her pocket of her backpack before reaching it to Isaac who proceeded to gently clean the cut.

Emily stood there dumbfounded for a few seconds before getting frustrated. She stomped her feet like a little kid throwing a temper tantrum. Issac puts the bandage on Skyla’s cheek then wipes her cheeks softly of any tears.

He spoke softly to her. “I’m so sorry Skyla. Your first day here has been awful all because of these people.” He gestures to Britney and Emily while talking.

Skyla sniffled softly and shook her head lightly. “No it’s okay. The same thing happened at my old school too but this time it’s different. I have friends here to help me.” She smiled out. “Thank you.”

Isaac smiled at her before turning to Emily. “Talk to me when you’re done being childish.” With that he walked away.

Emily looked over at Skyla and Lily, growling in annoyance. “It’s your fault that he’s angry at me!” She yelled at Skyla before walking off angrily with Britney trailing behind her.

Skyla looked at the two before peaking over at Lily who’s shaking in anger. “That weird eyebrow woman. Who does she think she is?” Lily mumbled out causing Skyla to giggle at the weird insult. “If it wasn’t for the teachers and the camera around school I would have fought her in a heartbeat.” Lily states while looking at Skyla. “Which reminds me, we need to go to the office and report what happened.”

“What? Why?” Skyla budded in, confused. Lily stared at her in disbelief.

Skyla smiled awkwardly while rubbing the back of her neck nervously. “Because it was Isaac’s girlfriend. I don’t want her in trouble.”

“Skyla, it doesn’t matter who’s girlfriend she is. What she did is wrong.” Lily stated.

“I know..” Skyla mumbled out while nodding.

“Then let’s go.” Lily wraps her arms around Skyla’s arm, grinning at her best friend before dragging her to the school’s office door.

Skyla lets out a shaky breath as she looks through the glass into the office. Lily opens the door for the both of them. They walk into the office being greeted by the secretary.

“Hello girls! What can I help you with?” The young secretary asked as Lily and Skyla walked up to her.

Lily looks over at Skyla who has turned into a shaking mess before speaking up. “Hello, we need to speak to the principal.” she inquires while smiling a sweet smile.

“He’s currently in a meeting, however he should be done in ten minutes if you girls want to wait. Feel free to sit over there in the meantime.” The kind lady spoke, gesturing over to the empty seats in front of the office.

Lily nodded slightly before dragging Skyla over to the seats. “What’s wrong?” Lily asked while sitting, tilting her head in curiosity.

“I’ve never been to the principal's office before..” Skyla muttered out nervously.

“Wait. Seriously?” Her best friend asks in shock. Skyla just nodded in response while trying to stay calm.

“Well, wanna hear a secret?” Lily perks up excitedly which causes Skyla to nod quickly while looking at her. “My mom is actually the principal”

Skyla widened her eyes with her mouth hung down in shock. “How come I didn’t know about this earlier?”

Lily giggled at her friend's reaction. “Well that’s because I asked to keep it a secret that way people don’t try to buddy me up for privileges.”

“Oh I see, that’s a really good idea.” Skyla hums softly before continuing to talk. “How come no ones been able to figure it out? Don’t you two have the same last name?” she inquired.

“Well, not exactly. I have my dad’s last name since my parents we’re together when they had me. Though they did end up splitting up later which caused my mother to change her name.” Lily explained. “So it made hiding the fact easier.”

Skyla nodded her head in understanding. Soon after the principal comes out of her office with a sweet smile placed across her lips.

“Hello girls. I’m principal Carter. What can I help you with?” She asked politely.

“Yes, hello. My friend here was slapped for a misunderstanding and the girl was extremely rude to her in the process.” Lily says, pointing to the bandage on Skyla’s cheek.

“Oh my, do you happen to know where it happened so we can get the video proof?” Lily’s mom inquired, crossing her arms with a serious look taking over.

“Yes, near the exit within the hallway. Skyla was cut by the girl's nail.” Lily mentioned, matching the same look as her moms. Skyla looked among the two and couldn’t help but smile at their similarities.

Principle “I see and who was this student? Also, were they’re other students that saw the incident?”

Lily nodded almost instantly. “It was Emily Helton. Also Isaac Lynn witnessed the whole encounter.”

“I will look into this matter as soon as possible. Now Miss Skyla, I’ll need to speak to you privately and you too Miss Lily. However, since it’s the end of the school day, we can do that tomorrow morning.” She smiled at the two of them. “Also, I’m sorry about your first day here Skyla. It sounds like it’s been rough.”

“It’s been okay.” Skyla mumbled out softly.

Lily giggles. “Mom we don’t have to hide it from her but I’ll properly re-introduce you two. Mom, meet Skyla Brooks, my best friend and roommate in the dorms. Skyla, meet my mother, Sherrel Helton, she’s the principal here and a wonderful person.”

“It’s lovely to see you Ma’am and thank you for helping me out with what happened.” Skyla smiled shyly while reaching her hand out to Lily’s mom who gladly grabbed her hand, shaking it lightly.

“It’s nice to see you again, my daughter talks nonstop about you. I’m so happy she made a friend that she trusts so much.” Mrs. Carter smiled. “Now you two run along. I’m sure you want to mingle with your friends. Call me when you get to your dorm, Lily.” She waved at them after letting go of Skyla’s hand.

“Will do!” Lily smiled before turning her attention back to Skyla. “See? It’s not so bad, right?”

Skyla nodded her head slightly then opened her arms to her best friend who gladly gave her a hug. “Thank you.” She muttered out while hugging her back with a slightly tight squeeze before letting go.

“Ready to go?” Lily inquired looking at her teary eyed bestfriend.

Skyla wiped her tears quickly.“Yes.. I hope Emily doesn’t do anything when she finds out.”

Lily nodded in agreement while walking out the door of the office with Skyla trailing behind her.

“If she does then she’ll only get into more trouble. Don’t worry your head about it.” Just as the words left her mouth they saw a giant figure in the distance waving and running towards us.

“LILY! SKYLA!” It was Chris, running with a huge grin plastered on his face.

He wrapped his arms around the two of them, squeezing them slightly in the hug.

Lily looked up at him before squealing out excitedly. “Chris! What are you doing here?”

“I saw that you two left the office. What happened? Did you get into trouble?” he asked worriedly before noticing the bandage on Skyla’s cheek. “What? Skyla what happened? Did you get hurt? Who did it?” he inquired with a sudden switch in tone.

“O-Oh- uhm, it’s nothing really C-Chis! I just.. Had an incident with E-Emily.” Skyla stuttered out.

“Emily?” Christ let go of his grip of the girls, his expression darkening.

“Y-Yes..! She misunderstood a-and got upset so she slapped me.. And c-called me a slut.” Skyla mumbled out while looking up at Chris.

Chris spoke softly, almost a whisper. “That bitch.” he huffed out before shaking his head. “So you guys reported it?” he asked while calming down.

Skyla quickly nodded up at him while glancing at Lily who’s grinning proudly.

“Hey- by the way guys. I’m throwing a party this weekend to celebrate a new school year and for Skyla.” Chris smiled out happily while standing in front of the two.

Lily jolted up in excitement while smiling widely. “Oh yes! I love your parties. I’m down to go!” she reached her hand up to Chris for a high five who gladly smacked his hand against hers.

“It wouldn’t be a party without you.” He grinned before turning his attention to Skyla. “You down to come too? I hope so.” he grinned.

Skyla looked between the two of them before slowly nodding her head in agreement. “Uhm, sure.” She smiled out.

“Perfect! I’ll see you guys later, I have to head to football practice. See you later Lily! You too, Cutie!” He winked out, chuckling before running off as fast as he did earlier.

Skyla’s cheeks blushed a rosy tint at his comment. She turned her attention to Lily who’s standing there with her arms crossed while grinning. “Do you like him?” Skyla looks at Lily in shock from her question and shakes her head quickly in embarrassment. “Are you sure? It’s obvious he’s interested in you.”

“Positive! Plus I just met him, it’s too early to tell. I just want to be their friend.” Skyla smiled out, giggling.

Lily giggled with her friend while nodding. “Alright, well let’s go out for dinner tonight.”

Skyla looked at Lily, surprised. “What’s the occasion?” she inquired.

“To celebrate your first day, duh.” Lily teased while walking toward the exit as Skyla follows.

Skyla spoke up “Mm. Are we going to our favorite place?”

Lily nodded while licking her lips in excitement. “Of course, it wouldn’t be a celebration if we didn’t have some pizza and ice-cream from Sky Pizza!”

With that they ran out of the school with their stuff in hand. They get into their small car with Lily in the driver’s seat, scurrying to buckle. “Off we go!” Lily squealed out, pulling out of the parking spot. “By the way” she spoke while focusing on the road. “Do you plan on trying for your license, Skyla?”

Skyla looked at Lily, watching her drive before nodding softly. “Actually I do, I plan on making an appointment to get my learners soon.”

Lily peaked at Skyla slightly before looking back at the road, grinning excitedly. “Oh I feel like a proud mom hearing you say that.”

Skyla giggled at her friend’s response. “In a way you kind of are. We’ve been friends for a few years now.”

“Almost four years, right?” Lily chimed in curiously.

She nodded her head in agreement. “Yeah, wow. Has it really been that long?”

Lily nodded, giggling. “It really has been and now we’re living together in the dorms.”

Soon they pulled into Sky’s Pizzas’ parking spot. They catch a whiff of freshly made pizza in the air as they step out of the vehicle. Lured by the scent they walk into the shop, ordering themselves a large cheese pizza along with two chocolate sundaes before sitting in one of the booths.

“This is a perfect way to end our first day.” Skyla smiled, eating on her slice of pizza.

“Agreed.” Lily grinned in delight at her friend. “Cheers to a new school year.”

-

Word Count: 3124

Total Pages: 12

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Shauna

Writing fun! Leave me some feedback so I can improve! Love you guys ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Shauna is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.