Fiction logo

The first time I met a witch

The things I learnt.

By Christine LarkinPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I never fully believed in witches at first I thought that they only existed in stories that parents told you. The stories that they used to scare you enough to stop you going into places they didn't want you to like the woods. I was never afraid of the woods and I knew that I would always have my pet wolf Luna to protect me. I guess I only started believing in witches after I was turned into a vampire one dark night, I realised then that if it was possible for me to be a vampire then it could be possible for witches to exist.

It may interest you to know that witches aren't the big bad scary green faced women seen in movies around a cauldron crackling while making potion or magic spell. No they are humans that know many different things and a lot of them are very spiritual, some of them are healers, some will use different methods to heal such as herbal healing. Some do make spells but not in the way your thinking they don't cast them using a ward like you see in the movies, so you won't hear one say Wingardium Leviosa.

One person of this nature that I met during my travels was a really lovely natural free spirit and I met her in the woods. She was just camping under the stars no tent just a blanket to keep her warm along with her campfire over which she had hung a pot for cooking. When I met her it was a wet night her campfire was burning low and she looked so cold and old I thought that maybe she would struggle to collect enough wood to last her though the night as it was getting late. I offered to collect some wood for her as I had my axe with me, this would make it easier for me to cut enough without do to much damage to the surrounding trees.

Once I came back with the wood I placed some on the fire and left the rest for later. I seat beside her on the ground and we chatted for ages. She wasn't dressed how you would expect either, she had a long multicoloured dress on with bare feet and her hair was long and flowing with many different colours.

We sat and talked for hours, she never wondered why I was out alone at night and I didn't tell her on this first meeting, I just waited till she fell asleep just before dawn was about to break but left her knowing that she would see me again, I think somewhere along the line she guessed that I was a vampire but didn't want to push me on it. I helped her find some berries and leaves that I had discovered where edible, she taught me that these could be brewed into a nice tea. The tea was delightful and gave me a lovely warm feeling during that cold night. This was when I learnt about the cleansing power of sage. I learnt many thing in those hours but to go into all of it now would take to long.

I met many different witches over the years each teaching me different things, some became friends. I have learnt that salt is very good to have on me at all times because not only can it be used for protection but is very useful to keep vengeful spirits away from bodies. When I next met the lady from the woods she helped me get in touch with nature, helped me to realise that I was more spiritual than I knew I just had to let go off some of the anger that I had been holding for so long.

Before I met the lady in the woods I was scared of this unknown, but it took me to have this and the many other conversations I had to realise that things aren't always what they seem at first and it is always better to give people a second chance, because you never know what someone is truly like until you get to know them. You never know they might even surprise you.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Christine Larkin

Hi my name is Christine, I here to write stories that aren't linked to my site. I have a website called,

www.drynwynscommunity.com were I write short stories about my character Drynwyn who is a vampire.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Christine Larkin (Author)2 years ago

    Please If you like this story you can read the original version of this story and more on my website www.drynwynscommunity.com, plus I have a book published available on Amazon titled Drynwyn's Diaries sub title A Vampire's Tale.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.