Fiction logo

The Final Trip

Will She Make It Home Alive?

By Nathalie ClairPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
The Final Trip
Photo by Thom Holmes on Unsplash

It’s been over a year since I made the trip back to the land that used to be our old home. Part of me was terrified of what I would find in its place but the other part of me was more terrified that my husband would die if I didn’t find our literal buried treasure. Hidden on the grounds of our old home was a large heavy crate that used to be filled with our most valuable possessions from before. Today I return to make the final trip and get the last of our things. I’ll remove the last remaining traces of our existence in their world and the memories of living in a nice house with electricity, indoor plumbing, and what was then known as the internet. In those day we were spoiled and entertained with cellular devices and other gadgets. Daniel and I were fairly well off, but when the dark days came and we were forced to leave and rebuild, we took what we could and left the rest behind. I hid everything of value that we couldn’t carry, in hopes to be able to come back for it. Daniel and I have made this trip together and separately, to collect what we could in times we needed to trade for something important. This time we needed the services of Dr. Malcom Atkins.

Daniel had a high fever and severe abdominal pain for the past three days. Upon examination, Dr. Atkins diagnosed him with appendicitis, which would require surgery. Dr. Atkins was willing to give us a fair price for his services, but refused to operate without getting a hold of some nocteis, a homemade remedy as powerful as anesthesia, but it was quite expensive.

Daniel didn’t want me to go. He feared I’d be attacked by wolves or shot by an army man patrolling the boarder that separated us from The Greats in the town renamed Royal Manor. I’d made this trip before on several occasions over the past decade. It’s a dangerous trip because if I got caught, they’d kill me.

I left our home in Hope Springs, just after dinner, leaving Matty, our seven-year-old son to take care of his father. The night air was warm as I made the long walk through the woods. The area was peaceful, and I was met with a number of light breezy winds that kept me cool. As I neared the boarder, I hid in the shadows behind a tree. In order to blend in I wore the last remnants of clothing I owned from before. This included a pair of skinny jeans, a beautiful lavender blouse, high end sneakers, some fake diamond earrings, and a designer purse.

As I moved through the woods, my heart was racing. I was only feet away from the electric fence. There were two giant men holding rifles, wearing traditional army fatigues, laughing and talking without a care in the world. I searched for the hole in the fence that would allow me to pass through.

I gasped silently when I realized it was gone. They fixed it. It was boarded up and was now completely closed off. I had no idea how I would get over the fence and past the guards. I can’t do this. This isn’t going to work. I panicked.

I stood behind the tree and watched the guards for what seemed like hours. I needed to distract them somehow, but even if I did how would I get over the fence. I looked around and searched my brain for an idea, prayed for something to happen that would get me over the fence undetected.

I noticed a tree that was less than a foot away from the fence and some of its branches went over the other side of the fence. Suddenly I heard the howl of night wolves and felt fear coursing through my body. I looked to see where it was coming from. I saw nothing, but I heard it again. I forced myself to breath. I’d never come face to face with a night wolf before and I prayed this would not be the first time. The guards were now looking around, trying to figure out where it was. Slowly the two men began to look around and move in the direction of the howls, away from me. Now was my chance.

Quickly I ran to the tree. I reached up and grabbed a low hanging branch and attempted to pull myself up in order to climb the tree and get on top of the branch. I struggled to pull myself up. Another howl from the night wolf, felt closer, and I knew I was running out of time before the guards found it, killed it, and returned to their post. I took a deep breath and used all my strength to pull myself up, but to no avail. I was so close to the gate that I wondered if there was a way for me to climb it without getting shocked. I grabbed hold of the branch once again. This time lifting my legs high enough so I could swing myself over to the other side. I knew if I was going to do this, I had to do it quick. I took a deep breath, swung myself a few times as if on monkey bars, and propelled myself over the fence. I had just barley reached the other side of the fence, landing on my butt. On the way down I scrapped my back on the fence, tearing my blouse, and resulting in a painful shock. I had to bite down in order to not scream out in pain.

Another howl and I knew the night wolf was close. Adrenaline kicked in and pushed me to get up and run as quickly and quietly as possible towards the town. About two miles later, I was finally there. Royal Manor looked so much like a normal town before the dark days with concrete roads and sidewalks. The houses on this side were not luxurious but they were stable and had both running water and electricity.

It was well after curfew so the streets were empty. There were no street-lights and so the moon was the only light I had to see where I was going. Quickly I walked down back streets towards my old home, what was now known as the town square, where they held town meetings and the celebrities that inhabited the area performed daily. The adrenaline was waring off and my entire back and bottom ached, making it difficult for me to walk. I sat on the ground in the dark and fished a hand through my purse. When I found my flask, I took several swigs of the warm well water. I then searched through my bag and found a small vile of oil. The oil was infused with a powerful herb that was meant to numb pain. I took a few drops of it by mouth and then rubbed a small amount on my lower back. The streets were still quiet and empty and I prayed I would continue to go unnoticed as I waited for the herb to kick in.

About fifteen minutes later I felt okay enough to continue. I wasn’t far from the town square but as I got closer fear knotted up my stomach. I took some deep breaths and kept walking, making sure to pay careful attention to my surroundings. A smaller version of what was once my house was now the main building in the square. Behind the main building was the shed Daniel used to work in. It was exactly the same as it had been. Quickly I made my way to the shed. I listened to make sure nobody was in the main building. I knew the other army men would be patrolling the area around the town square so I had to be careful. Once it felt safe, I used a pin to unlock the lock on the shed and slip inside. Inside the shed was pitch black. I fished around inside my purse for a mini flashlight, one of the few possessions I kept from before. Using the tiny light, I could see the shed was being used as storage for the props and costumes for the performances. This annoyed and frustrated me, that these men and women, formerly referred to as the 1% were living fairly comfortable lives, while the lessers like myself and the others in my village were exiled and forced to rebuild with no help. All we had was each other.

I listened for any noise outside, before I proceeded to remove the floorboards against the back wall. There lied the huge crate with our possessions. It was nearly empty now, which was both scary and a relief. I knew I’d never have to make this trip again, but I also knew I’d have to be extra careful with the things that we had left. The first thing my eyes landed on was a heart-shaped locket. Slowly I took it out, looked at the locket my mother gave me as a little girl. A picture of my now deceased mother and father was inside and my heart ached. I also found the promise ring Daniel gave me in high school, my father’s watch, some basic tools, a beautiful sunflower pendant, several rosaries, more pieces of jewelry, and a few books. I looked at and admired each item as I tucked them away into my purse.

I felt tired and weak and wanted to take a nap in the shed before heading back but I knew that was too risky. I had no idea how I would get back across the fence again. I thought about Daniel and Matty and hoped and prayed they were alright. Among the costumes I saw a large fur coat. I grabbed it and put it on. I could put the fur coat over the electric fence and use it as a barrier as I climbed over. I said a small prayer of thanks as this plan came together in my mind. I took a few more swigs of water from my flask and started on my last trip back.

As I arrived to the guard’s post, coat in hand, I noticed there was only one now. I waited for a moment, something to distract him long enough for me to get over the fence. Forever passed and nothing seemed to happen. In a few hours, they would be changing shifts, but that window was too brief, and I’d most likely get shot if I tried.

Inside my purse I dug around for my father’s lighter and picked out one of the books. I looked at the old, tattered copy of The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks and whispered, “I’m sorry.” I lit the book on fire and moved as close to the guard as I possibly could without being seen and with one final deep breath, I threw the burning book at him. It hit him in the back of his neck. His collar caught fire and I watched as he yelled and frantically tried to put the fire out. I had to hurry, other guards would be by to help him. I ran as quietly as I could to the fence. Quickly I threw the coat over the fence and climbed it as fast as I could. I stumbled a little but didn’t fall. I didn’t look behind me as I ran through the woods, but I could hear the guard’s screams getting quieter and quieter behind me. When I was breathless and it was quiet, I stopped running and started walking, four miles until home.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Nathalie Clair

I love a good story, whether it's a book, a movie, a play. I love reading/ watching interesting characters develop & drama unfold. As a writer I create that world. I create that drama. IG: @positivelyhealthyvibes Twitter: NATHALIE_CLAIR1

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.