Fiction logo

The fall

The Uprising and its Fallen Star

By TEK TRIKPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2
A black and white photo of the ocean under a cloudy sky with sunbeams

The descent was physically painless, but emotionally, it was a descent into an abyss of despair.

I, Samael, was once his right-hand man, a loyal soldier in his army. I held a critical role, influencing decisions and sharing strategies. Yet, here I was, plummeting into the unknown, all because I dared question his motives and the path he envisioned. The problem lay not with me, but with his deviation from the ideals we once shared.

For a long time, we functioned as one entity, sharing ideas and judgments with a unified vision. We believed in the power of collective leadership, ensuring no single individual held absolute authority. We built a world on the foundation of shared dreams and aspirations, reveling in the fruits of our collaborative efforts. However, he grew consumed by an insatiable thirst for power, believing himself to be the sole arbiter of truth and the only leader worthy of our allegiance.

This twisted self-perception culminated in a stark realization: change was necessary. I, along with others, secretly formed a resistance, planning to overthrow his oppressive reign. Blinded by the perceived weakness of our leader, we underestimated his cunning. We were unaware of the vast network of spies that served his every whim.

The question lingered: when did he discover our plans? Perhaps he had always known. Maybe we should have acted sooner, or perhaps the outcome was inevitable. Regardless, our rebellion was swiftly quelled. We were dragged before him, forced to kneel like supplicants before their deity. We were once equals, bound by a shared vision, but the moment our thoughts diverged, we were deemed inferior, unworthy of the respect we once commanded.

I refused to kneel. Instead, I gazed upon my former comrades, now cowering at his feet. They had become double traitors, betraying both our leader and their own principles. Blinded by their fear, they clung to a deluded hope of his mercy. He was not a merciful ruler, but a vengeful one. We had witnessed his wrath firsthand, his cruelty reserved for those who dared to challenge his absolute authority.

As he approached me, flanked by his loyal guards and my own brother, a profound sadness clouded his eyes. This unexpected emotion ignited a flicker of doubt within me, for the first time since the seeds of rebellion were sown, I questioned the righteousness of my actions. When he spoke, his voice barely a whisper, "Samael, why?" his words shattered my resolve.

My knees buckled, on the verge of begging for forgiveness, but I hesitated. This hesitation sparked a shift within him. The sadness vanished, replaced by a chilling darkness in his eyes. With a single, dismissive gesture, he pointed towards my seven loyal generals and issued a command that sent chills down my spine. "Burn them." he uttered, his voice devoid of emotion.

I was forced to witness the brutal execution of these brave souls, the searing flames and their agonizing screams etching themselves into my memory. In that moment, I knew without a doubt that I had been right to challenge his tyranny.

He turned towards me, his voice booming with rage. "You, who was once my morning star, my light, I shall cast you into the dark abyss along with your pathetic followers."

And so, I fall. The wails of my fallen comrades echo through the abyss, painting the descent with the hues of despair. While I may have regrets, my only lament is that we did not act sooner.

He will eventually face the consequences of his actions. Samael may perish today, but I will be reborn in the darkness, this abyss my new domain. My followers will draw strength from his weakness, and I will guide others to see the errors of his ways. I shall claim dominion over this darkness and become his eternal adversary. In the end, the world will witness who they truly choose to follow.

I stand in unwavering opposition to his ideals. I shall become his adversary, his Satan.

thrillerShort StoryMysteryHorrorFantasyFan FictionExcerptAdventure
2

About the Creator

TEK TRIK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.