Fiction logo

The Exhibit

Caught in space

By Lily CaudillPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1
The Exhibit
Photo by Artyom Kim on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. I had watched as many space documentaries as streaming services had to offer in the year 2020. Some were better than others I admit, but it was quite the obsession I had. I poured myself a glass of wine and snuggled into my bed. I sat back and pressed play on my laptop on the latest film I had found. I had nowhere to be and I had a long boring night ahead of me. It was then I looked out the window and saw the stars shining bright. I paused my movie and opened the doors to the balcony of my little apartment. I stepped out into the night air and felt a cool summer breeze on my skin. It was quite refreshing. I hadn’t been outside of the apartment all day. I sat on my benched and looked into the sky with my newfound love of the stars. It was then I noticed one shining a little brighter than the rest. I watched as it seemed to grow bigger and closer to earth. I thought it must be an airplane, but it seemed too large for that. I lost track of time as it grew brighter. I watched as almost seemed to be hovering over my town, then my neighborhood, and then me. My balcony had a euphoric glow. I realized the light wasn’t far away at all and it was heading toward me. I felt glee and fear simultaneously. My heart was racing like I was in love. The ball slowly floated in front of my face. My vision had been blurred with its brightness. Then I saw a rainbow of colors that faded to a black and white spiral that spun like a Farris wheel at the circus. I stared into the spiral and watched it move. I didn’t know if it was wrong for doing, but I felt no control over my mind. I was frightened but wanted to keep staring. My body was paralyzed and I couldn’t tell if my eyes were open or shut. It was then I heard a voice.

“Open your eyes Anna” I heard in a male's voice. It startled me because it was unfamiliar and I still couldn’t see.

When my vision became clear I was in a room like my apartment but it was luxurious. The blankets on my bed were lush and the pillows were piled on like clouds. I ran across the hall to my kitchen. It was complete with fruits and vegetables and a fridge that was completely full. My wine rack was no longer containing a single red wine, but contained wine from places I had never even heard of. I then ran back to my closet. It was full of gowns, and dresses I had only ever dreamed of having. I reached out and touched the fabric of one of the dresses and instead of feeling harsh, it felt soft. It was then it occurred to be. Was I dead? Was this heaven? Everything was perfect, but I was completely alone. I wasn’t supposed to be alone in heaven.

I thought for a moment, closed my eyes, and thought about waking up, but nothing happened or changed when I opened my eyes. I was still in this perfect apartmnet alone. I sat down on the bed and decided to try to sleep, this must be a strange dream I had to shake. It was then my television lit up. It had also grown in size.

“PLAYTIME MAKE YOUR WAY TO THE DOOR” read the screen in large block letters. I watched my door slowly open to reveal the bright sun. I walked to the door and walked out. Outside what would normally be a busy city filled with smog looked to be a park filled with people in lavish clothing. I took a step out my door not knowing what to expect.

I walked to a women sitting on a bench that looked to be in her 20s reading a book. She wore a hat like it was Easter Sunday. Her dark skin was beautiful in the purple sundress she wore. She was very elegant but not exactly in the way everyone else was. She looked more approachable.

I was worried I might frighten her with my long black hair, tattoos and blood red nails. I perfered a more masculine appearance then most girls I knew.

“Excuse me, but do you know where we are?” I ask in a soft voice not to startle her.

She looks up from her book into my eyes and then her eyes soften like she feels pity for me. “You’re new” She states while not taking her eyes off me.

She extends her hand. “I’m Abigail and welcome to the zoo”.

I shake her hand, but still very confused. “Where is the zoo?” I ask.

“You’re looking at it darling” She responds and takes her hand across the horizon.

“We are IN a zoo?” I ask

She chuckles and lays her book on the bench. “Sweet pea I don’t exactly how to make it any clearer but WE are the zoo” She responds.

I sat in disbelief looking around me.

“Don’t worry honey, I’ve been here for 2 years. You will never go hungry, you will never be thirsty you’ll come to have a family here, but you won’t ever leave. It’s definitely not the worst it can me.” She responds

I completely in shock sit back on the bench. “Who took us?” I ask

“Not completely sure to be honest,” She said quickly.

“Whoever they are they are really smart, way smarter than any of us. They watch us and somehow when you think of something you want most of the time it will appear. Think of something you like to eat” She said

I thought of sushi of the best sushi I could imagine then opened my eyes. I looked around and there it was in front of me a plate of spicy crunchy yellow tail perfectly prepared.

“Ew. Anything you can imagine and you wanted raw fish” Abigail uddered in disgust.

I was humored by her response. I looked down at her book and she was reading the Christain Bible. “Do you think this is heaven?” I ask

She shook her head. “This place isn’t all sunshine and rainbows baby, it’s just your first day and playtime ends here soon. I think that's enough for one day” She said

The shy started quickly turning dark and I noticed people running back to their apartments. I looked back at Abigail and she had begun walking fast in opposite direction.

I noticed I was alone so I quickly ran to my apartment and shut the door as the rain was hitting my back.

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Lily Caudill

I take inspiration from my family roots in The Appalachian Mountains of Kentucky. You will find that my works have a darker undertones with a dash of humor. I am currently working on a novel Conflict of Interest. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.