Fiction logo

The Eon

''Look for the one with God between their shoulders''

By KaiPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1
The Eon
Photo by Graham Holtshausen on Unsplash

The Eon

‘’Look for the one with God between their shoulders.’’ A voice says.

Smoke strangles along the distance of a waning day. I look around and then up to the sky. Night is almost here, the purple and blue bleeding into the orange like claws tearing into flesh. How greedy. I take a deep breath feeling the thickness of the air in my lungs.

’Ada.’’ The voice says.

‘’Please.’’ What?

‘’Bring me back.’’

A sharp pain stretches across my chest. As if my heart is being punctured. I collapse gasping. Blood on the earth. My mouth opens but no sound comes. Black fills my vision.

‘’Ada! Wake up!’’

I open my eyes. Adne is above me. Cool hands gripping my shoulders.

’It’s not real Ada! Please!’’

I’m screaming but I can’t stop. My body writhing and seizing. Trying to soothe the pain rippling across my chest.

‘’Everything is okay! You are safe!’’ she pleads.

I close my lips and the noise begins to die in my throat. I sit up slowly and run my fingers through braids that fall to each side.

‘’Sorry. I didn’t realize-’’

‘’I figured.’’ Adne sighs.

I walk to the window of the room. Press my head against the cool glass. Buildings of the skyline gleamed silver in outline against fuchsia and navy. 3am. It always happens now. Storm clouds gathered with glints of hot lightning flashing. Thunder rumbles.

‘Anything new?’’ She asks with sleep in her voice.

‘’No.’’

''Ugh.’’

‘’I’ll leave so you can get back to sleep.’’

‘’You know today is the day? The day they come back. They didn’t tell us when exactly, but they told us to be ready...Maybe that’s why the nightmares come?’’

‘’The Eon’s return impacts you too, so why do I get nightmares?’’

''I don't care enough to be afraid.’' I hear her shift behind me. ''There are so few of us so what is there left to save?’’

‘’Us. We could try to save us.’’

‘’Eh, whatever. Catch me later.’’

I hear her slide under the covers. In a few seconds she is fast asleep.

I look to the sky. We could save us.

I grab my work boots, hooded jacket, and pants. I close the bedroom door softly behind me and take small steps. The floorboards creak beneath.

‘’So, the banshee wakes and walks.’’ Deckard’s voice comes from behind as I inch closer to the door.

‘’You going?’’ He nods.

The lock clicks behind us. Streaks of moonlight from outside fall on the walls of the hall. The door gleams like a gateway to another world.

‘’You still wearing that ugly thing?’’

‘’Yes.’’

‘’Why? It’s faded and rusted shut. You can barely tell if it's silver, gold or bronze at this point so forget about selling it. The shape’s also... weird.’’

‘’It’s called a heart Deckard. A Heart shaped locket.’’ I laugh and pull my hood over my head as I open the front door.

'‘Know what that is?’’ He scoffs.

There is a low buzzing sound of rain as our feet meet the pavement. Like the spirits of bees still at toil after their extinction. Those black and yellow striped blots fluttering from flower to flower. Amongst palettes of colors ripe, exciting, and warm. That was back then. There is only gray, black, and concrete now. I put a hand to the heart on my neck. It had tiny veins that interlocked and stretched all over. Weird for this heart shape. All it needs to do is beat and it'd be real.

We hop in my truck. I start the engine then pull away. The weather was similar when I first found it all those months ago. This heart shaped locket. I had just gotten off work and took a walk around the grounds close by. I took the path that led to the old river. It ran in a sliver between the rocks like fine silver lines. The air was stale and held a familiar stench. Fish. There must have been some still rotting. Ones we could not find after the miracles ceased.

I came upon a small patch of dying grass beside a rock. Some of it still sprung green and bright. I bent down to feel each blade between my fingertips, to savor the feel and smell. I felt something smooth but bumpy. That’s when I saw it. Between the rock and the ground, light reflecting off its body. It seemed alive. I could swear it was just beating in the ground. When I lifted it, a small pale-yellow flower rested beneath it.

The thing seemed ancient, but it opened. I placed the tiny flower inside and clasped it shut.

‘’Until you return what was stolen your world will die. No more miracles.’’

The sky was one we took for granted. Seeing the sun and moons rise and fall. Before they came, we could not tell night from day. We forgot the twittering of birds, the taste of freshness spilling into our mouths. The war took a third of us and the famine that followed took another. Bombs scorched the land and poisoned the water. The Earth breathed in a hopelessness… until one day they arrived.

Ships' lights breaking through the abyss like sunshine pouring over a pool of water. They smelled like fresh cut grass. I have never seen one, but I do know how a place smells after they have been there. They brought blooming and abundance. Soon after they took it away. Rightfully.

‘’I know what it is because I have you,’’ Deckard finally replies. I smile.

‘’How sweet but worrisome.’’

He sticks out his tongue. ‘’You came first anyway, showed me I had one. It’s the only reason we have Adne now.’’

I feel him reach for me but settle on playing with three long black braids. ‘’I’ve always liked these and your skin. It makes me think of fresh fertile earth.’’

I merge into the lane that takes us to the long road. It is empty so we can drive as slow as we want to. No one rushing to get by. I turn to see Deckard smiling at me, fingers still smoothing the tips.

‘’What?’’

‘’I like how serious but serene you are. Makes me feel like you’ll be a good mom.’’

I chuckle as I focus back on the road. They wouldn’t survive.

The winding road illuminated by the truck's headlights. His fingers playing with my hair...perfect. Music is missing, but radio does not work. Static only plays.

‘’So, about that dream Ada. Adne tells me you hear a voice say something to you.’’

‘’Look for the one with God between their shoulders.’ It speaks. I was thinking about going to a Father or Mother about it.’’

‘’Religion? You think they will know?’’

‘Why not? I would rather ask them than keep trying to figure it out on my own. That voice disturbs me too.’’

He nods.

I see the long white gate and six guards standing in the distance getting closer.

'‘Get your stuff ready Deck.’’

Both our backs stiffen as we sit straight. I pull up and the guard inside shuffles over to the microphone. Four guards come up the sides of my truck and pull their weapons. Two remain at the gate.

‘’Papers and Passes please.’’ The guard demands. I hand them over.

‘’5:15 am. Your shift does not start for another 2-3 hours. Why are you here?’’

‘’To start early of course. We were awake anyway and it is usually not a problem.’’ Deckard offers.

‘’Deckard Harrison, is it? Do you know what day it is?’’

‘’It’s the day of the return sir.’’

‘’Correct. The most holy of days. Let me do my job.’’

The rains patter goes silent. A new low whirring sound begins. With each passing moment it builds as the guard checks our papers until it is a loud heavy humming.

‘’Do you hear it?’’

‘’Hear what?’’ The guard barks.

I grab Deckard’s shoulder.

‘’The humming. Do you hear it?’’ He nods.

I look out my window up to the sky. Four beams pierce through the fuchsia and navy sky. They spill like sunlight. The car shakes violently. The noise now a piercing screech.

Deckard and I leave the truck for a better view.

‘’It’s them!’’ He exclaims.

The ground trembles at our feet and we fall to our knees. The guards and their guns scatter across the asphalt. I look to the horizon. We see the Fathers and Mothers running to where the ship will land. Robes fighting against the wind like colors spilling from a prism. Each bearing gifts. Bribery? What is a bribe to a God? To Gods?

‘’Ada.’’

The earth comes to stillness as the ship lands. Dust and ash scatter in the air as a mighty thunk echoes. The ship is open. They are coming out. The sky lightens, day is about to break.

‘’Ada.’’

‘’Deck I’m here you don’t have to call me.’’

I turn to him, and his eyes are glued to my chest.

‘’I didn’t call you. That did.’’

I look down and see the heart…beating. Living. Its veins silver and bright.

‘’I have to get over there.’’ I plead.

He nods and helps me up. We run at the next crashing thunk. The guards pursue, hurling insults and warning shots into the air. Our strides quicken. Each rock and crack evaded as Deckard, and I run in zigzag paths. We haven’t ran like this since we were kids. The soldiers jeer and threaten once more. I know they mean to kill us, but I cannot stop.

The locket’s beating matching my own.

‘’My Gods,’’ I hear a Mother wail, ‘’We were not able to find the one. Please have mercy!’’

The one?

‘’Yes.’’

‘’...with God between their shoulders!’’ Deckard replies.

I see a hand reaching to me, but he throws himself in front. Taking the solider and others down with him.

‘’Keep going!’’

So close… Then I see them. Them. The Eon, all eyes closed in a sort of mournful formation. Rocking in a graceful sway. They are thin, tall, a dark purplish-blue with hints of silver and gold. The specks like swirls and spirals etched in their skin. Nebulous. Limbs intertwined and interlinked with one another. Vast.

‘’My Gods,’’ I hear a Father scream, ‘’Please accept our offerings. Spare us. Forgive us!’’

‘’Forgive!’’ a rumbling fills the air. Many tongues speaking as one. The violent shaking returns. The Mothers and Fathers shriek.

‘’We offer salvation, and you STEAL? This is our final farewell.’’ They snarl.

I am but ten strides away. I pull the locket from my neck free. It’s hot in my hand. They turn to leave. The smell of grass tingles my nose. I am so close. So close to seeing green everywhere. I need the orange of this sunrise every day. I crave this smell. This sunlight on my skin. This burning in my bones. Splendor.

I fall to my knees. The locket cupped in my hands. I draw a quick breath.

‘’My G- ‘’ I start to speak but then a sharp bang! The words run coarse on my lips. A familiar pain spreads cross my chest. My eyes fall to my knees. Blood in the dirt.

‘’Ada!’’ Deckard screams.

So close. I draw in stunted breath and will my head to rise. The Eon approaches. Floats towards me. Eyes wide and desperate. Its body velvet and deep. Blue and purple. Stars and spirals. Bright lights churning. A night sky clawing into orange. How greedy. I smile. So…it was sunrise.

Its limbs reach out. They envelop me in galaxies.

‘’Please...,’’ My voice falls with hands lifted. I take in one more daggered breath. ‘‘One more miracle…’’

The locket opens. It rises in the air and light spills out. A shape begins to form and rise.

The Eon’s eyes twinkle. Its head moves in a nod.

I see black as I fall forward. No sound comes.

We can save Us.

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Kai

I don't know, but I am finding out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.