Fiction logo

The Enchantment - the Owl's Eye

Looking back from our future

By Øivind H. SolheimPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
The Enchantment - the Owl's Eye
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

We were two young people among many who came to the gathering. We came from different places, from almost different universes all over the world.

We met by chance, she and I, far from home. Suddenly it was as if a spark was ignited between us. That's how we met.

First we stood there, in the middle of the others. The hosts invited us to take a presentation round. Many were a little embarrassed; we were almost like little children in a new place. I felt like someone was looking at me. I looked around and tried to see who it was. I saw her. She looked at me curiously. We stood a few meters from each other, without talking. Her eyes tried to say something to me.

The hosts talked about historical things. They told about the place where we were, the village, things that had happened here in earlier times. The lady who spoke told about the executioner who had lived in the little house over there, and about the big barn further away, behind the forest. It was said that at the full moon the dead, those whom the executioner had beheaded, appeared in the innermost part of the barn.

I noticed that while the hostess was talking, we moved. The whole group moved. Suddenly we were closer to each other. It was as if we had drifted towards each other, without me having done anything to make it happen. It was she who had moved. Suddenly she was standing right next to me. I felt her arm touching me. I let her grab my hand. I did not dare to turn my face towards her. I squeezed her fingers; she squeezed my hand.

The hostess was still talking. She was nearing the end of her story about the executioner. She said we would get a half-hour break. We could walk over to the cafe and get ourselves something to eat and drink. And then we would meet again here, at this spot, in 30, or a maximum of 45 minutes.

I felt her fingers grip my hand tighter. I looked at her. Her gaze quickly touched mine. Then I knew we had the same idea. We started walking. We walked calmly, hand in hand, away from the others. We walked inwards between the trees until we came to an open plain where the light from the sun lit in. There was a flat stone there that was shaped like a bench. We sat there, we just looked at each other. I waited for her to give me a smile, but she did not. It was the first time I experienced looking deep into her eyes. It was like looking into another universe. Looking into her eye was like being moved to another dimension, looking into her eye was almost like being born again.

I do not know exactly how long we sat there. I experienced it as an eternity, but it was not long. Her hands were like eager little kittens playing over my upper body. I felt her fingers searching over my face, just as the blind man's fingers search for the shape of the letters on a blind sign in front of him.

I think we just sat there for a short while. Then all of a sudden it was like a quiet hiss came through the air above us. We looked up and we saw a large shadow that farther away manifested itself as a large bird that flew across between the tree trunks in the forest.

We got up and took a few steps forward. I saw that there was a path over there through the forest. We started walking on that path. As we walked, we suddenly heard the dark sound of a bird that sounded like he was saying something to us. There were chills down my spine because I had never heard that sound so close before.

When we had walked a little farther the landscape stretched out a little and we suddenly stood on a plain. On the other side of the plain we could see a large building, an old barn.

We looked at each other but neither of us said a word. Her face was serious. There was something in her eyes that made me weird inside. We started walking. We held hands. It was quite a long way to walk. As we approached, the building grew in front of us and got bigger and bigger.

As we stood just below the end of the building, we hesitated a bit. I turned my face towards her and she did the same to me. Then I felt her hand take a firmer grip on mine, and we stepped over the threshold and began to enter.

Once we were inside the building it was dark and almost impossible to see anything. We took a few more steps, and our eyes began to get used to the darkness inside. It was dark but not cold. There was something strange there, for it was as if a pair of invisible eyes were looking at us.

She turned her face towards me and stretched out on her toes. I felt her mouth search for mine. She started giving me a French kiss and I could no longer think clearly.

Her lips let go of mine and I felt her hand pull me further inwards.

We came to a cubicle with two half-height walls. It was like a kind of stall. Maybe that's where people in the old days had the animals when they were indoors in the winter. There was still a good deal of hay in the stall that lay all over the floor.

For the first time she turned her face to me and smiled. She pulled me close to her and I felt that I was hard and big down under the belt. I let her hold me close. We lay in the hay. I felt eager fingers coming under my pants. She kissed me. I closed my eyes and I saw stars and black sky above me when she did it and it went for me.

I opened my eyes from the black sky and I saw the owl's eye.

Love
1

About the Creator

Øivind H. Solheim

Novel author, lifelong learner and nature photographer: Poetry, short stories, personal essays, articles and stories on nature, hiking, physical and mental health, living in relationships, love, and future. “Make Your Dream Be Your Future​”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.