Fiction logo

The Diary of the Last Teenage Girl on Earth:

The Green Light in the Sky

By Brittany SmithPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Top Story - August 2021
35
The Diary of the Last Teenage Girl on Earth:
Photo by NOAA on Unsplash

Thursday, October 27, 2022

I am writing in a diary on paper, with a pen – how primitive - something I wouldn’t have thought I would ever do, with my Mac Note Book. But, it is all I have now, and I have to organize my thoughts, and writing always helped me think clearer, as if that it possible now in this crazy world.

Yesterday was my birthday, and I turned 18! I was now legally able to drink, not that I have ever drunk illegally of course. And, it did not take very much to get drunk. Still from what I remember I had a great time. I slept in the next day, which is today, and woke up with my first hangover. It was simply terrible! My eyes hurt as soon as the sunlight coming through my window stabbed them. I called, no, cried out for mom, but there was no answer. Maybe she had gone out shopping? I then crawled out of bed, staggered a bit, fell against the cupboard, before steading myself.

I had to move carefully downstairs, as I did not want to fall and break something. Once I made it into the bottom story living area, I looked around, but mum was not there. I called out to her, but no answer. She would have known what to do about my hangover. Trying to think as best I could under the circumstances, I went to the fridge to get some milk and hopefully some leftover party food. Funny, the fridge light did not come on. Come to think off it, the lights in the house were not on, but I could see because it was a bright afternoon and sunlight was flooding through the open curtains.

I switched the light switch on and off, and on, and … nothing! This was surprising, the power was off. Then I decided to check what was going on using the news feed on my phone. What, my phone was not working either! I had forgotten to charge it overnight, being drunk. Getting a little concerned, I then tried my laptop. This was charged, but when I went to try and get the internet, the weird little dinosaur figure came up telling me that the internet was not connected. That should not be, since mum had paid up, as I needed the laptop to do uni from home during the Covid lockdowns.

I then decided to check what might be going on outside, since I could not hear any cars passing in the street. First, I got dressed and went outside. Silence. There were no people on the streets, but some cars were piled up, as if some sort of giant crash had occurred, where the drivers had suddenly jumped from the cars and let it all happen. I could hear some engines still running, but most were not.

I walked around the neighbourhood for some time, and then realised that I had left my house unlocked, but I was not sure if this was a problem, since there did not seem to be anyone around. So, I went back to the house, and searched it, for any clue about where mum might be. Her car was still there, and her handbag as well. She never left home without it. At that point I burst out in tears, and spent some time crying.

Crying made me hungry, so I cleaned out the fridge of easy to eat food. It was about mid-afternoon by then, and I decided to lock the house, take mum’s car and see what was happening in other neighbourhoods, maybe driving into town. There was a full tank of gas, so I could drive to the city and back, as my representative sample of what was going down.

I did that. There were no people, not a trace, not even a corpse. Cars were wrecked, as if people had disappeared while driving. As I got to the city, I saw a terrible mass of smoke coming from the Central Business District. Curiosity, my curse, led me to ground zero, which was a crash site. It looked like a plane had crashed into a building. I was too scared to go very close to investigate, but perhaps I should have had more courage, as there could be survivors. I rationalized to myself that this was unlikely. I yelled out, but there was no reply.

Then, I looked up in the sky and saw a bright green light, a star in the daytime? How could that be? And a green star? It was not, as far as I could understand with my limited knowledge of air flight, any sort of vehicle, just a light. That really freaked me out, so I drove back home, praying that mom would be there to work this all out. I am only 18, how can I cope with this?

But, she was not home. It seems like every person in the city has disappeared. No electricity, no internet. I tried the short-wave radio which mom loved to play with. I tested sites from across the world, until the batteries were flat. There was simply nothing, no-one out there.

At this time, it was late afternoon. I had my first bright idea, to maybe start getting food from the local supermarket before it got dark, and the monsters came out, or whatever surprise was in store for me. Rather than use more fuel from mum’s car, I took a vehicle which was unlocked in the street. But before doing so, I went around to many cars that had running engines, and turned them off. I may need their fuel if this crisis drags on. There were enough cars here to keep me driving for weeks before I would even need to use mom’s car again. And, I would preserve any car I came across on my journey.

I spend the rest of the afternoon before twilight getting food from the local supermarket that would spoil quickly, meats, frozen foods, dairy and the likes. I did have the brainstorm of thinking about cooking this food with no electricity, and as luck would have it I stumbled upon a butane gas cooker. I took all three cookers on the shelf, plus all of the gas bottles. Now I knew what to look for.

The guilty thought came over me as I loaded all of this into the borrowed SUV, that I was technically a looter. Should I leave a note saying who I am and where I live, and that I would pay? I decided that was stupid, as it was possible that some really bad event has occurred, and that I may not really be alone. That thought made me sacred, and as I drove past a gun shop, the thought came to me of walking in and arming up! Then I felt ashamed of myself, as I had been in the anti-gun alliance at school, and here I was half-way to a “lord of the flies” savage, so I drove home.

I unloaded the car, cooked a massive dinner, as it is amazing how hungry the end of the world can make one, wrote this dairy note, then locked up, and collapsed into the sleep of the dead, but hopefully not the walking dead.

Friday, October 29, 2022

I awoke in fright, in I think the middle of the night, but not having a clock, I had no real way to judge it. Was it a noise outside? I listened. Silence. Then the obvious, the green light, haunting me. I was scared to look, and curiosity battled fear, but eventually curiosity won. I looked out the window and noticed that the green light in the sky was brighter. Did that mean that it was getting closer? What in the hell was it? This worried me so much that I could not sleep, and spent hours watching it, in vain, as it did not do anything beyond beam green light into my aching brain.

I fell asleep on the floor, waking up at dawn, cold and stiff. The green light had done precisely nothing. I decided not to be obsessed with it, since it was much weirder that the entire human race seemed to have disappeared. This thought occupied my mind while cooking breakfast, not healthy but tasty, health probably was not so important now. But then again, there were no dentists or doctors, so maybe I would need to look after myself even more?

Was this an act of God? Which God? And if so, what purpose would it serve as I was a pretty uninteresting person? Was there a computer program of the cosmos, and I was in a simulation? That was possible, but again, there must be some pretty mediocre cosmic computer gamers if they found this situation at all interesting.

Dismissing philosophical speculation from my mind, I formulated a plan to colonize all of the houses in my street. I would move things around so that I could fit supplies in, without disrupting the houses too much, just in case by some miracle, everything returned to normal. I would use the house next door for perishable food, the next one for tin food and the like, household items, toilet paper, baby wipes, all the drinking water and drinks I could salvage, and so on down the street.

For the long term, I have no idea. There will be a problem about drinking water, and water to wash in. Already the mains water is getting slow, probably because the pumps are all off. I will go house-to-house and collect what I can, getting hold of every clean container I can find. The toilet has given up the ghost, and I just go in a hole in the garden now, but not my garden, thank you very much! It is pretty gross, but nobody is here to care, but me.

I will devote the next week to setting up supplies in the houses, then spend time thinking about what next to do.

Wednesday November 3, 2022

I have been so busy working setting up the houses that I have not done the diary entries for days. I get up early, at first light, get one of the available cars, then drive to supermarkets, shops and anything else where useful things can be obtained. As I have shopped around, in the ultimate shop-lifting, uplifting experience, I thought of many things I should squirrel away, such as clothes, rainwear, and all types of boots and shoes. And here I am, getting very cosy indeed. As long as there is no extra-terrestrial invasion, I should be fine until loneliness and madness kills me.

Thinking about UFOs I wondered about the green light. I had blocked it out of my mind, I was so busy. So, going to the window, I looked out, to my surprise the light was coming closer, fast, its brilliant green, almost blinding me. Whatever it was, it was going to crash nearby. And then, this thing, whatever was causing the light, came so close to the house that everything shook. In a few moments there was an ear-piercing explosion. I raced outside, and it looked like the light emitting thing, or whatever it was, had crashed in the city centre, just about where the plane had gone down. Should I investigate? I decided that I would in the morning, as I felt that there was some connection between everyone on earth disappearing and the light.

So, I will leave the diary entry here, and report tomorrow on what I find. If there are no more entries here, if anyone finds this diary, then you will know that something really bad happened.

Fantasy
35

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.