Fiction logo

The Diary of Mishelle Gold

Thursday 5th May

By Ruth Elizabeth StiffPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Ok, so Jack had the quiet word with me and I’m gobsmacked!!! I always knew that his father is an Earl or Lord or something high in nobility but never took much notice because Jack is the youngest out of three boys, so (we thought) that he would never inherit the Earldom (or whatever it is called). Timothy, the eldest son, has decided to go into religion, he wants to be a Catholic priest which means he cannot inherit. The next son, Matthew, is living with a man (none of my business), and he will not change his lifestyle, so he cannot inherit. SO, the title is going to Jack (whose real name is Jeremiah) because he has “done the right thing” — married me and had children and has (and still is) working very hard.

Jack’s father wants us both to visit them, next week, to talk about everything. I’m not sure what to think. Jack says we may need to move into the ‘family’ home so that he can learn the “job” and he will probably give up touring, but it shouldn’t affect my business too much, just that I’ll have to learn the ways of a “Countess”. I haven’t got a clue to be honest. I want to talk to mum, but Jack says not to yet, until everything is settled. What about the children? Jack assures me that it will be all sorted out. What a complete ‘surprise’!!!

I wish Jack’s mother was still alive, at least I could ask her for some advice, but she died from cancer 3 years ago. I never thought! I wonder if there are any library books that I can read? Sounds silly, but I haven’t got a clue. I know, I’ll ask Lady May, I don’t think she’s a Countess but she married well, I’m sure she can help. Looks like I’ll have to find out about having domestic staff after all. I’m not to tell anyone until we’ve spoken to Jack’s father, and he is the most humble person, you’d possibly never know by just looking at him. He’s very kind so I don’t feel too nervous but — O.M.G.!!!

Sounds a bit silly, but I might watch Downton Abbey again, the ‘Family’ are high up in the nobility so it may give me an idea. I know it was set in Edwardian times but I don’t think things have changed that much. Now that I’ve got over the initial shock, I’m actually quite excited. Does this mean I can get involved in certain charities and help more?

Back to reality, I’ve talked to Mary on the phone, just to let her know that I’m still working from home, but won’t be doing any open days for about 2 weeks. She doesn’t mind too much because she knows I’m one of the hardest working in the team. I can still do virtual tours and have 3 clients interested in 3 different properties, so one of them should sell.

The Fashion House is doing very well !!! We’ve discussed the upcoming Paris show, and Sarah thinks it’s a good idea to concentrate just on bridal dresses. Julie has some nice designs so I’ve told her that if she can put 5 of them together, I’ll look at them and ‘may’ use them in the show. She’s enjoying herself and fitting in with the girls so I think I was worrying about nothing.

Mum is happy, my two boys are having fun and Jack is still touring. He’s going to come home next weekend and stop touring until he knows what is actually going on. At least I can still work from home, and I’m going to have a coffee date with Lady May, she is a kind person.

Right, back to work, My first virtual tour is in half an hour and I like to look smart. Have fun diary xx

Series
Like

About the Creator

Ruth Elizabeth Stiff

I love all things Earthy and Self-Help

History is one of my favourite subjects and I love to write short fiction

Research is so interesting for me too

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.